CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Website Builders Comparison

Shopify vs. Unbounce

At a glance

At a glance

Shopify

Best for

Best for merchants whose website is first and foremost a store, from a first product to a multi-channel brand.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Unbounce

Best for

Best for marketing teams and agencies that launch a dedicated page per campaign and want to test variants without a developer.

  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Shopify Unbounce
Starting price From $29 / month Basic plan, billed yearly; $39 billed monthly. Grow $89, Advanced $359 per month billed yearly, Plus from $2,300 per month. Prices in USD. $29 / month Starter plan billed monthly: up to 500 visitors, 1 user, 1 root domain and 5 pages. Yearly billing is advertised at 25% less. Build $99, Experiment $149 and Optimize $249 per month billed monthly; Concierge and Agency on request.
Free trial 3-day free trial, then $1 / month for the first 3 months 14-day free trial, no credit card required
Output Hosted online stores and websites on a custom domain, plus in-person and multichannel sales Hosted landing pages, popups and sticky bars
API Yes, GraphQL Admin API, Storefront API, webhooks and Shopify Functions Yes, Unbounce API v0.4 with API keys on all current plans, plus an official MCP server
What it makes Hosted online stores with their own website, blog and checkout, built from a theme or an AI-generated storefront Landing pages, popups and sticky bars for marketing campaigns, started from hundreds of industry templates or from scratch
Styling and layout control Section-based editor with theme settings for fonts, colors and styles across the site, free and paid themes, and the theme code itself editable in Liquid and CSS Drag-and-drop builder with industry templates; custom scripts, pixels, code and styling from the Build plan
CMS and dynamic content Built-in blog and pages, plus metafields and metaobjects for custom structured content that themes display through Liquid or the Storefront API Dynamic text replacement from the Experiment plan, and scheduling of pages, popups and sticky bars on Optimize. No blog or content collections are named on the product or pricing pages
Hosting and domains Unlimited hosting and a free SSL certificate on every plan. Domains can be bought inside the Shopify admin or connected by changing DNS settings Free hosting on every plan with an SSL-secured ubpages.com address. Custom domains connect by CNAME with SSL provisioned by Unbounce, or through a WordPress plugin that needs its own SSL certificate. Root domains: 1 on Starter and Build, 2 on Experiment, 3 on Optimize, 5 on Concierge, from 10 on Agency
SEO controls Editable title tags and meta descriptions for pages, products, collections and blog posts, image alt text, an automatically generated sitemap, and URL redirects that can be imported in bulk from a CSV file Page title, description, favicon and Open Graph metadata per page, and a setting to hide a page from search engines
E-commerce The core of the product: unlimited products, checkout, inventory across up to 10 locations, B2B catalogs and selling on social, marketplaces and AI chats. Shopify Payments card rates run from 2.9% + 30¢ on Basic down to 2.25% + 30¢ on Plus; third-party payment providers add 2%, 1%, 0.6% or 0.2% depending on plan Selling runs through another platform's embed: Unbounce documents embedding a Shopify Buy Button with a cart drawer in a Custom HTML element on Classic Builder pages, and linking a PayPal button to a page with payments tracked as conversions. It labels the Shopify method community code rather than an official Unbounce feature that its support can troubleshoot
Publishing and code export Publishes to Shopify hosting. A theme can be downloaded as a .zip file of its code, but the download leaves out products, collections, menus, pages, blog posts and images Publishes to Unbounce hosting or to a WordPress domain. No HTML export: Classic Builder pages download only as .unbounce files for use inside Unbounce, and Smart Builder pages cannot be downloaded
AI features An AI store builder generates a personalised storefront from a prompt. Sidekick, the built-in assistant, writes store headlines, product descriptions, chat replies and blog posts, and AI image editing reworks product photos AI copywriting from the Build plan, AI traffic optimization on Optimize, and an MCP server on every plan that lets Claude or ChatGPT build, publish and test pages
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Chat, 24/7, Phone Phone, Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Claude, ChatGPT, Google Analytics, HubSpot, Salesforce, Mailchimp, CallRail, Zapier, WordPress

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Shopify From $29 / month Unbounce $29 / month
  • Free trial Shopify 3-day free trial, then $1 / month for the first 3 months Unbounce 14-day free trial, no credit card required
  • Company size Shopify Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Unbounce Small and mid-sized
  • Support Shopify Chat, 24/7, Phone Unbounce Phone, Email helpdesk, Chat
  • Output Shopify Hosted online stores and websites on a custom domain, plus in-person and multichannel sales Unbounce Hosted landing pages, popups and sticky bars

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Shopify

Strengths

  • Checkout, payments, inventory and point of sale run on the same catalog as the website
  • Theme code is open for editing in Liquid and CSS
  • Hosting and SSL are included on every plan
  • Official APIs cover headless storefronts and custom checkout logic

Limitations

  • Using a payment provider other than Shopify Payments adds a transaction fee on every plan below Plus
  • A theme download excludes products, pages, blog posts and images
  • Phone support is reserved for the Plus plan
  • The free trial lasts three days

Unbounce

Strengths

  • Unlimited A/B testing and variants from the Experiment plan
  • Official MCP server included in every plan at no extra cost
  • SSL is provisioned automatically for domains connected by CNAME
  • Phone, email and live chat support listed from the Starter plan

Limitations

  • Starter allows 500 visitors and 5 pages, without popups or A/B testing
  • Pages cannot be exported as HTML, only as .unbounce files for reuse inside Unbounce
  • Domains published through the WordPress plugin need their own SSL certificate

Plans

Pricing

Shopify

  • Basic $29 Per month, billed yearly ($39 monthly). For solo entrepreneurs. Card rates from 2.9% + 30¢.
  • Grow $89 Per month, billed yearly ($105 monthly). Up to 5 staff accounts, card rates from 2.7% + 30¢.
  • Advanced $359 Per month, billed yearly ($399 monthly). Up to 15 staff accounts, live third-party shipping rates, card rates from 2.5% + 30¢.
  • Plus From $2,300 Per month. Unlimited staff accounts, customizable checkout, unlimited B2B catalogs, priority 24/7 phone support.
Visit site

Unbounce

  • Starter $29 Per month, billed monthly. Up to 500 visitors, 1 user, 1 root domain, 5 pages.
  • Build $99 Per month, billed monthly. Up to 20,000 visitors, unlimited pages, popups and sticky bars, AI copywriting.
  • Experiment $149 Per month, billed monthly. Up to 30,000 visitors, 3 users, 2 root domains, unlimited A/B testing.
  • Optimize $249 Per month, billed monthly. Up to 50,000 visitors, 5 users, 3 root domains, AI traffic optimization.
  • Concierge Not stated Custom pricing. From 100,000 visitors, 15 users, 5 root domains, implementation services and a dedicated customer success manager.
  • Agency Not stated Custom pricing. From 50,000 visitors, from 5 users and 10 root domains, plus a listing in the agency partner directory.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Shopify

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Unbounce

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Shopify https://www.shopify.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-15

Unbounce https://unbounce.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-20

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.