CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Translation & Localization Comparison

POEditor vs. Smartling

At a glance

At a glance

POEditor

Best for

Best for small and mid-sized app and game teams that want a straightforward string-based localization tool with a free starting point.

Smartling

Best for

Best for larger companies that want translation software and the translators behind it from a single vendor.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion POEditor Smartling
Starting price Free; Start from 17 US Dollar / month Start plan billed yearly (15 percent off); 18 per month every six months, 20 billed monthly. Shown on the pricing page with "$" and no currency code. Not stated
Free trial Free plan with 1,000 strings and 5 contributors; 10-day trial starts automatically with the first project, no credit card needed Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
API Yes, REST API, plus an official MCP server Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server
Languages 270+ languages Not stated
Hosting Not stated Customer data housed in Amazon Web Services locations across the globe
Language coverage 270+ languages Hundreds of languages and locales
Files and formats 22 formats, among them Gettext PO, XLIFF 1.2, iOS XLIFF, Apple Strings and Xcstrings, Android string resources, several JSON variants, Flutter ARB, .NET resources, YAML, CSV and Excel JSON, XML, YAML, HTML, Markdown and Gettext PO, iOS strings and Android XML, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF, InDesign IDML, SVG, and SRT and VTT subtitles
Machine, human or both Both. Team translation in a web editor, automatic translation through Google Translate, DeepL and Azure AI Translator (10,000 characters included, more as paid packages), AI translation through your own OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, Azure AI or Amazon Bedrock account, and human translation ordered from Gengo or TextMaster Both. 20+ large language models and machine translation engines through the AI Hub, and human translation from a network of 4,000+ linguists; Enterprise customers can also bring their own translators
Glossary and terminology Yes, glossaries and translation memory Yes, translation memory (kept 180 days on Core, unlimited on Enterprise), customizable glossaries and style guides on Enterprise, and terminology connectors for Lexeri, Quickterm and TermWeb
Review and collaboration Role assignment, progress tracking, visual context, inline comments and quality checks, with audit logs and change history CAT and transcreation tools with visual context, in-platform communication, automated quality checks, linguistic quality assurance with a quality dashboard, and fully customizable workflows on Enterprise
Integrations and connectors GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket and Azure DevOps repositories, Figma, WordPress, Slack and Microsoft Teams notifications, and scheduled backups to Azure Blob Storage and Google Cloud Storage 50+ integrations, among them Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Sitecore, WordPress, Shopify, GitHub, Figma, HubSpot, Salesforce, Zendesk and Jira
Data handling and privacy Hosted on POEditor's own physical infrastructure in the European Union, ISO 27001 audited information security management, GDPR aligned with a DPA on request, TLS encryption in transit SOC 2 Type II, PCI DSS Level 1, HITRUST and HIPAA, GDPR with customizable DPAs, and ISO 27001, ISO 42001 and ISO 17100 among its certifications; customer data housed on AWS
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Not stated Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Azure DevOps, Figma, WordPress, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Google Translate, DeepL, Azure AI Translator, OpenAI, Claude, Gemini, Amazon Bedrock, Gengo, TextMaster, Azure Blob Storage, Google Cloud Storage more entries Adobe Experience Manager, Contentful, Contentstack, Sitecore, Drupal, Storyblok, Sanity, Webflow, WordPress, WPML, Shopify, GitHub, GitLab, Bitbucket, Figma, Sketch, Canva, Adobe Creative Cloud, Adobe Marketo Engage, Braze, HubSpot, Oracle Eloqua, Salesforce, Zendesk, Intercom, ServiceNow, Jira, Slack, Google Drive, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Free trial POEditor Free plan with 1,000 strings and 5 contributors; 10-day trial starts automatically with the first project, no credit card needed Smartling Core plan is described as free to start; trial length not stated
  • AI features POEditor No Smartling Yes
  • API POEditor Yes, REST API, plus an official MCP server Smartling Yes, APIs and SDKs, plus an official MCP server
  • Language coverage POEditor 270+ languages Smartling Hundreds of languages and locales
  • Files and formats POEditor 22 formats, among them Gettext PO, XLIFF 1.2, iOS XLIFF, Apple Strings and Xcstrings, Android string resources, several JSON variants, Flutter ARB, .NET resources, YAML, CSV and Excel Smartling JSON, XML, YAML, HTML, Markdown and Gettext PO, iOS strings and Android XML, Word, Excel, PowerPoint and PDF, InDesign IDML, SVG, and SRT and VTT subtitles

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

POEditor

Strengths

  • Free plan for small projects and free use for OSI-licensed open-source software
  • Brings your own LLM account for AI translation instead of a fixed engine
  • Human translations can be ordered from inside the account
  • Data hosted on its own infrastructure in the EU

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by string count, from 1,000 strings on Free to 100,000 on Enterprise
  • Machine translation beyond the included 10,000 characters costs extra
  • No Word, PowerPoint or PDF among the supported file formats

Smartling

Strengths

  • Translation software and human translation services are bought together
  • Per-word rates for machine, AI and human translation are published
  • Long certification list, including HITRUST and PCI DSS Level 1
  • Large connector catalogue for marketing, commerce and content systems

Limitations

  • No plan price is published for either plan
  • Translation memory is kept for only 180 days on Core
  • Custom workflows, glossaries and style guides are reserved for Enterprise

Plans

Pricing

POEditor

  • Free Free Up to 1,000 strings and 5 contributors, no credit card.
  • Start 17 US Dollar / month Billed yearly; 18 every six months, 20 monthly. 3,000 strings.
  • Plus 51 US Dollar / month Billed yearly; 54 every six months, 60 monthly. 10,000 strings.
  • Premium 136 US Dollar / month Billed yearly; 144 every six months, 160 monthly. 30,000 strings.
  • Enterprise 221 US Dollar / month Billed yearly; 234 every six months, 260 monthly. 100,000 strings.
Visit site

Smartling

  • Core Not stated For individuals and small teams; described as free to start. Translation services are charged per word, from 0.0075 US Dollar for machine translation to 0.20 US Dollar for human translation.
  • Enterprise Not stated For companies and large teams; no price published.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

POEditor

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Smartling

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

POEditor https://poeditor.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-22

Smartling https://www.smartling.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.