CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Holded vs. Zoho Books

At a glance

At a glance

Holded

Best for

Best for freelancers and small businesses in Spain that want invoicing, accounting and tax filing in one system, with room to add payroll, inventory or POS later.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Books

Best for

Best for growing small businesses, especially those already using Zoho, that want scalable accounting from invoicing and bank reconciliation through inventory, projects and analytics.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Holded Zoho Books
Starting price From €15 / month plus VAT Plus plan, 1 user and 250 invoices a year. Basic €29, Standard €59, Advanced €99 and Premium €199 per month plus VAT; monthly or annual billing. A limited-time offer halves the first three months. Extra users €10 / month each. Free; Standard from $15 / month The Free plan suits small businesses. The Standard plan is $15 / month billed annually ($20 billed monthly) and adds bank feeds, sales-tax tracking and API access. US pricing.
Free trial 14 days free, no credit card required Not stated
Users More than 900,000 users From 1 user on the Free plan up to 15 on Ultimate, by plan
API Yes, a REST API with webhooks, plus a remote MCP server Yes, a REST API from the Standard plan, plus integration with the wider Zoho suite
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Spain (Visma Group) Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, quotes, proformas and invoices from more than 50 templates, multi-currency, recurring invoices, client portal, online payments and payment reminders, with Verifactu in every plan Yes, professional invoices and quotes with online payment links and recurring invoices; progress invoicing from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, bank connections with reconciliation rules (1 bank on Plus up to unlimited from Standard), AI transaction categorisation, automatic accounting entries and analytical accounting from Standard Yes, bank reconciliation and transaction categorization, with bank feeds from the Standard plan
Expenses and receipts Yes, an AI and OCR expense scanner that turns receipts into journal entries, unlimited from Basic, plus recurring purchases Yes, expense tracking with receipt autoscan and mileage tracking
Tax and compliance Yes, Verifactu, IRPF tax models, corporate tax and SII submission, and TicketBAI for the Basque Country (Spain) Yes, sales and use tax tracking, 1099 and W-9 management and an audit trail
Payroll Yes, as a paid add-on at €5 per employee per month: payslips with automatic accounting entries and Spanish tax forms 111 and 190 Not built in. Zoho Payroll is a separate product, and its integration mirrors every pay run in Zoho Books, posting salary and tax expenses into the accounts mapped for them
Reports and exports Yes, profit and loss dashboard, cash flow and cash flow scenarios, with advanced reports from Standard Yes, 50-plus reports including profit and loss and balance sheet, with advanced analytics on the Ultimate plan
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API with webhooks, a remote MCP server, and connections through Zapier and Make Yes, a REST API available from the Standard plan; integrates with Zoho CRM, Inventory and Expense
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding Not stated
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Shopify, WooCommerce, PrestaShop, Wix, Amazon, Stripe, PayPal, Square, GoCardless, Zapier, Make, Pleo, Dropbox, Google Drive, Sendcloud Zoho CRM, Zoho Inventory, Zoho Expense, Zoho Payroll, Shopify

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Holded From €15 / month plus VAT Zoho Books Free; Standard from $15 / month
  • AI features Holded Yes Zoho Books No
  • MCP-ready Holded Yes Zoho Books No
  • Users Holded More than 900,000 users Zoho Books From 1 user on the Free plan up to 15 on Ultimate, by plan
  • API Holded Yes, a REST API with webhooks, plus a remote MCP server Zoho Books Yes, a REST API from the Standard plan, plus integration with the wider Zoho suite

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Holded

Strengths

  • Spanish compliance built in: Verifactu in every plan, plus IRPF models, SII and TicketBAI
  • AI transaction categorisation and receipt scanning that learn from corrections
  • Payroll, HR, inventory, manufacturing and POS available as add-on modules in the same system
  • REST API, webhooks and an official MCP server for AI assistants

Limitations

  • Built around Spanish tax rules, so it suits businesses in Spain specifically
  • Plans cap invoices per year and connected banks, not just users
  • No permanent free plan, only a 14-day trial
  • Payroll, HR, inventory and POS cost extra on top of the plan

Zoho Books

Strengths

  • Free plan with invoicing, bank reconciliation, 1099/W-9 handling and 50-plus reports
  • Six plans scaling to multi-currency, projects, inventory and advanced analytics
  • Sales and use tax tracking, 1099/W-9 management and an audit trail
  • REST API and tight integration with the wider Zoho suite

Limitations

  • API access, bank feeds and sales-tax tracking begin on the paid Standard plan
  • The six plan tiers can make it hard to pick the right one

Plans

Pricing

Holded

  • Plus €15 / month plus VAT 1 user, 250 invoices a year, 1 connected bank, 15 active reconciliation rules. Verifactu included.
  • Basic €29 / month plus VAT 2 users, 1,000 invoices a year, 5 connected banks. Adds unlimited expense scanner, cash flow, project profitability and IRPF tax models.
  • Standard €59 / month plus VAT 4 users, 3,000 invoices a year, unlimited banks. Adds automatic accounting entries, advanced reports, analytical accounting, corporate tax, SII integration and bank remittances.
  • Advanced €99 / month plus VAT 7 users, 10,000 invoices a year. Adds custom user roles and fields and priority support.
  • Premium €199 / month plus VAT 15 users, unlimited invoices, 1,000 recurring invoices, unlimited reconciliation rules and phone support.
Visit site

Zoho Books

  • Free $0 For small businesses: invoices, quotes, expenses, receipt autoscan, bank reconciliation, 1099 and W-9 handling and 50-plus reports; 1 user plus 1 accountant.
  • Standard $15 / month Billed annually ($20 billed monthly). Adds bank feeds, sales and use tax tracking, e-file 1099, API access and custom reports; 3 users.
  • Professional $40 / month Billed annually ($50 billed monthly). Adds sales and purchase orders, multi-currency, timesheet billing, project profitability and inventory; 5 users.
  • Premium $60 / month Billed annually ($70 billed monthly). Adds revenue recognition, fixed assets, budgets, cashflow forecasting and a vendor portal; 10 users.
  • Elite $120 / month Billed annually ($150 billed monthly). Adds advanced inventory with warehouses, batch and serial tracking and Shopify; 10 users.
  • Ultimate $240 / month Billed annually ($275 billed monthly). Adds advanced analytics with pre-built dashboards; 15 users.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Holded

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Books

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Holded https://www.holded.com · no check date recorded yet

Zoho Books https://www.zoho.com/us/books/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.