Soldo
Prepaid and debit company cards with wallet-based spend controls, published plan prices and a 30-day free trial.
- Starting price
- From £21 / month plus VAT
- Free trial
- Yes, 30 days free on the Standard and Plus plans
- API
- Yes, the Soldo Business API, documented at developer.soldo.com
Overview
Soldo is a spend management platform built on wallets and company cards, where money is allocated to a wallet before it is spent rather than reconciled afterwards. It issues physical debit cards, prepaid cards and virtual cards, and also sends bank transfers, with pre-defined limits, approval workflows and real-time alerts that apply before a transaction goes through. Employees capture receipts in the mobile app, add out-of-pocket expenses, and can split a single transaction across several people, while custom rules categorise spend automatically and flag anything outside policy. Finance gets real-time visibility of committed and actual spend, PDF expense reports with signature fields, reimbursement reports showing what each employee is owed, and an archive of past reports for audit. Soldo keeps no ledger: transactions are pre-categorised and exported to Xero, Sage Accounting, QuickBooks, DATEV, Exact Online, FreshBooks, NetSuite and Zoho Invoice, with ERP connections to Microsoft Dynamics 365, Oracle E-Business Suite, Certinia and Odoo. The Soldo Business API and developer documentation cover custom integrations. The vendor reports more than 25,000 businesses across 31 European countries, and the platform is operated by Soldo Software Ltd with banking services provided by Soldo Financial Services Ltd.
Best for organisations that want to fund company cards from controlled wallets and cap spending before it happens.
Soldo suits an organisation that would rather cap spending up front than chase it afterwards, and the wallet model is what makes that possible: money has to be moved into a wallet before a card can draw on it, which is a harder control than a limit on a credit line. The published prices are unusually low for this category, but read the plan lines rather than the headline, because Standard and Plus both stop at three users and three cards and the bank transfer count is capped monthly, so anything beyond a small team lands on the quoted Unlimited plan. The other thing to check early is receipt OCR, which starts on Plus rather than Standard. Anyone who needs supplier invoice processing or accounts payable workflow should look elsewhere, since this is a card and expense tool rather than a payables platform.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | From £21 / month plus VAT The Standard plan, covering one wallet, three users and three cards. Financial services fees such as card issuance and cash withdrawals are charged separately. |
| Free trial | Yes, 30 days free on the Standard and Plus plans |
| API | Yes, the Soldo Business API, documented at developer.soldo.com |
| Users | More than 25,000 businesses across 31 European countries, per the vendor |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS) |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Invoicing and quotes
- No invoicing and no accounts receivable. Supplier payments are made by bank transfer from a Soldo wallet, capped at twenty transfers a month on Standard and thirty on Plus, and unlimited on the Unlimited plan
- Bookkeeping and bank feeds
- No general ledger of its own. Transactions are categorised automatically by custom rules and exported to Xero, Sage Accounting, QuickBooks, DATEV, Exact Online, FreshBooks, NetSuite and Zoho Invoice, with ERP connections to Microsoft Dynamics 365, Oracle E-Business Suite, Certinia and Odoo
- Expenses and receipts
- Yes, physical debit, prepaid and virtual cards drawing on wallets, with pre-defined limits, approval workflows and real-time alerts, plus mobile receipt capture, out-of-pocket expense claims, transaction splitting across several employees and automatic flagging of out-of-policy spend. Automated receipt capture with OCR starts on the Plus plan
- Payroll
- No payroll module. HR and workforce systems including Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, Personio, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, HiBob, Sage People, Namely, Deputy and Zenefits connect through integrations
- Reports and exports
- Yes, real-time visibility of committed and actual spend, PDF expense reports with signature fields, reimbursement reports showing the amount due per employee, several download formats and an archive of past reports for audit
- Integrations and API
- Yes, the Soldo Business API for custom integrations, with developer resources and guides at developer.soldo.com, alongside more than a hundred software integrations on the Unlimited plan and single sign-on through Okta, OneLogin, Microsoft Entra ID, Google Workspace and Oracle HCM Cloud
Integrations
- Xero
- Sage Accounting
- QuickBooks
- DATEV
- Exact Online
- FreshBooks
- NetSuite
- Zoho Invoice
- Microsoft Dynamics 365
- Oracle E-Business Suite
- Certinia
- Odoo
- SAP Concur
- TravelPerk
- Amazon Business
- Slack
- Microsoft Teams
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Company size
-
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
| Technology | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Wallets cap spending before it happens rather than after the fact
- Published prices for the two lower plans, plus a 30-day free trial
- Physical debit, prepaid and virtual cards and bank transfers in one account
- Exports to DATEV and Exact Online alongside Xero, Sage, QuickBooks and NetSuite
- Single sign-on through Okta, OneLogin, Microsoft Entra ID and Google Workspace
Limitations
- Standard and Plus both stop at three users and three cards, so growth means the quoted Unlimited plan
- Bank transfers are capped monthly on the two published plans
- Automated receipt capture with OCR starts on Plus, not on Standard
- Financial services fees such as card issuance and cash withdrawals come on top of the plan price
- No invoicing, no accounts receivable and no supplier invoice processing
- Not a general ledger, so a separate accounting system is still needed
Pricing
-
Standard
£21
Per month plus VAT. One wallet, three users and three cards, up to twenty bank transfers a month, basic spend permissions, receipt capture and access to accounting software integrations. Free for 30 days.
-
Plus
£33
Per month plus VAT. Three wallets, three users and three cards, up to thirty bank transfers a month, multi-currency spending, automated receipt capture with OCR, the Amazon Business integration and enhanced setup support. Free for 30 days.
-
Unlimited
Not stated
Quoted on request. Unlimited wallets, users, cards and transfers, role-based access controls at scale, bank transfer delegation, advanced expense categorisation and workflows, more than a hundred integrations and dedicated Customer Success and Professional Services teams.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at Soldo
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Soldo