CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Translation & Localization Comparison

Localazy vs. Smartling

At a glance

At a glance

Localazy

Best for

Best for product teams and agencies who want machine, AI and human translation for app and web strings in one subscription.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Smartling

Best for

Best for larger companies that want translation software and the translators behind it from a single vendor.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Localazy Smartling
Starting price Free; Professional from 41 US Dollar / month Professional with 1,000 source keys, billed monthly; 408 US Dollar / year billed annually. Amounts from the plan data on Localazy's pricing page. Machine translation, Localazy AI and human translation are paid with credits (1 credit = 1 US Dollar), and every subscription includes some. Not stated
Free trial Free plan up to 200 source keys; 14-day trial of the Business plan, no credit card required Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
API Yes, Translation API, CLI, mobile SDKs and webhooks Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server
Languages Unlimited languages on every plan Not stated
Hosting Not stated Customer data housed in Amazon Web Services locations across the globe
Language coverage Over 80 languages and 3,000 locales, per the vendor, added to a project from a list; five custom locales are available to everyone, with more or modified ones on request Hundreds of languages and locales
Files and formats 22 formats in its documentation, among them JSON, Android XML, iOS and macOS strings and string catalogs, XLIFF, PO, YAML, Flutter ARB, CSV, Excel, Java properties, RESX, SRT subtitles and TMX; converts between formats on paid plans JSON, XML, YAML, HTML, Markdown and Gettext PO, iOS strings and Android XML, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF, InDesign IDML, SVG, and SRT and VTT subtitles
Machine, human or both Both. Machine translation from Google, DeepL, Amazon and Microsoft Azure plus Localazy AI, translation by your own team or community, and professional human translation, human review (MTPE) and human-assisted machine translation ordered per language Both. 20+ large language models and machine translation engines through the AI Hub, and human translation from a network of 4,000+ linguists; Enterprise customers can also bring their own translators
Glossary and terminology Yes, a glossary that highlights and validates terms in every translation, can keep terms untranslated, matches by case or whole word, and feeds Localazy AI as context; style guides and translation memory as well Yes, translation memory (kept 180 days on Core, unlimited on Enterprise), customizable glossaries and style guides on Enterprise, and terminology connectors for Lexeri, Quickterm and TermWeb
Review and collaboration Review step with approve, reject and needs-improvement decisions, roles for reviewers, trusted translators who skip review, managers and owners, language permissions and comments on strings CAT and transcreation tools with visual context, in-platform communication, automated quality checks, linguistic quality assurance with a quality dashboard, and fully customizable workflows on Enterprise
Integrations and connectors 50+ frameworks, file formats and tools, among them Figma, Strapi, Webflow, GitHub Actions and Zapier, plus SDKs for Android, iOS and Flutter 50+ integrations, among them Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Sitecore, WordPress, Shopify, GitHub, Figma, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zendesk and Jira
Data handling and privacy ISO 27001, SOC 2 and GDPR listed with the Enterprise plan, together with SSO, audit logs and backup and restore SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS Level 1, HITRUST and HIPAA, GDPR with customizable DPAs, and ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and ISO 17100 among its certifications; customer data housed on AWS
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Figma, Strapi, Webflow, GitHub Actions, Zapier, Google Translate, DeepL, Amazon Translate, Microsoft Azure Translator more entries Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Contentstack, Sitecore, Drupal, Storyblok, Sanity, Webflow, WordPress, WPML, Shopify, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Figma, Sketch, Canva, Adobe Creative Cloud, Adobe Marketo Engage, Braze, HubSpot, Oracle Eloqua, Salesforce, Zendesk, Intercom, ServiceNow, Jira, Slack, Google Drive, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial Localazy Free plan up to 200 source keys; 14-day trial of the Business plan, no credit card required Smartling Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
  • Company size Localazy Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Smartling Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • AI features Localazy No Smartling Yes
  • MCP-ready Localazy No Smartling Yes
  • API Localazy Yes, Translation API, CLI, mobile SDKs and webhooks Smartling Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Localazy

Strengths

  • Free plan for projects up to 200 source keys
  • Unlimited seats and languages on every plan
  • Machine, AI, team and professional human translation in the same project
  • Converts between file formats, so one source can feed several platforms

Limitations

  • Plans are priced by source keys, so a large string base moves you up a tier
  • Batch machine translation and Localazy AI consume credits on top of the subscription
  • DeepL is not available on the Professional plan
  • Localazy does not offer refunds

Smartling

Strengths

  • Translation software and human translation services are bought together
  • Per-word rates for machine, AI and human translation are published
  • Long certification list, including HITRUST and PCI DSS Level 1
  • Large connector catalogue for marketing, commerce and content systems

Limitations

  • No plan price is published for either plan
  • Translation memory is kept for only 180 days on Core
  • Custom workflows, glossaries and style guides are reserved for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

Localazy

  • Free Free Up to 200 source keys, unlimited seats and languages.
  • Professional 41 US Dollar / month 1,000 source keys, billed monthly; 408 US Dollar / year billed annually. Larger key bundles up to 2,500 keys cost more.
  • Autopilot 94 US Dollar / month 3,500 source keys, billed monthly; 936 US Dollar / year billed annually. Adds automations and DeepL.
  • Business 210 US Dollar / month 10,000 source keys, billed monthly; 2,100 US Dollar / year billed annually. Bundles up to 100,000 keys available.
  • Enterprise Contact Sales SSO, SLA and priority support, audit logs, backup and restore.
Visit site

Smartling

  • Core Not stated For individuals and small teams; described as free to start. Translation services are charged per word, from 0.0075 US Dollar for machine translation to 0.20 US Dollar for human translation.
  • Enterprise Not stated For companies and large teams; no price published.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Localazy

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Smartling

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Localazy https://localazy.com · no check date recorded yet

Smartling https://www.smartling.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.