CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Lexware Office vs. Sage Accounting

At a glance

At a glance

Lexware Office

Best for

Best for German freelancers and small businesses that want quotes, e-invoices, bookkeeping and the VAT return in one place, with a direct DATEV handover to the tax adviser.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Sage Accounting

Best for

Best for small businesses that want sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan, scaling up to quotes, purchase invoices, stock and multi-currency.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Lexware Office Sage Accounting
Starting price From €7.90 / month plus VAT Four versions, each per month plus VAT and cancellable monthly: S €7.90, M €12.90, L €21.90 and XL €32.90. Payroll (Lohn & Gehalt) is a separate add-on at €12.90 / month plus VAT that combines with any version. A 50% discount for the first three months is currently advertised. Not stated
Free trial 30 days free, with the full XL feature set Not stated
Users Over 450,000 customers Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus
API Yes, the Lexware Office Public API (REST), available from version XL at no extra cost Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, quotes, invoices, delivery notes and credit notes, with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoicing included Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, multibanking with automatic matching proposals for bank transactions, and GoBD-compliant records Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement
Expenses and receipts Yes, receipt capture from a phone photo or an email import, with automatic categorisation Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT advance return (UStVA) filed from the software, EÜR and year-end preparation, plus a direct DATEV handover to the tax adviser (Germany) Yes, VAT handling on every plan
Payroll Yes, as a paid add-on (Lohn & Gehalt) at €12.90 / month plus VAT, combinable with any version Not part of the Accounting plans; Sage Payroll is a separate subscription, and running a pay run can post the salary, HMRC and pension journals into Accounting automatically when both are linked
Reports and exports Yes, a dashboard with account balances and open invoices, plus P&L (GuV) and BWA reports Yes, reports and insight on every plan; cash flow forecasts from the Standard plan
Integrations and API Yes, the Lexware Office Public API (REST), from version XL at no extra cost Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Community forum
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries DATEV, PayPal, Shopify, Amazon Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Users Lexware Office Over 450,000 customers Sage Accounting Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus
  • API Lexware Office Yes, the Lexware Office Public API (REST), available from version XL at no extra cost Sage Accounting Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
  • Invoicing and quotes Lexware Office Yes, quotes, invoices, delivery notes and credit notes, with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoicing included Sage Accounting Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Lexware Office Yes, multibanking with automatic matching proposals for bank transactions, and GoBD-compliant records Sage Accounting Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement
  • Expenses and receipts Lexware Office Yes, receipt capture from a phone photo or an email import, with automatic categorisation Sage Accounting Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Lexware Office

Strengths

  • XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoicing included in the product
  • Direct DATEV handover, so the tax adviser works on the same data
  • UStVA and EÜR prepared and filed from the software
  • Public REST API at no extra cost once you are on version XL

Limitations

  • Bookkeeping, EÜR and VAT only start in version L, and the API only in XL
  • Payroll is a paid add-on rather than part of any version
  • Built around German tax rules, ELSTER and DATEV, so it suits German businesses specifically

Sage Accounting

Strengths

  • Sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan
  • Bank rules and receipt capture matched to bank transactions
  • Documented API, Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app for integrations
  • Plus adds stock items, multi-currency and financial budgets

Limitations

  • Quotes, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts and multi-user access start on the Standard plan
  • Stock items and multi-currency are reserved for the Plus plan

Plans

Pricing

Lexware Office

  • S €7.90 / month plus VAT Receipt capture and receipt archive.
  • M €12.90 / month plus VAT Adds quotes, invoices and e-invoices, and dunning.
  • L €21.90 / month plus VAT Adds bookkeeping, EÜR and VAT (UStVA).
  • XL €32.90 / month plus VAT Adds EU invoices, part invoices and the Public API.
  • Lohn & Gehalt (add-on) €12.90 / month plus VAT Payroll add-on, combinable with any version.
Visit site

Sage Accounting

  • Start Not stated Entry plan for businesses starting out: sales invoicing, VAT handling, connecting your bank, reports and insight and the mobile app; single user.
  • Standard Not stated Adds quotes and estimates, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts, credit notes, delivery notes, statements, remittance advice and multi-user access.
  • Plus Not stated Adds stock items, multi-currency invoicing and banking and financial budgets.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Lexware Office

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Sage Accounting

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Lexware Office https://www.lexware.de · checked against the official source on 2026-08-27

Sage Accounting https://www.sage.com/en-gb/sage-business-cloud/sage-accounting/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-20

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.