CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed
AI features

Recurly Compass runs AI-powered anomaly detection and subscriber insights, and Engage scores propensity to churn

Subscription billing platform built around keeping subscribers, with automated dunning, retention flows and revenue recognition.

Starting price
From 249 US dollars / month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume
Free trial
90-day free trial on the Starter plan
API
Yes, a REST API with webhooks, Recurly.js, hosted pages and mobile SDKs
Visit Recurly

Overview

Recurly runs recurring billing for subscription businesses and puts most of its weight on the part after the first payment: failed-payment recovery through retry logic and dunning campaigns, cancel-save flows, win-back offers and churn prediction. The billing side covers plan creation, trials, add-ons and tiered pricing, automated and manual invoicing, and monthly, annual or prepaid terms. Payments run through more than 20 gateways, so a single processor is not a single point of failure. Two further products cover revenue recognition and in-app retention prompts.

Our take

Recurly is worth its floor price when churn is the number that actually moves the business, because the recovery and retention machinery is the part of the product that is hardest to rebuild in-house and the part the pricing is built around. Below a certain size the maths is unkind: 249 US dollars a month plus a percentage is real money for a business billing a few thousand, and the 90-day trial exists partly because that judgement takes longer than a fortnight to make. The step from Starter to All-Access is not gradual either, since the better analytics and orchestration sit behind a billing-volume floor most small vendors will not reach for years. Finance teams should also budget for RevRec separately rather than assuming compliance comes in the box.

Key Facts

Category
Starting price From 249 US dollars / month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume The Starter plan includes the first 40,000 US dollars of monthly billings. All-Access is quoted annually at under 1 percent of billing volume and requires a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume. Engage and RevRec are priced separately from 1,600 and 850 US dollars a month.
Free trial 90-day free trial on the Starter plan
API Yes, a REST API with webhooks, Recurly.js, hosted pages and mobile SDKs
Hosting Cloud (SaaS)

Screenshots

Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.

Features

Invoicing and quotes
Yes, automated and manual invoicing with customisable templates, charge and credit adjustments, plan creation with trials, promotions and add-ons, and monthly, annual or prepaid terms
Bookkeeping and bank feeds
No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; billing and revenue data sync out through pre-built connectors to accounting and ERP systems
Expenses and receipts
No expense claims or receipt capture; Recurly covers the revenue side, not spend
Tax and compliance
Yes, global and local tax management built into recurring billing, with ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition through the separate RevRec product
Payroll
No payroll
Reports and exports
Yes, built-in dashboards and customisable metrics with automated exports over the API, real-time revenue forecasting in RevRec, and AI anomaly detection, churn prediction and benchmarking through Compass
Integrations and API
Yes, a REST API with webhooks, Recurly.js, hosted pages and mobile SDKs, more than 20 payment gateways, pre-built connectors for CRM, ERP and tax systems, and a native Shopify app

Integrations

  • Shopify

Deployment and Support

Deployment
  • Cloud (SaaS)
  • Browser-based
Onboarding
  • Documentation and knowledge base
Company size
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Pros and Cons

Strengths

  • Payment recovery, dunning campaigns, cancel-save flows and win-back offers are the core of the product
  • More than 20 payment gateways and 140 currencies, with a deliberate multi-gateway strategy
  • 90-day free trial on the entry plan, far longer than the usual fortnight
  • ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition available as a sibling product

Limitations

  • The entry plan starts at 249 US dollars a month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume
  • All-Access requires a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume
  • Engage and RevRec are priced separately, from 1,600 and 850 US dollars a month
  • No general ledger of its own, so a separate accounting system is still needed

Pricing

  • Starter

    $249

    Per month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume, with the first 40,000 US dollars of monthly billings included. 90-day free trial. Automated global subscription billing, flexible plans, static churn-prevention tools, one dunning campaign, 10 or more payment methods and 20 or more payment gateways.

  • All-Access

    Not stated

    As low as under 1 percent of billing volume, billed annually, with a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume. Everything in Starter plus AI-powered agents and analytics, intelligent churn prevention, multiple dunning campaigns, advanced plans and pricing, payments orchestration, custom reporting, multicurrency support and single sign-on.

  • All-Access for Shopify

    Not stated

    As low as under 1 percent of billing volume, billed annually. Intelligent churn prevention, customised bundles, subscribe-and-save, prepaid subscriptions, hybrid support, cancel-save flows, a self-serve bulk updater, analytics and a hosted subscriber portal.

  • Engage

    Not stated

    Add-on, as low as 1,600 US dollars per month billed annually. AI propensity-to-churn model, one-click billing integration, personalised offers, cancel-save capabilities, A/B testing, segmentation, a prompt builder and analytics.

  • RevRec

    Not stated

    Add-on, as low as 850 US dollars per month billed annually. Automated contract modifications, standalone selling price automation, rules-driven allocations, revenue insights, automated close, multi-GAAP compliance and an audit trail.

Alternatives and Comparisons

FAQ

How is Recurly priced?
The Starter plan is 249 US dollars a month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume, with the first 40,000 US dollars of monthly billings included. All-Access is quoted annually at under 1 percent of billing volume and needs at least 1 million US dollars in billing volume. Engage and RevRec are separate add-ons.
Does Recurly replace accounting software?
No. Recurly has no general ledger or bank feeds. It bills, invoices, manages tax and recognises revenue through RevRec, then syncs into the accounting or ERP system through pre-built connectors.
How long is the free trial?
The Starter plan carries a 90-day free trial.

What users say

Reviews

-

0 reviews

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Share your experience

Write a Review

Click a star to rate each area. The arrow keys work as well.

Ease of use
User interface
Onboarding
Support and service
Value for money
Features

Only used to check the review. Never published.

The overall score is the average of the six ratings above. Nothing is weighted, and a paid placement does not change a single one of them.

Last verified:

Ready to take a closer look at Recurly

The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.

Visit Recurly