CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Moneybird vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

Moneybird

Best for

Best for Dutch freelancers and small businesses that keep their own books and want bank processing, Peppol e-invoicing and the VAT return in one tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Moneybird Zoho Invoice
Starting price From €3 / month plus VAT Compact plan, billed yearly (€4 / month billed monthly), 1 user, 5 processed bank transactions a month and no linked bank account. Start €15, Growth €29 and Complete €41 per month billed yearly (€18, €35 and €49 billed monthly). Online payment methods and bank connections carry per-transaction fees. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial 60 days free with unlimited access to the Complete plan Free plan; no paid tier
Users More than 300,000 freelancers and SMEs Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Yes, an API on every plan Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Made in Netherlands Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, branded invoices and quotes, recurring invoices and subscriptions (not on Compact), automatic reminders, online payment by iDEAL, SEPA direct debit, card, Apple Pay, Google Pay and Bancontact, and sending via Peppol Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, links to more than 1,700 European banks (5 on Growth, unlimited on Complete) with automatic transaction processing, ledger accounts, and assets and depreciation No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, smart document processing and receipt scanning in the mobile app, UBL invoices and Peppol receiving, and paying purchase invoices from Moneybird Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT overview, ICP declaration and an electronic VAT return filed directly with the tax authorities, the return from the Start plan (Netherlands) Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll Not built in. Payroll runs in separate salary software, and its payroll journal entries are booked in Moneybird by hand or posted automatically through an integration with Employes, HoorayHR or Nmbrs No
Reports and exports Yes, reports and a dashboard on every plan Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API Yes, an API and connections to other tools on every plan Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Shopify, WooCommerce, Magento 2, PrestaShop, Lightspeed, Bol.com, Mollie, Stripe, PayPal, MultiSafepay, SumUp, Zettle, Employes, HoorayHR, Nmbrs, TimeChimp, Simplicate, Teamleader, Picqer Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Moneybird From €3 / month plus VAT Zoho Invoice Free
  • Free trial Moneybird 60 days free with unlimited access to the Complete plan Zoho Invoice Free plan; no paid tier
  • Hosting Moneybird Cloud (SaaS) Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features Moneybird No Zoho Invoice Yes
  • Users Moneybird More than 300,000 freelancers and SMEs Zoho Invoice Up to 2 users on the free plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Moneybird

Strengths

  • 60-day trial with full access to the top plan
  • E-invoices sent and received over Peppol, and UBL invoices processed, on every plan
  • Electronic VAT return filed directly from the software
  • API and accountant access included on every plan

Limitations

  • Plans are capped by processed bank transactions per month, not just users
  • The Compact plan has no linked bank account and no electronic VAT return
  • Online payment methods and bank connections carry per-transaction fees on top of the plan

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

Moneybird

  • Compact €3 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€4 / month billed monthly). 1 user, 5 processed bank transactions a month, no linked bank account, 1 sales invoice, 3 smart document scans. No recurring invoices and no electronic VAT return.
  • Start €15 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€18 / month billed monthly). 1 user, 20 processed bank transactions a month imported manually, unlimited sales invoices, electronic VAT return.
  • Growth €29 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€35 / month billed monthly). 5 users, 5 linked bank accounts, 50 processed bank transactions a month.
  • Complete €41 / month plus VAT Billed yearly (€49 / month billed monthly). Unlimited users, linked bank accounts and processed transactions.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Moneybird

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Moneybird https://www.moneybird.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-25

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.