CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Translation & Localization Comparison

Crowdin vs. Smartling

At a glance

At a glance

Crowdin

Best for

Best for software and game teams, including open-source projects, that translate continuously with a mix of staff, vendors and community volunteers.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Smartling

Best for

Best for larger companies that want translation software and the translators behind it from a single vendor.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Crowdin Smartling
Starting price Free; Pro from 50 US Dollar Amount from the plan data on Crowdin's pricing page, which names no billing period for it. Crowdin bills monthly or annually (annual gives two months free), excluding VAT. Crowdin Enterprise is billed annually only. Not stated
Free trial Free plan; 14-day trial of Team, 30-day trial of Crowdin Enterprise with Business plan features Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
API Yes, API and CLI, plus an official MCP server Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server
Languages 300+ languages Not stated
Hosting Not stated Customer data housed in Amazon Web Services locations across the globe
Language coverage 300+ languages Hundreds of languages and locales
Files and formats 100+ file formats JSON, XML, YAML, HTML, Markdown and Gettext PO, iOS strings and Android XML, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF, InDesign IDML, SVG, and SRT and VTT subtitles
Machine, human or both Both. 40+ machine translation engines including DeepL and Google Translate, AI translation with your own OpenAI, Anthropic or Azure AI keys, and human translation through Crowdin Language Services or the agency marketplace Both. 20+ large language models and machine translation engines through the AI Hub, and human translation from a network of 4,000+ linguists; Enterprise customers can also bring their own translators
Glossary and terminology Yes, glossaries, style guides and translation memory, with glossary terms highlighted in the editor Yes, translation memory (kept 180 days on Core, unlimited on Enterprise), customizable glossaries and style guides on Enterprise, and terminology connectors for Lexeri, Quickterm and TermWeb
Review and collaboration Online editor with proofreading and approval, optional LQA grading against MQM, LISA and SAE J2450, a workflow editor, and custom workflows on Crowdin Enterprise CAT and transcreation tools with visual context, in-platform communication, automated quality checks, linguistic quality assurance with a quality dashboard, and fully customizable workflows on Enterprise
Integrations and connectors 700+ apps and integrations, among them GitHub, GitLab, Figma, WordPress, Unity and Notion 50+ integrations, among them Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Sitecore, WordPress, Shopify, GitHub, Figma, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zendesk and Jira
Data handling and privacy ISO/IEC 27001 certified, adheres to GDPR, runs on AWS with processing restricted to specific countries; Business Associate Agreement for HIPAA data; SAML SSO, 2FA and an IP allowlist SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS Level 1, HITRUST and HIPAA, GDPR with customizable DPAs, and ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and ISO 17100 among its certifications; customer data housed on AWS
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, GitLab, Figma, WordPress, Unity, Notion more entries Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Contentstack, Sitecore, Drupal, Storyblok, Sanity, Webflow, WordPress, WPML, Shopify, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Figma, Sketch, Canva, Adobe Creative Cloud, Adobe Marketo Engage, Braze, HubSpot, Oracle Eloqua, Salesforce, Zendesk, Intercom, ServiceNow, Jira, Slack, Google Drive, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial Crowdin Free plan; 14-day trial of Team, 30-day trial of Crowdin Enterprise with Business plan features Smartling Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
  • API Crowdin Yes, API and CLI, plus an official MCP server Smartling Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server
  • Language coverage Crowdin 300+ languages Smartling Hundreds of languages and locales
  • Files and formats Crowdin 100+ file formats Smartling JSON, XML, YAML, HTML, Markdown and Gettext PO, iOS strings and Android XML, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF, InDesign IDML, SVG, and SRT and VTT subtitles
  • Machine, human or both Crowdin Both. 40+ machine translation engines including DeepL and Google Translate, AI translation with your own OpenAI, Anthropic or Azure AI keys, and human translation through Crowdin Language Services or the agency marketplace Smartling Both. 20+ large language models and machine translation engines through the AI Hub, and human translation from a network of 4,000+ linguists; Enterprise customers can also bring their own translators

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Crowdin

Strengths

  • Unlimited translators and proofreaders on every paid plan
  • Free licences for open-source and academic projects
  • Over 50 automated QA checks catch placeholder, tag and length errors
  • Very large marketplace of apps and integrations

Limitations

  • Enterprise edition is billed annually only
  • Plan limits are counted in hosted words, which multiply with every target language

Smartling

Strengths

  • Translation software and human translation services are bought together
  • Per-word rates for machine, AI and human translation are published
  • Long certification list, including HITRUST and PCI DSS Level 1
  • Large connector catalogue for marketing, commerce and content systems

Limitations

  • No plan price is published for either plan
  • Translation memory is kept for only 180 days on Core
  • Custom workflows, glossaries and style guides are reserved for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

Crowdin

  • Free Free All essential features for translators; open-source projects are welcome.
  • Pro 50 US Dollar Private projects with unlimited translator seats. Billing period not named in the plan data; excluding VAT.
  • Team 150 US Dollar Adds managers who upload files, invite people and connect integrations. 14-day free trial.
  • Team+ 450 US Dollar Own private organization, project groups and workflow automation.
  • Crowdin Enterprise Not stated Billed annually only. 30-day free trial with all Business plan features.
Visit site

Smartling

  • Core Not stated For individuals and small teams; described as free to start. Translation services are charged per word, from 0.0075 US Dollar for machine translation to 0.20 US Dollar for human translation.
  • Enterprise Not stated For companies and large teams; no price published.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Crowdin

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Smartling

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Crowdin https://crowdin.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-22

Smartling https://www.smartling.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.