Best for
Best for authors self-editing a novel or non-fiction book who want it measured against the norms of their genre before it reaches an editor.
- Freelancers
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Writing Assistance & Style Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for authors self-editing a novel or non-fiction book who want it measured against the norms of their genre before it reaches an editor.
Best for
Best for researchers and students who write papers in English, especially in LaTeX on Overleaf.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | AutoCrit | Writefull |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier Pro membership is billed monthly or annually; no minimum term, cancel and reactivate at any time | Not stated |
| Free trial | Free Forever plan with a selection of editing tools and no word limit | Free to get started |
| Output | Editing reports with an overall AutoCrit Score, genre comparison and highlighted passages, plus ePub and print PDF exports | Language edits suggested in the document, paraphrases, summaries, titles and abstracts, and revised documents in Track Changes |
| API | Not stated | Language API for publishers, returning edits and quality metrics as JSON or Track Changes |
| Hosting | Cloud web app | Cloud |
| What it works on | Book manuscripts of any length, with guided editing for fiction genres such as fantasy, romance, horror and mystery, and for non-fiction such as academic, business, biography and memoir | Academic papers, essays and theses in Microsoft Word and in LaTeX source on Overleaf, plus uploaded documents in Writefull Revise |
| Checks covered | Pacing and momentum, dialogue tags, adverbs, passive indicators, tense and point-of-view consistency, showing versus telling, clichés, redundancies, filler words, repeated words and phrases, generic descriptions, readability statistics including Dale-Chall, and a spelling and grammar checker | Grammar and word use tailored to academic writing, from models trained on published papers |
| Style guide and tone | Style is compared against benchmarks for the selected genre, with a direct genre comparison score on Pro | Rewrites a selected passage to sound more scientific, punchier or more concise |
| Scores and reports | Yes, a Summary Report with an overall AutoCrit Score, a genre comparison score and editing recommendations, plus separate Pacing, Dialogue and Strong Writing reports on Pro | Language quality metrics across error categories and subcategories through the Language API |
| AI rewriting | The line editing reports are algorithmic and use no generative AI; generative AI is limited to the optional Inspiration Studio for ideas, and AI developmental feedback comes from Story Analyzer+ | Academic paraphrasing, summaries, title and abstract generators, Explain for context-aware explanations, an academic AI assistant, and TeXGPT for LaTeX tables, equations and commands in Overleaf |
| Languages | English; the grammar settings choose the type of English, for example American or UK, together with a style guide | English academic writing; in Overleaf, GPT-based revision for text in other languages |
| Where it runs | Web app in the browser, mobile-optimised, with a desktop or laptop recommended for editing. An offline mode keeps the workspace available without a connection, though AI features and editing reports need one. Finished books export to ePub and print PDF | Microsoft Word add-in, built into Overleaf and switched on in the account settings, Writefull Revise for uploaded documents, and the Language API |
| Privacy and data handling | The vendor states projects are stored on secure servers, are not shared with or accessed by anyone without the author's permission, and are not used to train AI | Texts travel over an encrypted connection and are neither stored nor used to train Writefull's models; some features call third-party APIs, and users are told and asked for consent before text is sent to them |
| Teams and sharing | Collaboration features let a remote writing partner or the author's editor access the manuscript directly and work on it asynchronously; the plan that includes them is not stated | Group licences give Premium to 2 to 100 people, and institutional licences give all students and staff the full suite; Writefull Revise is available to institutions and publishers only |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Support | Email helpdesk | Not stated |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | Documentation and knowledge base |
| Company size | Freelancers | more entries Freelancers, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Not stated | Microsoft Word, Overleaf |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
AutoCrit
Strengths
Limitations
Writefull
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
AutoCrit
Writefull
What users say
AutoCrit
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Writefull
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
AutoCrit https://www.autocrit.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-18
Writefull https://www.writefull.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-10
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.