CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

bexio vs. FreeAgent

At a glance

At a glance

bexio

Best for

Best for Swiss SMEs and the self-employed that want quotes, invoices, bookkeeping, banking and payroll in one system built for Swiss rules.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

FreeAgent

Best for

Best for UK freelancers, contractors and small businesses that want invoicing, bookkeeping and HMRC tax filing (VAT, Self Assessment and MTD) in one place.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion bexio FreeAgent
Starting price From CHF 35 / month The Basic package on annual billing, for one user. Monthly billing costs CHF 10 more per month on every package. The list rates on annual billing are CHF 35 for Basic, CHF 42 for Advanced, CHF 69 for Optima and CHF 119 for Ultimate. A 30 percent first-year discount on Advanced and above was running at the time of writing. Free with an eligible NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle account, otherwise from £19 / month Priced by business type: Sole Trader £19, Partnership/LLP £27, Limited Company £33 and Landlord £10 per month, billed monthly or annually. Free for customers with an eligible NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle bank account. UK pricing.
Free trial 30 days without obligation, on the Ultimate package excluding the document archive and bexio Pay 30-day free trial
Team size 1 user on Basic, 2 on Advanced, 5 on Optima and 25 on Ultimate Not stated
Users More than 100,000 companies, per the vendor Not stated
API Yes, a REST API authenticated over OpenID Connect, plus a marketplace of more than 120 apps Yes, a REST API using OAuth 2.0, with JSON and XML responses
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), stored in Swiss data centres Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Switzerland Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, quotes and orders from stored products and services, QR invoices from multilingual templates, and project time carried into the invoice Yes, automated invoices with reminders and online payment links, plus estimates
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, single-entry or double-entry bookkeeping with pre-configured Swiss charts of accounts and VAT rates, and automatic reconciliation against more than 65 Swiss banks Yes, automatic bank feeds import transactions for reconciliation
Expenses and receipts Yes, supplier invoices and receipts posted against selected ledgers, with AI receipt scanning in the bexio Go app, metered per package Yes, receipt capture with smart data extraction
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT statements in several methods and the year-end close, plus a GeBüV-compliant document archive with tamper-proof timestamps in Swiss data centres (Switzerland) Yes, VAT returns, Self Assessment and MTD for Income Tax filed directly to HMRC, with real-time tax calculations (UK)
Payroll Yes, certified to Swissdec 5.3 with automatic reporting to the authorities; a paid add-on on Advanced and included from Optima upwards Yes, monthly payroll with RTI filing to HMRC
Reports and exports Yes, balance sheet and income statement with year-on-year comparison, plus a dashboard of financial key figures Yes, a dashboard with profit and loss and cashflow forecasting
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API over OpenID Connect covering sales, contacts, accounting, purchasing, items, projects, banking, files and payroll, with a marketplace of more than 120 apps Yes, a REST API using OAuth 2.0, with JSON and XML responses
AI features stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Phone, Email helpdesk more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Clockodo, TimeStatement, 2getHR, PEAX, Worldline, SumUp & PepperShop POS solution, PepperShop Online Shop, Shopify Connector by Helvy, echo for Microsoft Teams, Callwise, Social EDI (gate2b) more entries Stripe, PayPal, GoCardless, SumUp, Tyl by NatWest, Pleo, Zapier, Make, Integrately, Dext, AutoEntry by Sage, HubSpot, Capsule CRM, Basecamp, Amazon, WooCommerce, Float, Fathom, Syft Analytics, BrightPay, Employment Hero, Chaser, Satago

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price bexio From CHF 35 / month FreeAgent Free with an eligible NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle account, otherwise from £19 / month
  • Free trial bexio 30 days without obligation, on the Ultimate package excluding the document archive and bexio Pay FreeAgent 30-day free trial
  • Hosting bexio Cloud (SaaS), stored in Swiss data centres FreeAgent Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support bexio Phone, Email helpdesk FreeAgent Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • AI features bexio Yes FreeAgent No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

bexio

Strengths

  • Swiss specifics built in: QR invoices, Swissdec 5.3 payroll, VAT statements and a GeBüV-compliant archive in Swiss data centres
  • Free live access for the fiduciary, with around 1,000 certified Swiss partners already working in the system
  • Automatic reconciliation with more than 65 Swiss banks
  • REST API over OpenID Connect and a marketplace of more than 120 apps

Limitations

  • Packages are cut by user count, so one extra login can mean the next tier
  • Payroll is absent from the Basic package and a paid add-on on Advanced
  • AI receipt scanning in the mobile app is metered on every package except Ultimate
  • Built for Switzerland, so the tax, banking and payroll work does not transfer to other markets

FreeAgent

Strengths

  • UK tax built in: VAT, Self Assessment and MTD for Income Tax filed to HMRC
  • Free for customers with an eligible NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle account
  • Native monthly payroll with RTI filing
  • REST API using OAuth 2.0 for developers and practices

Limitations

  • Built around UK tax and HMRC, so it suits UK businesses specifically
  • Pricing depends on business type rather than a single plan

Plans

Pricing

bexio

  • Basic CHF 35 / month On annual billing, CHF 45 per month billed monthly. One user. Contacts, invoices, accounting, products, expenses, e-banking, document archive, projects, time tracking and stock management. No payroll and no bexio Pay.
  • Advanced CHF 42 / month On annual billing, CHF 52 per month billed monthly. Two users. Adds payroll as a paid add-on (CHF 7 to 25 per month), bexio Pay for CHF 14 per month, 50 AI receipt scans per month and more than 90 marketplace apps.
  • Optima CHF 69 / month On annual billing, CHF 79 per month billed monthly. Five users. Payroll for five employees included, bexio Pay for CHF 14 per month, 100 AI receipt scans per month.
  • Ultimate CHF 119 / month On annual billing, CHF 129 per month billed monthly. 25 users. Payroll for 25 employees included, bexio Pay included, unlimited AI receipt scans.
Visit site

FreeAgent

  • Sole Trader £19 / month For sole traders; billed monthly or £190 / year.
  • Partnership / LLP £27 / month For partnerships and LLPs; billed monthly or £270 / year.
  • Limited Company £33 / month For limited companies; billed monthly or £330 / year.
  • Landlord £10 / month For landlords; billed monthly or £100 / year.
  • NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle customers Free Free for customers with an eligible NatWest, RBS, Ulster Bank or Mettle bank account.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

bexio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

FreeAgent

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

bexio https://www.bexio.com · no check date recorded yet

FreeAgent https://www.freeagent.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.