CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Maxio vs. Stampli

At a glance

At a glance

Maxio

Best for

Best for B2B SaaS and AI companies whose billing has outgrown flat monthly plans and whose revenue has to be recognised across periods.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Stampli

Best for

Best for finance teams that want supplier invoices automated on top of their existing ERP, with the approval trail kept on the invoice.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Maxio Stampli
Starting price From $599 / month The Grow plan covers up to $100,000 in monthly billings; above that, the Scale plan is quoted by sales. Agreements are paid annually by default, with monthly and quarterly payment offered as a premium option and discounts for multi-year terms. User seats are unlimited on both plans, and modules such as expense amortization, multi-entity support and EU hosting are priced as add-ons. Price on request Stampli does not publish amounts or tiers. The pricing page lists what is included, such as unlimited entities and locations, unlimited vendors, purchase order matching and a dedicated customer success manager, and directs prospects to request a quote.
Users Not stated More than 1,900 customers covering 15,000 entities
API Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox environment Yes, pre-built cloud-to-cloud API integrations, plus a Bridge connector for on-premises ERP systems
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with EU hosting available as an add-on Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, automated invoicing for recurring, usage-based and event-triggered billing, with metering and rating built in and a no-code CPQ module for configuring offers and prices Incoming supplier invoices only: AI capture, coding, purchase order matching and approval routing, with every question and decision attached to the invoice. Customer invoicing and accounts receivable are not part of the platform
Bookkeeping and bank feeds No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; invoices and subscription payments sync into Oracle NetSuite, Sage and QuickBooks No general ledger of its own; invoices, coding and payments sync with more than 70 ERP systems including Oracle NetSuite and Fusion, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics 365, SAP S/4HANA and ECC, QuickBooks and Acumatica
Expenses and receipts No expense claims or receipt capture; expense amortization is available as a paid add-on module Yes, expense management with corporate cards and employee reimbursements, set up to control spend before the transaction happens
Tax and compliance Sales tax is handled through the Avalara integration; revenue recognition follows GAAP and IFRS with recognition rules applied across the contract base Vendor onboarding collects the required tax, insurance, contract and licensing documents, monitors expiry dates, sends reminders and gates invoices or payments when a vendor no longer meets the requirements. Every invoice carries a complete audit trail of requests, approvals, field changes, messages and payments for a financial audit, and the platform is AICPA SOC certified and GDPR validated. There is no tax determination or filing engine of its own; the coding syncs to the ERP
Payroll No payroll No payroll; the platform covers accounts payable, procurement, vendor management, payments and expenses
Reports and exports Yes, more than 30 one-click reports including ARR summaries, A/R aging, contract details, roll forwards and DSO, with custom dashboards and audit trails by customer, contract, transaction or line item Yes, Stampli Deep Finance analyses the payables and spend data collected in the platform
Integrations and API Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox, plus 85 or more native integrations and around 6,000 more through Zapier Yes, pre-built API integrations for cloud ERPs and a Bridge connector for on-premises systems, supporting the ERP's native functionality rather than a reduced subset
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Oracle NetSuite, Sage, QuickBooks, Xero, Salesforce, HubSpot, Avalara, Stripe, Braintree, Authorize.net, Zapier Oracle NetSuite, Oracle Fusion, Sage Intacct, Microsoft Dynamics 365, SAP S/4HANA, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Acumatica, Dealertrack

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Maxio From $599 / month Stampli Price on request
  • Hosting Maxio Cloud (SaaS), with EU hosting available as an add-on Stampli Cloud (SaaS)
  • AI features Maxio No Stampli Yes
  • API Maxio Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox environment Stampli Yes, pre-built cloud-to-cloud API integrations, plus a Bridge connector for on-premises ERP systems
  • Invoicing and quotes Maxio Yes, automated invoicing for recurring, usage-based and event-triggered billing, with metering and rating built in and a no-code CPQ module for configuring offers and prices Stampli Incoming supplier invoices only: AI capture, coding, purchase order matching and approval routing, with every question and decision attached to the invoice. Customer invoicing and accounts receivable are not part of the platform

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Maxio

Strengths

  • Billing, revenue recognition and SaaS metrics run off one record
  • Usage-based billing with metering and rating included, not bolted on
  • Unlimited user seats on every plan
  • Documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox

Limitations

  • No general ledger of its own, so a separate accounting system is still needed
  • Priced on monthly billing volume rather than seats, so the bill grows with revenue
  • Entry price of $599 per month is steep for an early-stage product
  • Multi-entity support, expense amortization and EU hosting cost extra

Stampli

Strengths

  • Approval discussion, questions and decisions stay attached to the invoice
  • AI handles the bulk of coding, routing and matching across 2,700 or more ERP fields
  • More than 70 ERP integrations, including on-premises systems via a Bridge connector
  • Procurement, vendor management, payments and expenses sit on the same platform

Limitations

  • No published pricing; every deal is quoted
  • No general ledger, so it supplements rather than replaces accounting software
  • Covers payables only, with no customer invoicing or accounts receivable

Plans

Pricing

Maxio

  • Grow $599 / month For up to $100,000 in monthly billings. Usage-based billing, subscription management, recurring billing, automated invoicing, collections and dunning, 20 or more payment gateways, one-click financial reports and standard A/R management and revenue recognition.
  • Scale Not stated Quoted by sales, for more than $100,000 in monthly billings. Everything in Grow plus advanced A/R management and revenue recognition and premium financial reporting such as advanced revenue summary, A/R aging, contract details and roll forwards.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Maxio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Stampli

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Maxio https://www.maxio.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-19

Stampli https://www.stampli.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.