CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Whiteboards & Diagramming Comparison

Eraser vs. Gliffy

At a glance

At a glance

Eraser

Best for

Best for engineering teams that keep architecture and system diagrams as code next to their design docs.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Gliffy

Best for

Best for teams that document systems and processes in Confluence and want the diagrams on the same page.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Eraser Gliffy
Starting price Free; Starter from $15 / member / month Starter is $15 per member and month billed annually or $20 monthly; Business is $45 billed annually or $60 monthly. Guests are free on every plan. lower value Free up to 10 users; from $3.80 / user / month The paid Cloud tier covers 11 to 100 users and is billed annually through the Atlassian Marketplace. Enterprise sites from 20,000 users are priced on request. Data Center is sold as a perpetual licence with 12 months of support and updates.
Free trial Free plan with 3 files and 3 AI diagrams Free for up to 10 users with no time limit; 30-day evaluation on Cloud and Data Center
Output Technical diagrams and markdown design documents on an infinite canvas Process, architecture, network, UML, BPMN and Mermaid diagrams embedded in Confluence pages
Hosting Cloud web app; Enterprise offers flexible deployments Not stated
What it makes Architecture, cloud, sequence, flow chart, entity relationship and BPMN diagrams on an infinite canvas, next to markdown notes in the same file Flowcharts, process, architecture and network diagrams, UML and BPMN, plus entity-relationship and UML diagrams written as Mermaid code
Templates and styling Templates, AI presets, team style presets, references and naming rules that ground generated diagrams in a team's conventions; more than 3,000 tech icons, plus 20 custom icons on Starter and 100 on Business Diagram templates and shape libraries on Cloud, Zero Egress and Data Center
Diagramming Diagram-as-code for flow charts, ERDs, cloud architecture, sequence and BPMN diagrams with automatic layout, plus a visual editor for placing and styling elements by hand Drag-and-drop editing with drawing guides and a grid, expand and collapse for layered detail, and Mermaid diagrams created from code without placing shapes; editing one diagram updates all its copies across the Confluence space
Collaboration and facilitation Real-time collaboration, commenting and tagging on every plan Real-time collaboration, diagrams in Confluence comments, sticky notes and a freehand drawing tool for whiteboarding sessions
Permissions and guests Unlimited free guests who edit and comment only on files they are invited to; publicly viewable and editable files on every plan, private files from Starter and SAML SSO from Business Permissions are managed through Confluence; the Zero Egress edition keeps all diagram data inside the Atlassian environment
Export and sharing Export to PDF, PNG, SVG and markdown, embeddable canvas figures, and integrations with GitHub, Notion, Confluence and VS Code Export to JPEG, PNG and SVG, import from Microsoft Visio and draw.io, and mass conversion of draw.io diagrams
AI features Yes, AI diagrams from a prompt, an image or a file such as Terraform or a database schema, refined by chat or by hand, plus AI documents; Eraserbot keeps codebase diagrams current as the code changes. AI credits are 3 on Free, 40 on Starter and 250 on Business Yes, generates fully editable diagrams from natural language prompts
API Yes, a REST API to create, generate from a prompt or DSL, update and export diagrams and files, with usage-based monthly calls on paid plans, plus an MCP server and agent integrations No developer API is named on the Gliffy for Confluence product page
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Not stated
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries GitHub, Notion, Confluence, VS Code Confluence

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Eraser Free; Starter from $15 / member / month Gliffy Free up to 10 users; from $3.80 / user / month
  • Free trial Eraser Free plan with 3 files and 3 AI diagrams Gliffy Free for up to 10 users with no time limit; 30-day evaluation on Cloud and Data Center
  • Deployment Eraser Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Gliffy Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
  • MCP-ready Eraser Yes Gliffy No
  • Output Eraser Technical diagrams and markdown design documents on an infinite canvas Gliffy Process, architecture, network, UML, BPMN and Mermaid diagrams embedded in Confluence pages

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Eraser

Strengths

  • Diagrams are text, so they can be read, diffed and edited like code
  • Unlimited free guests on every plan
  • An MCP server gives coding agents read and write access to diagrams

Limitations

  • The Free plan is limited to 3 files and 3 AI diagrams
  • API calls are not included on the Free plan
  • SAML SSO starts at the Business plan

Gliffy

Strengths

  • Diagram text is searchable inside Confluence
  • Free for Confluence sites with up to 10 users, without a time limit
  • Zero Egress edition for Atlassian Government Cloud and Isolated Cloud

Limitations

  • Sold only as a Confluence app through the Atlassian Marketplace
  • If the Cloud subscription is not renewed, diagrams become read-only

Plans

Pricing

Eraser

  • Free $0 Per member and month, free forever. 3 files, 3 AI diagrams, 7-day version history, unlimited guests, diagram-as-code and markdown notes.
  • Starter $15 Per member and month billed annually, or $20 monthly. Unlimited files, 40 AI diagrams, 90-day version history, private files, 20 custom icons and API calls.
  • Business $45 Per member and month billed annually, or $60 monthly. Unlimited files, 250 AI diagrams, unlimited version history, SAML SSO, 100 custom icons and reference diagrams.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Unlimited AI diagrams, flexible deployments, a customer success manager, ACH and wire transfer, and usage reporting.
Visit site

Gliffy

  • Up to 10 users $0 Gliffy Diagrams for Confluence for up to 10 users, with no time limit.
  • 11 to 100 users $3.80 Per user and month for 11 to 100 users, billed annually through the Atlassian Marketplace. Unlimited diagrams.
  • Zero Egress $2.80 Listed as "as low as" for 1 to 100 users; the page does not state the unit or billing period. For Atlassian Government Cloud and Isolated Cloud; diagram data never leaves the Atlassian environment.
  • Enterprise Not stated For sites with 20,000 users or more, priced on request.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Eraser

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Gliffy

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Eraser https://www.eraser.io/ · checked against the official source on 2026-10-17

Gliffy https://www.gliffy.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.