CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

e-conomic vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

e-conomic

Best for

Best for small and mid-sized Danish companies that want online bookkeeping with direct bank integration and free access for their accountant.

  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion e-conomic Zoho Invoice
Starting price From 249 DKK / month plus VAT The Basis package for 1,000 postings a year. The price rises with the number of postings, and an account that exceeds its limit is moved to the next tier automatically. Extra users cost 149 DKK a month. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial 14-day free trial with no commitment Free plan; no paid tier
Users More than 250,000 customers, per the vendor Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Yes, an open REST API on the Plus, Smart and Komplet packages, not on Basis Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Made in Denmark Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, invoices by email, PDF or online link and as OIOUBL or OIOXML e-invoices, with custom templates on every package; orders, quotes, reminders and subscriptions with Betalingsservice from Plus upwards Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, general ledger, bank integration with all Danish banks, bank reconciliation, accruals, fixed assets and multi-currency on every package; bank workflows and automatic reconciliation suggestions on Smart and Komplet No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, scanned vouchers, voucher requests, a mobile voucher submitter and manual approval on every package; Smart and Komplet add automatic voucher reading, voucher matching, posting suggestions and the Firmakort company card, and Komplet adds approval by up to three approvers Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Yes, suggested VAT codes, VAT statement and VAT reconciliation reports, EU sales listings for SKAT and integrations with year-end tools; registered under the Danish Bookkeeping Act (Denmark) Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll Integrations with external payroll systems on every package; the built-in Løn payroll module is an add-on for accountants and bookkeepers with an administrator module No
Reports and exports Yes, income statement, balance sheet, trial balance, account cards, debtor and creditor balances, sales and purchase statistics and key figures, with import and export of data; budgets from Plus and up to three dimensions on Komplet Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API Yes, an open REST API with OpenAPI documentation on Plus, Smart and Komplet, and more than 200 integrations in the app market Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Phone, Chat, Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Budget123, Rackbeat Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price e-conomic From 249 DKK / month plus VAT Zoho Invoice Free
  • Free trial e-conomic 14-day free trial with no commitment Zoho Invoice Free plan; no paid tier
  • Company size e-conomic Small and mid-sized Zoho Invoice Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting e-conomic Cloud (SaaS) Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features e-conomic No Zoho Invoice Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

e-conomic

Strengths

  • Direct integration with all Danish banks and OIOUBL e-invoicing on every package
  • Free access for the company's accountant or bookkeeper
  • No setup fee and free phone, chat and email support on every package
  • More than 200 integrations through the open API

Limitations

  • Built for Danish accounting rules and banks, with no stated support for other countries
  • The Basis package has no API, quotes, orders or reminders
  • The price depends on the number of postings a year and rises automatically when the limit is exceeded
  • Automatic voucher reading, posting suggestions and bank workflows start at Smart

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

e-conomic

  • Basis From 249 DKK / month Plus VAT, for 1,000 postings a year. Invoicing, general ledger, VAT, bank integration, reconciliation, scanned vouchers and standard reports.
  • Plus From 299 DKK / month Plus VAT, for 1,000 postings a year. Adds orders, quotes, reminders, extended sales functions, budgets, subscriptions with Betalingsservice and the API.
  • Smart From 399 DKK / month Plus VAT, for 1,000 postings a year. Adds the Firmakort company card, automatic voucher reading and matching, posting suggestions and bank and voucher workflows.
  • Komplet From 649 DKK / month Plus VAT, for 1,000 postings a year. Adds up to three accounting dimensions, a holding company subscription, approval by up to three approvers, shared charts of accounts for groups and a dedicated advisory team.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

e-conomic

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

e-conomic https://www.e-conomic.dk · checked against the official source on 2026-09-25

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.