Maxio
Billing, revenue recognition and SaaS metrics for subscription and usage-based B2B software companies.
- Starting price
- From $599 / month
- API
- Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox environment
- Hosting
- Cloud (SaaS), with EU hosting available as an add-on
Overview
Maxio is a financial operations platform for B2B SaaS and AI companies, built around recurring, usage-based and event-triggered billing on one record. Metering, rating and price configuration sit in the product itself, so a usage plan is invoiced without a spreadsheet step. On top of the billing engine come revenue recognition against GAAP and IFRS, receivables management with automated dunning, and more than 30 one-click reports. Maxio keeps no general ledger of its own: invoices and payments sync into NetSuite, Sage and QuickBooks, and pricing follows monthly billing volume.
Our take
Maxio is the choice when the billing model is the reason finance cannot close the books on time: metered consumption, mid-term plan changes, contracts whose revenue has to be spread across periods. Because it charges on invoicing volume rather than seats, a company with few customers and high invoice values pays more than the size of its finance team would suggest, and the $599 floor makes it an expensive first billing system for an early-stage product. It is also not a bookkeeping system, so the ledger stays where it is and there is one more platform to reconcile against it. The payoff is a single record behind billing, revenue and SaaS metrics, which is what makes the board reporting and the audit trail come out of the same place.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | From $599 / month The Grow plan covers up to $100,000 in monthly billings; above that, the Scale plan is quoted by sales. Agreements are paid annually by default, with monthly and quarterly payment offered as a premium option and discounts for multi-year terms. User seats are unlimited on both plans, and modules such as expense amortization, multi-entity support and EU hosting are priced as add-ons. |
| API | Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox environment |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS), with EU hosting available as an add-on |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Invoicing and quotes
- Yes, automated invoicing for recurring, usage-based and event-triggered billing, with metering and rating built in and a no-code CPQ module for configuring offers and prices
- Bookkeeping and bank feeds
- No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; invoices and subscription payments sync into Oracle NetSuite, Sage and QuickBooks
- Expenses and receipts
- No expense claims or receipt capture; expense amortization is available as a paid add-on module
- Tax and compliance
- Sales tax is handled through the Avalara integration; revenue recognition follows GAAP and IFRS with recognition rules applied across the contract base
- Payroll
- No payroll
- Reports and exports
- Yes, more than 30 one-click reports including ARR summaries, A/R aging, contract details, roll forwards and DSO, with custom dashboards and audit trails by customer, contract, transaction or line item
- Integrations and API
- Yes, documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox, plus 85 or more native integrations and around 6,000 more through Zapier
Integrations
- Oracle NetSuite
- Sage
- QuickBooks
- Xero
- Salesforce
- HubSpot
- Avalara
- Stripe
- Braintree
- Authorize.net
- Zapier
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Company size
-
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Billing, revenue recognition and SaaS metrics run off one record
- Usage-based billing with metering and rating included, not bolted on
- Unlimited user seats on every plan
- Documented APIs with SDKs, webhooks and a sandbox
Limitations
- No general ledger of its own, so a separate accounting system is still needed
- Priced on monthly billing volume rather than seats, so the bill grows with revenue
- Entry price of $599 per month is steep for an early-stage product
- Multi-entity support, expense amortization and EU hosting cost extra
Pricing
-
Grow
$599 / month
For up to $100,000 in monthly billings. Usage-based billing, subscription management, recurring billing, automated invoicing, collections and dunning, 20 or more payment gateways, one-click financial reports and standard A/R management and revenue recognition.
-
Scale
Not stated
Quoted by sales, for more than $100,000 in monthly billings. Everything in Grow plus advanced A/R management and revenue recognition and premium financial reporting such as advanced revenue summary, A/R aging, contract details and roll forwards.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
FAQ
- Does Maxio replace accounting software?
- No. Maxio has no general ledger of its own. It bills, manages receivables and recognises revenue, then syncs invoices and subscription payments into NetSuite, Sage or QuickBooks.
- How is Maxio priced?
- By monthly billing volume, not per user. The Grow plan is $599 per month for up to $100,000 in monthly billings; above that, Scale is quoted by sales. User seats are unlimited on both.
- Can Maxio handle usage-based pricing?
- Yes. Metering, rating and price management are part of the platform, alongside recurring and event-triggered billing, so consumption is invoiced without a manual step.
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
How we check reviews
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at Maxio
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Maxio