CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

GnuCash vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

GnuCash

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses that want to keep their own double-entry books locally, without a subscription or a hosted account.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion GnuCash Zoho Invoice
Starting price Free Free software under the GNU GPL. There is no paid edition, no subscription and no hosted service; the current stable release is 5.16. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial Not stated Free plan; no paid tier
Users Not stated Up to 2 users on the free plan
API No hosted API; official Python bindings wrap parts of the C and C++ API for standalone scripts Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Languages Menus and dialogs in 61 languages; manual and guide in English, French, Portuguese and Spanish Not stated
Hosting Installed locally on GNU/Linux, BSD, Solaris, macOS or Windows Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Made in Developed, maintained, documented and translated by volunteers Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, customer and vendor tracking, jobs, invoicing and bill payment, with tax and billing terms and a budgeting tool Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, double-entry in a checkbook-style register with splits and autofill, reconciliation against a bank statement, scheduled transactions with reminders and accounts in different currencies; import from Quicken QIF and OFX, and German HBCI for statement download, transfers and direct debits No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Income and expense account types categorise cash flow, entered as transactions in the register Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Tax and billing terms are set per customer and vendor; GnuCash handles internationalised dates and currencies Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll Employee payroll is managed through accounts receivable and payable accounts rather than a dedicated payroll module No
Reports and exports Yes, standard and customisable reports including Balance Sheet, Profit and Loss and Portfolio Valuation, with bar, pie and scatter graphs, plus stock and mutual-fund tracking with quotes fetched from the web Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API No hosted API; official Python bindings, SWIG wrappers around parts of the C and C++ API, allow standalone scripts, and data can be kept in SQLite3, MySQL or PostgreSQL Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment On-premise more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Not stated Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Deployment GnuCash On-premise Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Hosting GnuCash Installed locally on GNU/Linux, BSD, Solaris, macOS or Windows Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features GnuCash No Zoho Invoice Yes
  • API GnuCash No hosted API; official Python bindings wrap parts of the C and C++ API for standalone scripts Zoho Invoice Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
  • Invoicing and quotes GnuCash Yes, customer and vendor tracking, jobs, invoicing and bill payment, with tax and billing terms and a budgeting tool Zoho Invoice Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

GnuCash

Strengths

  • Free and open source under the GNU GPL, with no subscription and no account
  • Proper double-entry with a reconcile tool that matches an account against a bank statement
  • The data file stays on your own machine, as XML or in SQLite3, MySQL or PostgreSQL
  • Menus and dialogs translated into 61 languages
  • Small-business side covers customers, vendors, jobs, invoices, bills and budgets

Limitations

  • The SQL back ends are labelled experimental by the project, with reported corner cases that lose data
  • Not designed for several instances working on the same data at the same time
  • The manual and guide exist in four languages while the program has 61
  • Python bindings are not included in the official Windows and macOS packages

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

GnuCash

  • Free $0 GnuCash is free software under the GNU GPL. There is no paid edition, no subscription and no hosted service.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

GnuCash

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

GnuCash https://www.gnucash.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-20

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.