CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

SEO Tools Comparison

All in One SEO (AIOSEO) vs. BrightLocal

At a glance

At a glance

All in One SEO (AIOSEO)

Best for

Best for WordPress site owners and agencies who want on-page SEO, schema and redirects, and on the top plan their rankings, all inside the WordPress dashboard.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

BrightLocal

Best for

Best for local businesses and the agencies that serve them, where showing up in the map pack matters more than national rankings.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion All in One SEO (AIOSEO) BrightLocal
Starting price From $49.50 / year Basic plan for 1 site at the introductory first-year rate; it renews at the full $99 per year. A free Lite version is available on WordPress.org. lower value From $31 / month Track plan for one location, billed annually ($369 a year); $41 billed monthly. Manage and Grow start at $40 and $49 a month billed annually. Prices rise with the number of locations, and more than 100 locations are quoted individually.
Free trial Free version (AIOSEO Lite) on WordPress.org; 14-day money-back guarantee on paid plans 14-day free trial with full access, no card required
Users 3,000,000+ professionals, according to the vendor Not stated
API REST API addon for SEO meta on posts and terms Yes, REST APIs for rank tracking, locations, listings, citations, reviews and AI Insights, plus an MCP server
Languages Translated into over 54 languages Not stated
Hosting WordPress plugin, self-hosted Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Not stated United Kingdom, BrightLocal in Brighton
Keyword research Keyword suggestions through the Semrush integration and up to 10 tracked TruSEO keyphrases per post; not a keyword research database of its own No standalone keyword research tool in the plan line-up; the Local Rank Tracker points to keyword opportunities among tracked local search terms
Rank tracking Yes on Elite: Keyword Rank Tracker for up to 100 keywords, based on Google Search Console data Yes, up to 100 keywords and four competitors per location across Google Local Pack, organic and Maps results and Bing, desktop and mobile, plus Local Search Grid geo-grid maps for up to five keywords
Site audit Unlimited SEO audits and site health checks, TruSEO on-page analysis per post, 404 error tracking from Pro, and post index status on Elite Yes, a Local Search Audit covering 300+ data points and on-site SEO checks, plus a Google Business Profile audit benchmarked against the top-ranking competitors
Backlink data No backlink index; the Link Assistant analyses internal links and the domains your own site links to Link audit and tracking is part of the platform, per the vendor's own feature comparison
Content optimisation TruSEO score and checklist in the editor, Headline Analyzer, AI Assistant for drafting, internal link suggestions from Pro, and content decay tracking on Elite No on-page content editor in the plan line-up; the Manage plan adds a Google Business Profile post scheduler
Index and market coverage Optimises the WordPress site it runs on; ranking data comes from that site's Google Search Console The platform works in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia; rankings from Google Search, Google Maps and Bing on desktop and mobile, reviews from 80+ sites, and citation building in further countries
Integrations and API REST API addon, Google Search Console, Semrush, Microsoft Clarity, IndexNow, PageSpeed Insights, WooCommerce and page builders including Elementor and Divi Yes, REST APIs with JSON for rank tracking, locations, listings management, citation building, reputation and AI Insights, plus an MCP server for ChatGPT, Claude and Mistral on the Grow plan
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk more entries Chat, Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries WordPress, WooCommerce, Google Search Console, Semrush, Microsoft Clarity, IndexNow, Google PageSpeed Insights, Elementor, Divi, SeedProd, Avada, WPBakery, Thrive Architect, SiteOrigin Google Business Profile, Google Analytics, ChatGPT, Claude, Mistral

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price All in One SEO (AIOSEO) From $49.50 / year BrightLocal From $31 / month
  • Free trial All in One SEO (AIOSEO) Free version (AIOSEO Lite) on WordPress.org; 14-day money-back guarantee on paid plans BrightLocal 14-day free trial with full access, no card required
  • Deployment All in One SEO (AIOSEO) On-premise BrightLocal Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting All in One SEO (AIOSEO) WordPress plugin, self-hosted BrightLocal Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support All in One SEO (AIOSEO) Email helpdesk BrightLocal Chat, Email helpdesk

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

All in One SEO (AIOSEO)

Strengths

  • Free Lite version, with paid plans covering from 1 to 100 sites
  • Schema, sitemaps, redirects and WooCommerce SEO in one plugin
  • Search Console statistics and rank tracking inside WordPress on Elite
  • AI credits for drafting content and meta descriptions on every paid plan

Limitations

  • Introductory prices roughly double at renewal
  • Rank tracking and Search Statistics are limited to the Elite plan
  • Optimises only its own site: no competitor research or backlink data
  • No phone support

BrightLocal

Strengths

  • Built around local search, with Local Pack, Maps and geo-grid rankings side by side
  • Fixes as well as measures: listing sync, citation building and review requests
  • 14-day trial of the full platform without a credit card
  • White-label reports, REST APIs and an MCP server for agencies and platforms

Limitations

  • The platform works only in the USA, UK, Canada and Australia
  • Priced per location, so multi-location businesses and agencies pay considerably more
  • Citations are bought separately on top of any plan
  • Review management starts on the top Grow plan

Plans

Pricing

All in One SEO (AIOSEO)

  • Lite $0 Free plugin from WordPress.org with title tags, meta descriptions, basic sitemaps and automatic redirects.
  • Basic $49.50 / year Introductory first-year rate, renews at $99 per year. 1 site, 10,000 AI credits, schema, WooCommerce SEO, XML sitemaps, redirect monitoring, TruSEO analysis, standard support.
  • Plus $99.50 / year Introductory first-year rate, normally $199 per year. 3 sites, 25,000 AI credits, Local SEO and Author SEO.
  • Pro $199.50 / year Introductory first-year rate, normally $399 per year. 10 sites, 50,000 AI credits, Internal Link Assistant, Redirection Manager with 404 tracking, video and news sitemaps, priority support.
  • Elite $299.50 / year Introductory first-year rate, normally $599 per year. 100 sites, 200,000 AI credits, Search Statistics with keyword rank tracking, content decay tracking, client management and multisite tools.
Visit site

BrightLocal

  • Track $31 Per month for one location, billed annually ($369 a year); $41 billed monthly. Local AI Visibility Tracker, local SEO audits, rank tracking for up to 100 keywords and four competitors, a geo-grid for up to five keywords, citation monitoring and a Google Business Profile audit.
  • Manage $40 Per month for one location, billed annually ($485 a year); $54 billed monthly. Adds AI Insights, Active Sync for business listings and the Google Business Profile post scheduler.
  • Grow $49 Per month for one location, billed annually ($584 a year); $65 billed monthly. Adds review monitoring and replies, review requests by email, SMS and in store, and a review widget for your website.
  • Citation Builder $2 Per citation with bulk credits, otherwise from $3.20 per site. Pay as you go, available without a subscription.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

All in One SEO (AIOSEO)

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

BrightLocal

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

All in One SEO (AIOSEO) https://aioseo.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-23

BrightLocal https://www.brightlocal.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-25

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.