CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Accountable vs. Zoho Books

At a glance

At a glance

Accountable

Best for

Best for freelancers and sole traders in Germany who want invoicing, bookkeeping and their tax returns in one app.

  • Freelancers

Zoho Books

Best for

Best for growing small businesses, especially those already using Zoho, that want scalable accounting from invoicing and bank reconciliation through inventory, projects and analytics.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Accountable Zoho Books
Starting price Free invoicing plan, otherwise from €12.40 / month plus VAT Billed monthly, per month plus VAT: Invoicing plus €12.40, Bookkeeping €24.90, Taxes €37.40 and Max €74.90. Yearly billing lowers these to €9.90, €19.90, €29.90 and €59.90 per month. Max carries a 12-month commitment. Free; Standard from $15 / month The Free plan suits small businesses. The Standard plan is $15 / month billed annually ($20 billed monthly) and adds bank feeds, sales-tax tracking and API access. US pricing.
Free trial No free trial of the paid plans; a free invoicing plan in the mobile app, and a 30-day money-back guarantee on all plans Not stated
Users More than 40,000 self-employed people in Germany, according to the vendor From 1 user on the Free plan up to 15 on Ultimate, by plan
API Not stated Yes, a REST API from the Standard plan, plus integration with the wider Zoho suite
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices and quotes with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices; recurring and instalment invoices and personalised layouts from Invoicing plus Yes, professional invoices and quotes with online payment links and recurring invoices; progress invoicing from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, bank account connection (one account on the free plan, five from Bookkeeping). Only actual taxation (Ist-Versteuerung) is supported, and the Belgian site states that double-entry accounting is not supported Yes, bank reconciliation and transaction categorization, with bank feeds from the Standard plan
Expenses and receipts Yes, receipt scanning with AI auto-recognition; five expenses per month on the free plan, unlimited from Bookkeeping Yes, expense tracking with receipt autoscan and mileage tracking
Tax and compliance Yes, Germany: VAT advance returns (USt-VA) from the Taxes plan, plus income tax, EÜR, trade tax and yearly VAT returns in the yearly closing. For errors caused by the app, a tax guarantee refunds resulting back taxes up to €500 per filing on Taxes and up to €10,000 on Max Yes, sales and use tax tracking, 1099 and W-9 management and an audit trail
Payroll Not stated Not built in. Zoho Payroll is a separate product, and its integration mirrors every pay run in Zoho Books, posting salary and tax expenses into the accounts mapped for them
Reports and exports Profit and loss statement (EÜR), DATEV-format export and access for a tax adviser Yes, 50-plus reports including profit and loss and balance sheet, with advanced analytics on the Ultimate plan
Integrations and API Not stated Yes, a REST API available from the Standard plan; integrates with Zoho CRM, Inventory and Expense
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Chat, Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size Freelancers more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations DATEV more entries Zoho CRM, Zoho Inventory, Zoho Expense, Zoho Payroll, Shopify

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Accountable Free invoicing plan, otherwise from €12.40 / month plus VAT Zoho Books Free; Standard from $15 / month
  • Company size Accountable Freelancers Zoho Books Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Accountable Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps Zoho Books Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support Accountable Chat, Email helpdesk Zoho Books Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • AI features Accountable Yes Zoho Books No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Accountable

Strengths

  • Free plan with unlimited XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices in the mobile app
  • Yearly closing with income tax, EÜR and trade tax returns, for small businesses from the Bookkeeping plan and for all from Taxes
  • Chat support from tax coaches on the Taxes plan, and a personal tax coach on Max
  • DATEV-format export and adviser access

Limitations

  • Not designed for corporations such as a UG or GmbH
  • Only actual taxation (Ist-Versteuerung); accrual-based VAT (Soll-Versteuerung) is not supported
  • The free plan has no web access, one bank account and five expenses a month
  • No free trial of the paid plans, only a 30-day money-back guarantee

Zoho Books

Strengths

  • Free plan with invoicing, bank reconciliation, 1099/W-9 handling and 50-plus reports
  • Six plans scaling to multi-currency, projects, inventory and advanced analytics
  • Sales and use tax tracking, 1099/W-9 management and an audit trail
  • REST API and tight integration with the wider Zoho suite

Limitations

  • API access, bank feeds and sales-tax tracking begin on the paid Standard plan
  • The six plan tiers can make it hard to pick the right one

Plans

Pricing

Accountable

  • Free Invoicing €0 Mobile app only, one bank account, five expenses per month, unlimited ZUGFeRD and XRechnung e-invoices.
  • Invoicing plus €12.40 Per month plus VAT billed monthly, €9.90 billed yearly. Web access, unlimited quotes, recurring and instalment invoices, AI Tax Advisor.
  • Bookkeeping €24.90 Per month plus VAT billed monthly, €19.90 billed yearly. Five bank accounts, unlimited expenses, yearly closing for small businesses.
  • Taxes €37.40 Per month plus VAT billed monthly, €29.90 billed yearly. Quarterly VAT returns, yearly closing for all, tax guarantee up to €500 per filing, chat with tax coaches.
  • Max €74.90 Per month plus VAT billed monthly, €59.90 billed yearly, 12-month commitment. Personal tax coach, onboarding call, four coach calls a year, €10,000 tax guarantee.
Visit site

Zoho Books

  • Free $0 For small businesses: invoices, quotes, expenses, receipt autoscan, bank reconciliation, 1099 and W-9 handling and 50-plus reports; 1 user plus 1 accountant.
  • Standard $15 / month Billed annually ($20 billed monthly). Adds bank feeds, sales and use tax tracking, e-file 1099, API access and custom reports; 3 users.
  • Professional $40 / month Billed annually ($50 billed monthly). Adds sales and purchase orders, multi-currency, timesheet billing, project profitability and inventory; 5 users.
  • Premium $60 / month Billed annually ($70 billed monthly). Adds revenue recognition, fixed assets, budgets, cashflow forecasting and a vendor portal; 10 users.
  • Elite $120 / month Billed annually ($150 billed monthly). Adds advanced inventory with warehouses, batch and serial tracking and Shopify; 10 users.
  • Ultimate $240 / month Billed annually ($275 billed monthly). Adds advanced analytics with pre-built dashboards; 15 users.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Accountable

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Books

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Accountable https://www.accountable.de/en · no check date recorded yet

Zoho Books https://www.zoho.com/us/books/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.