CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

FreshBooks vs. Holded

At a glance

At a glance

FreshBooks

Best for

Best for freelancers and small service businesses that want invoicing-first accounting with time and expense tracking, double-entry books and a simple plan lineup.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Holded

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses in Spain that want invoicing, accounting and tax filing in one system, with room to add payroll, inventory or POS later.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion FreshBooks Holded
Starting price From $23 / month Lite plan at its regular monthly price, for up to five billable clients. From €15 / month plus VAT Plus plan, 1 user and 250 invoices a year. Basic €29, Standard €59, Advanced €99 and Premium €199 per month plus VAT; monthly or annual billing. A limited-time offer halves the first three months. Extra users €10 / month each.
Free trial Free for 30 days 14 days free, no credit card required
Users Not stated More than 900,000 users
API Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a REST API with webhooks, plus a remote MCP server
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Not stated Spain (Visma Group)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, professional invoices that auto-add tracked time and expenses and calculate taxes, plus estimates and proposals Yes, quotes, proformas and invoices from more than 50 templates, multi-currency, recurring invoices, client portal, online payments and payment reminders, with Verifactu in every plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, double-entry accounting with a general ledger and bank reconciliation via bank connection or CSV upload Yes, bank connections with reconciliation rules (1 bank on Plus up to unlimited from Standard), AI transaction categorisation, automatic accounting entries and analytical accounting from Standard
Expenses and receipts Yes, mobile receipt scanning, bank imports and automatic expense categorization Yes, an AI and OCR expense scanner that turns receipts into journal entries, unlimited from Basic, plus recurring purchases
Tax and compliance Yes, sales tax applied to invoice line items, posted to a Taxes Payable account, with tax reports Yes, Verifactu, IRPF tax models, corporate tax and SII submission, and TicketBAI for the Basque Country (Spain)
Payroll Available as a paid add-on at $40 per month plus $6 per user per month Yes, as a paid add-on at €5 per employee per month: payslips with automatic accounting entries and Spanish tax forms 111 and 190
Reports and exports Yes, financial and accounting reports, including profit reports and the general ledger Yes, profit and loss dashboard, cash flow and cash flow scenarios, with advanced reports from Standard
Integrations and API Yes, a JSON API authenticated with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a REST API with webhooks, a remote MCP server, and connections through Zapier and Make
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations PayPal, Stripe, Affirm, Afterpay more entries Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Wix, Amazon, Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, Zapier, Make, Pleo, Dropbox, Google Drive, Sendcloud

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price FreshBooks From $23 / month Holded From €15 / month plus VAT
  • Free trial FreshBooks Free for 30 days Holded 14 days free, no credit card required
  • Support FreshBooks Email helpdesk, Phone Holded Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • AI features FreshBooks No Holded Yes
  • MCP-ready FreshBooks No Holded Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • Invoices automatically pull in tracked time and expenses
  • Double-entry accounting with bank reconciliation and a general ledger
  • JSON API with OAuth2 and more than 100 integrations
  • Unlimited billable clients from the Premium plan

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by billable client count on the lower tiers
  • Payroll is a paid add-on rather than part of the plan

Holded

Strengths

  • Spanish compliance built in: Verifactu in every plan, plus IRPF models, SII and TicketBAI
  • AI transaction categorisation and receipt scanning that learn from corrections
  • Payroll, HR, inventory, manufacturing and POS available as add-on modules in the same system
  • REST API, webhooks and an official MCP server for AI assistants

Limitations

  • Built around Spanish tax rules, so it suits businesses in Spain specifically
  • Plans cap invoices per year and connected banks, not just users
  • No permanent free plan, only a 14-day trial
  • Payroll, HR, inventory and POS cost extra on top of the plan

Plans

Pricing

FreshBooks

  • Lite $23 / month Up to five billable clients; invoicing, expense tracking, estimates, payments and tax reports.
  • Plus $43 / month Up to fifty billable clients; adds proposals, accounting reports, receipt scanning and accountant access.
  • Premium $70 / month Unlimited billable clients; adds project profitability, bill receipt scanning and automated client emails.
  • Select Not stated Custom pricing; adds lower card fees, data migration, two team members, dedicated phone support and removes FreshBooks branding.
Visit site

Holded

  • Plus €15 / month plus VAT 1 user, 250 invoices a year, 1 connected bank, 15 active reconciliation rules. Verifactu included.
  • Basic €29 / month plus VAT 2 users, 1,000 invoices a year, 5 connected banks. Adds unlimited expense scanner, cash flow, project profitability and IRPF tax models.
  • Standard €59 / month plus VAT 4 users, 3,000 invoices a year, unlimited banks. Adds automatic accounting entries, advanced reports, analytical accounting, corporate tax, SII integration and bank remittances.
  • Advanced €99 / month plus VAT 7 users, 10,000 invoices a year. Adds custom user roles and fields and priority support.
  • Premium €199 / month plus VAT 15 users, unlimited invoices, 1,000 recurring invoices, unlimited reconciliation rules and phone support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

FreshBooks

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Holded

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

FreshBooks https://www.freshbooks.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

Holded https://www.holded.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.