Best for
Best for teams and creators assembling screen recordings and social clips who want unwatermarked 1080p exports without paying for them.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Video Editing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for teams and creators assembling screen recordings and social clips who want unwatermarked 1080p exports without paying for them.
Best for
Best for marketers, trainers and internal communications teams who need animated explainer videos without video production skills.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Clipchamp | Powtoon |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free The free tier allows unlimited exports at up to 1080p with no watermark. Premium is the current standalone paid plan, bought and billed through the Microsoft account used for the purchase, but Microsoft publishes no amount for it in its documentation. Premium features also come with a Microsoft 365 Personal or Family subscription and with certain business and education licences, and commercial users need a Copilot licence for the full set of AI features. | From $15 / month Lite, billed yearly, with 5 watermark-free exports a month and 300 AI credits a year. Professional is $40 a month billed yearly, shown as reduced from $70 when this entry was written, and Advanced $125 a month billed yearly. Extra AI credits come in packages from $49 for 125. Enterprise pricing on request. |
| Free trial | Free tier with unlimited exports at up to 1080p, no watermark, and the basic editing tools plus AI subtitles and voiceover | Free plan with 720p video, up to 3 minutes per video and a Powtoon watermark |
| Commercial use | Not stated | Yes, commercial rights on every paid plan; Advanced adds third-party reseller rights |
| Output | Video up to 1080p on the free tier and 4K UHD with premium, with direct publishing to YouTube, TikTok and LinkedIn | MP4 video up to Full HD 1080p, plus PPT and PDF downloads |
| Languages | Automatic subtitles in more than 80 languages; text-to-speech voiceover in a range of global languages | Not stated |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS), in the browser or as a Windows app | Cloud (SaaS), in the browser |
| Inputs | Uploaded footage, screen, webcam, voice and audio recordings made in the app, and a stock library of more than a million videos, images, backgrounds and music tracks. Auto compose assembles a short video from the media supplied. No text-to-video generation from a prompt is documented | A text prompt, a script, a link, or an uploaded document or presentation. Anything to Video turns any of them into a complete project with scenes, on-screen text and voiceover. Image generation runs on Nano Banana and short clip generation on Veo3, both metered in AI credits |
| Timeline and editing | Yes, a browser timeline with trimming, cropping, rotating and resizing, transitions, effects, frames, animated overlays, green screen, stickers, text and title animations and colour correction, plus transcript-based editing and templates including 9:16 layouts for Reels, Shorts and TikTok | Yes, a drag-and-drop editor in the browser, and generated scenes stay fully editable without spending further credits. The editor offers templates, stock media, screen and webcam recording, commenting and collaboration; camera movement and full access to premium templates start on Professional, custom fonts and full brand control on Advanced |
| Platforms | In the latest desktop Edge or Chrome on Windows, Mac and Linux, in Chrome on Chromebooks, and as a desktop app on compatible Windows 10 and 11 devices. Microsoft recommends at least 8 GB of RAM and a 64-bit system and browser. The editor does not run in mobile browsers on Android, iPhone or iPad, and work or school accounts need a licence that includes Clipchamp | Runs online in the browser, with screen and webcam recording inside the editor |
| Formats and codecs | Imports MP4, MOV, WEBM, AVI, DIVX, 3GP, WMV, VOB and MKV containers with a wide variety of codecs, with MP4 and WEBM recommended to avoid conversion, plus common image and audio formats; 4K footage imports on every tier. Exports MP4 at 30fps in 480p, 720p and 1080p, 4K at 70 Mbps on premium and eligible work plans, 15-second GIFs and M4A audio | MP4 downloads at 720p on the free plan and Full HD 1080p on paid plans, plus PPT and PDF downloads. Direct publishing to HubSpot, Ads Manager, Slack, Teams and SlideShare |
| Colour grading | Basic colour correction: an Adjust colours tab with exposure, contrast, saturation and temperature sliders, plus transparency and blend modes, and video filters for a quick look. No colour wheels, scopes or LUT support are documented | Not stated |
| Effects and motion graphics | Scene transitions, special effects and filters, frames and animated overlays, green screen, text overlays and logo animations, and templates for social media, corporate and education videos | Animated scenes in cartoon, whiteboard, infographic and footage-based styles, a character builder with expressions and animated gestures, a curated set of advanced animations as premium assets, and camera movement with dynamic zooms inside a slide on Professional and above |
| Audio | Yes. AI text-to-speech voiceover in a range of global languages, automatic subtitles in more than 80 languages, silence removal and background noise removal. No lip-sync feature is documented | Yes. Text to speech runs on ElevenLabs and AI avatars with lip-sync on HeyGen; AI translation covers scripts, captions and voiceovers, AI dubbing is metered per minute, and auto-captions are generated. Lip-sync for animated characters is on Advanced |
| Performance and output | Export and processing times are not published | Generation times are not published. The vendor describes going from concept to a publishable draft within minutes |
| Licence and pricing model | Free tier with unlimited exports up to 1080p and no watermark. Premium is a standalone paid plan bought through a Microsoft account, and premium features also come with Microsoft 365 Personal and Family and with certain business and education licences. Videos using premium stock or features outside the plan cannot be exported until the plan is upgraded | Subscription billed yearly on Lite, Professional and Advanced, with commercial rights on every paid plan. AI credits refresh when the plan renews, extra credit packages are final and non-refundable, and Enterprise is priced on request |
| AI features | AI subtitles in more than 80 languages, an AI voiceover generator with 400 voices whose pitch and speed can be adjusted, AI noise suppression, silence and pause removal, and auto compose for highlight and slideshow videos. No video or image generation from a prompt is described | Anything to Video from a prompt, link or document, an AI scriptwriter, image generation (Nano Banana) and clip generation (Veo3), text to speech (ElevenLabs), avatars (HeyGen), captions, translation and dubbing, metered in AI credits |
| API | No developer API is documented. The Microsoft documentation covers the editor only, and the older Clipchamp API repositories on the vendor's GitHub organisation, among them the WordPress plugin for the Clipchamp API, are archived | The vendor offers the Powtoon API for direct connections. Automation also runs through Zapier, Make, n8n, Power Automate and Workato |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Chat | Not stated |
| Onboarding | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | OneDrive, Google Drive, Dropbox, YouTube, TikTok, LinkedIn, Microsoft 365 | more entries YouTube, Vimeo, Wistia, HubSpot, Slack, Microsoft Teams, SlideShare, Microsoft PowerPoint, Google Slides, Canva, Salesforce, Articulate 360, Canvas, Moodle, Docebo, Google Drive, Dropbox, Zapier, Make |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Clipchamp
Strengths
Limitations
Powtoon
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Clipchamp
Powtoon
What users say
Clipchamp
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Powtoon
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
Clipchamp https://clipchamp.com · no check date recorded yet
Powtoon https://www.powtoon.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-02
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.