CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Candis vs. Stripe Billing

At a glance

At a glance

Candis

Best for

Best for finance teams in German-speaking companies that want supplier invoices approved and pre-accounted before they reach DATEV or the ERP.

Stripe Billing

Best for

Best for software and AI companies already on Stripe that need subscription and usage-based billing, dunning and revenue recognition alongside their accounting system.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Candis Stripe Billing
Starting price From €389 / month Base plan, priced by number of invoices; Plus and Max are priced by number of documents. Contracts run 12, 24 or 36 months, and unlimited users, companies, implementation and support are included. Whether VAT is included is not stated. From 0.7 percent of billing volume Pay as you go is 0.7 percent of billing volume with no recurring fee, covering transactions processed on and off Stripe and excluding one-off invoices. Pay monthly runs on a one-year contract from 620 US dollars per month for up to 100,000 US dollars of monthly billing volume up to 5,750 US dollars for up to 1 million, each plus 0.67 percent on volume above the included amount. Custom pricing for larger volumes.
Free trial 30-day free trial Not stated
Users More than 10,000 companies Not stated
API Yes, an open REST API with OAuth 2.0 and JSON Yes, a full billing API, with accounting, CRM and CPQ integrations, Stripe Sigma for custom queries and Data Pipeline for warehouse sync
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), data stored on servers in Germany Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Germany Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Incoming supplier invoices: automatic capture and data extraction, a central inbox, rule-based approvals with deputies, automatic approval of recurring invoices, and order-invoice linking on Plus. Outgoing invoices are archived on Plus; creating customer invoices is not described Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with no code required, plus quotes, a self-serve customer portal, automated e-invoicing, prorations, installments and credit and debit notes
Bookkeeping and bank feeds No general ledger of its own; AI pre-accounting suggestions that a team member approves, then export to DATEV, Addison OneClick, Agenda or Sesamsoft, or to an ERP such as SAP Business One, Business Central, Sage 100 or Oracle NetSuite, with provisions for open approvals on Plus No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; billing data syncs into accounting systems including NetSuite
Expenses and receipts Yes, expense reimbursement on every plan, travel expenses with mileage and meal allowances on Plus, and Visa corporate cards with receipt matching as an add-on No expense claims or receipt capture; Stripe Billing covers the revenue side rather than spend
Tax and compliance GoBD-compliant archive, receipt and validation of XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices, duplicate and IBAN risk checks, and on Max an AI check of invoices against Section 14 UStG Yes, sales tax, VAT and GST in 90 or more countries through Stripe Tax, calculated during billing from the dashboard or the API, plus ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition through Stripe Revenue Recognition
Payroll No payroll; Candis covers payables, purchase requests, contracts, expenses and cards, and connects to Personio on Max No payroll
Reports and exports Exports as DATEV file interfaces (CSV, XML) and in formats for Addison, Simba, Sesamsoft, Agenda and BMD, plus a SEPA XML export for payments; the pricing page names no reporting or analytics dashboard Yes, a dashboard consolidating MRR, churn and payment failure metrics, accounts receivable aging and automated reconciliation, custom queries through Stripe Sigma and warehouse sync to Snowflake, Redshift and Databricks through Data Pipeline
Integrations and API Yes, an open REST API with OAuth 2.0 and JSON, plus an open billing data API on Max Yes, a full billing API documented at docs.stripe.com/billing, with accounting integrations including NetSuite plus CRM and CPQ connections
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Not stated Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries DATEV, Addison OneClick, Agenda, Sesamsoft, SAP Business One, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, Sage 100, Oracle NetSuite, Personio, Microsoft Teams, Slack, Pliant Oracle NetSuite, Snowflake, Amazon Redshift, Databricks

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Candis From €389 / month Stripe Billing From 0.7 percent of billing volume
  • Hosting Candis Cloud (SaaS), data stored on servers in Germany Stripe Billing Cloud (SaaS)
  • API Candis Yes, an open REST API with OAuth 2.0 and JSON Stripe Billing Yes, a full billing API, with accounting, CRM and CPQ integrations, Stripe Sigma for custom queries and Data Pipeline for warehouse sync
  • Invoicing and quotes Candis Incoming supplier invoices: automatic capture and data extraction, a central inbox, rule-based approvals with deputies, automatic approval of recurring invoices, and order-invoice linking on Plus. Outgoing invoices are archived on Plus; creating customer invoices is not described Stripe Billing Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with no code required, plus quotes, a self-serve customer portal, automated e-invoicing, prorations, installments and credit and debit notes
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Candis No general ledger of its own; AI pre-accounting suggestions that a team member approves, then export to DATEV, Addison OneClick, Agenda or Sesamsoft, or to an ERP such as SAP Business One, Business Central, Sage 100 or Oracle NetSuite, with provisions for open approvals on Plus Stripe Billing No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; billing data syncs into accounting systems including NetSuite

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Candis

Strengths

  • Unlimited users and legal entities on every plan
  • Receives and validates XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices
  • Direct DATEV integration, plus SAP Business One, Business Central, Sage 100 and NetSuite on every plan
  • Data stored on servers in Germany, with GoBD-compliant archiving

Limitations

  • Contracts run 12, 24 or 36 months, with 3 months' notice to cancel
  • Section 14 UStG checks, SSO, Personio and the billing data API are Max-plan features
  • Corporate cards are an add-on from €149 a month

Stripe Billing

Strengths

  • Subscriptions, usage-based pricing, invoicing, tax and recovery in one Stripe account
  • Usage metering on Metronome at up to 100,000 events per second
  • Smart Retries and card account updaters for failed payments, with dunning built in
  • ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition and tax in 90 or more countries

Limitations

  • No general ledger, bank feeds, expenses or payroll, so an accounting system is still needed
  • Priced on billing volume rather than seats, so the cost rises with revenue
  • Pay-monthly tiers require a one-year contract

Plans

Pricing

Candis

  • Base From €389 Per month, priced by number of invoices. Invoice management, approvals, document archive, expense reimbursement, AI-assisted sorting and keyword indexing.
  • Plus From €599 Per month, priced by number of documents. Adds purchase requisitions, full-text search, document linking, contract and deadline management, extended expenses and DATEV Accounting integration for self-bookers.
  • Max From €789 Per month, priced by number of documents. Adds AI invoice checks under Section 14 UStG, Slack and Microsoft Teams reminders, SSO, Personio, multi-entity master data and an open billing data API.
Visit site

Stripe Billing

  • Pay as you go 0.7% 0.7 percent of billing volume with no recurring fee, covering transactions processed on and off Stripe and excluding one-off invoices. Suited to low or unpredictable volume.
  • Pay monthly, up to $100,000 volume $620 Per month on a one-year contract, for up to 100,000 US dollars of monthly billing volume, plus 0.67 percent on additional volume. Stripe states a saving of 11 percent.
  • Pay monthly, up to $250,000 volume $1,500 Per month on a one-year contract, for up to 250,000 US dollars of monthly billing volume, plus 0.67 percent on additional volume. Stripe states a saving of 14 percent.
  • Pay monthly, up to $500,000 volume $2,950 Per month on a one-year contract, for up to 500,000 US dollars of monthly billing volume, plus 0.67 percent on additional volume. Stripe states a saving of 16 percent.
  • Pay monthly, up to $1,000,000 volume $5,750 Per month on a one-year contract, for up to 1 million US dollars of monthly billing volume, plus 0.67 percent on additional volume. Stripe states a saving of 18 percent.
  • Custom Not stated Quoted by Stripe for substantial billing volume or unusual requirements.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Candis

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Stripe Billing

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Candis https://www.candis.io/en · checked against the official source on 2026-10-24

Stripe Billing https://stripe.com/billing · checked against the official source on 2026-09-11

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.