CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

FreshBooks vs. sevdesk

At a glance

At a glance

FreshBooks

Best for

Best for freelancers and small service businesses that want invoicing-first accounting with time and expense tracking, double-entry books and a simple plan lineup.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

sevdesk

Best for

Best for German freelancers and small businesses that keep their own books and want e-invoicing, bank sync and ELSTER filing without paying for a plan they have not grown into yet.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion FreshBooks sevdesk
Starting price From $23 / month Lite plan at its regular monthly price, for up to five billable clients. Free for up to 3 invoices per month, otherwise from €11.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly, per month plus VAT: Rechnung €11.90, Buchhaltung €25.90 and Buchhaltung Pro €34.90. Annual billing lowers these to €9.90, €22.90 and €30.90 per month, and a 24-month term lowers them further. sevdesk additionally advertises a promotional discount on top of these rates.
Free trial Free for 30 days 14 days free, no credit card required, alongside a permanently free plan limited to 3 invoices per month
Users Not stated More than 130,000 companies
API Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a REST API, available from the Buchhaltung Pro plan
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Not stated Germany
Invoicing and quotes Yes, professional invoices that auto-add tracked time and expenses and calculate taxes, plus estimates and proposals Yes, quotes and invoices from customisable templates, with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices and payment reminders
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, double-entry accounting with a general ledger and bank reconciliation via bank connection or CSV upload Yes, online banking for more than 4,000 banks with automatic transaction matching, and single or double-entry bookkeeping
Expenses and receipts Yes, mobile receipt scanning, bank imports and automatic expense categorization Yes, AI-assisted receipt capture through the mobile app or by email
Tax and compliance Yes, sales tax applied to invoice line items, posted to a Taxes Payable account, with tax reports Yes, VAT advance return (UStVA), EÜR and P&L filed to ELSTER directly, plus DATEV-compliant and ADDISON exports for the tax adviser (Germany)
Payroll Available as a paid add-on at $40 per month plus $6 per user per month No, sevdesk does not produce payroll or salary statements
Reports and exports Yes, financial and accounting reports, including profit reports and the general ledger Yes, BWA, trial balance lists and a real-time financial dashboard
Integrations and API Yes, a JSON API authenticated with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations Yes, a REST API, from the Buchhaltung Pro plan
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries PayPal, Stripe, Affirm, Afterpay DATEV, ADDISON

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price FreshBooks From $23 / month sevdesk Free for up to 3 invoices per month, otherwise from €11.90 / month plus VAT
  • Free trial FreshBooks Free for 30 days sevdesk 14 days free, no credit card required, alongside a permanently free plan limited to 3 invoices per month
  • Support FreshBooks Email helpdesk, Phone sevdesk Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
  • AI features FreshBooks No sevdesk Yes
  • API FreshBooks Yes, a JSON API with OAuth2, plus more than 100 integrations sevdesk Yes, a REST API, available from the Buchhaltung Pro plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

FreshBooks

Strengths

  • Invoices automatically pull in tracked time and expenses
  • Double-entry accounting with bank reconciliation and a general ledger
  • JSON API with OAuth2 and more than 100 integrations
  • Unlimited billable clients from the Premium plan

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by billable client count on the lower tiers
  • Payroll is a paid add-on rather than part of the plan

sevdesk

Strengths

  • Permanently free plan for up to three invoices a month, no credit card
  • AI-assisted receipt capture and automatic matching against bank transactions
  • UStVA, EÜR and P&L filed to ELSTER directly, with DATEV and ADDISON exports
  • Personal support by live chat, email and phone on the paid plans

Limitations

  • No payroll: salary statements cannot be produced in sevdesk
  • The REST API only comes with the top plan, Buchhaltung Pro
  • Built around German tax rules, ELSTER and DATEV, so it suits German businesses specifically
  • The lowest advertised rates need a 12-month or 24-month commitment

Plans

Pricing

FreshBooks

  • Lite $23 / month Up to five billable clients; invoicing, expense tracking, estimates, payments and tax reports.
  • Plus $43 / month Up to fifty billable clients; adds proposals, accounting reports, receipt scanning and accountant access.
  • Premium $70 / month Unlimited billable clients; adds project profitability, bill receipt scanning and automated client emails.
  • Select Not stated Custom pricing; adds lower card fees, data migration, two team members, dedicated phone support and removes FreshBooks branding.
Visit site

sevdesk

  • Kostenlos Free Permanently free, no credit card. Limited to 3 invoices or e-invoices per month, with unlimited contacts and products.
  • Rechnung €11.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €9.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Unlimited invoicing and e-invoices, templates, payment reminders, tax adviser access.
  • Buchhaltung €25.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €22.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Adds AI receipt capture, online banking, UStVA, EÜR and P&L, cash book.
  • Buchhaltung Pro €34.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €30.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Adds cost centres, the REST API and BWA reporting.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

FreshBooks

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

sevdesk

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

FreshBooks https://www.freshbooks.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

sevdesk https://www.sevdesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-27

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.