CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Moss vs. Spendesk

At a glance

At a glance

Moss

Best for

Best for finance teams in the UK, Germany, Austria or the Netherlands that want cards, reimbursements and supplier invoices in one place without paying per user.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Spendesk

Best for

Best for European finance teams that want cards, expense claims and supplier invoices in one platform without paying per user.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Moss Spendesk
Starting price Free plan; paid plans on request Moss publishes no list price for its paid plans. It charges a single platform fee based on the modules chosen, plus variable transaction fees on card transactions, invoices and reimbursements, and states there is no per-user charge regardless of how many users there are. Price on request The pricing page carries no amounts at all and asks for contact instead. What is quoted is a fixed monthly subscription plus variable fees on transaction volume, with the modules chosen deciding the figure rather than the number of users.
Free trial Free plan for up to 3 users with unlimited cards and up to 20 invoices a month, on a debit-funded Moss wallet Not stated
Users More than 7,000 companies, per the vendor More than 5,000 companies, per the vendor
API Yes, a public REST API (v1) using OAuth 2.0 client credentials Yes, a public API documented at developer.spendesk.com, plus an official read-only MCP connector
Hosting Cloud; the vendor states the product is developed and hosted in Germany Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Germany, per the vendor Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Incoming supplier invoices only, through the Accounts Payable module, which the vendor describes as smart invoice processing with approval flows. Customer invoicing and quotes are not among the listed features Incoming supplier invoices only, through the Accounts Payable module: invoices are collected, matched, routed for approval and paid, with Procurement covering the purchase request and order beforehand. Customer invoicing and accounts receivable are not among the listed modules
Bookkeeping and bank feeds No general ledger of its own. Transactions, receipts and accounting attributes export to connected systems, and the vendor lists more than twenty accounting and ERP integrations including DATEV, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Exact Online, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, QuickBooks Online, Sage 50, Sage 200, SAP Business One and Odoo No general ledger of its own; transactions, receipts and invoices export automatically to Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, SAP and DATEV
Expenses and receipts Yes, physical and virtual corporate cards with built-in controls and real-time tracking, automated receipt capture, digitised employee reimbursements, budgets and custom approval workflows, with AI-powered accounting that codes expenses automatically Yes, unlimited virtual cards and free physical cards with per-card limits and no monthly card fee, expense claims, and receipt capture from the iOS and Android app
Tax and compliance VAT rates, account codes and suppliers are auto-filled by rules and AI during pre-accounting, OCR splits a receipt into line items and by VAT rate, and the vendor states records are GoBD-certified for German digital bookkeeping requirements. No tax return or filing of its own is listed; that stays with the connected accounting system VAT support rather than filing: Smart OCR reads merchant, date, amount and VAT from each receipt, the original image is kept in an encrypted, audit-ready archive next to the extracted fields, and the reconciled data syncs to Xero, QuickBooks and NetSuite for the VAT return itself
Payroll No payroll module. Moss connects to HR systems instead, naming Personio, Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, Payfit, BambooHR, HiBob, Deel and Factorial, but pay runs happen elsewhere No payroll module; the platform covers company cards, expense claims, accounts payable, procurement and budgets, with HR tools connected through integrations
Reports and exports Yes, budget management and real-time spend tracking across the company, with Advanced Controlling available as a paid add-on Yes, integrated budgeting and spend visibility across several entities, plus Spendesk AI Connect for querying spend data, building reports and checking budget variance in plain language through an AI assistant
Integrations and API Yes, a public REST API at developers.getmoss.com, version v1, authenticated with OAuth 2.0 client credentials exchanged for bearer tokens. It covers expenses including card transactions, invoices and reimbursements, plus accounting attributes and dimensions, users and suppliers, with offset pagination and published rate limits Yes, a public API documented at developer.spendesk.com for partner integrations and customer automation, plus an official read-only MCP connector exposing wallet balances, payables, settlements, purchase orders, suppliers, users, cost centres and expense categories
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries DATEV, Xero, Oracle NetSuite, Exact Online, Microsoft Dynamics 365 Business Central, QuickBooks Online, Sage 50, Sage 200, SAP Business One, Odoo, Lexware, Personio, Workday, SAP SuccessFactors, BambooHR, HiBob, Deel, Slack, Okta, TravelPerk Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite, SAP, DATEV, Slack, TravelPerk

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Moss Free plan; paid plans on request Spendesk Price on request
  • Hosting Moss Cloud; the vendor states the product is developed and hosted in Germany Spendesk Cloud (SaaS)
  • MCP-ready Moss No Spendesk Yes
  • Users Moss More than 7,000 companies, per the vendor Spendesk More than 5,000 companies, per the vendor
  • API Moss Yes, a public REST API (v1) using OAuth 2.0 client credentials Spendesk Yes, a public API documented at developer.spendesk.com, plus an official read-only MCP connector

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Moss

Strengths

  • Single platform fee with no per-user charge, so adding cardholders does not raise the price
  • Free plan for up to 3 users with unlimited cards
  • More than twenty accounting and ERP integrations, including DATEV for the German market
  • Documented public REST API with OAuth 2.0
  • OCR pre-accounting that splits receipts by line item and VAT rate, on GoBD-certified digital records
  • Developed and hosted in Germany, per the vendor

Limitations

  • No published price for the paid plans; the platform fee and transaction fees are quoted
  • Available only to businesses in the UK, Germany, Austria and the Netherlands
  • No general ledger and no customer invoicing, so it sits alongside an accounting system rather than replacing one
  • The free plan caps out at 3 users, 20 invoices a month and a debit-funded wallet
  • Advanced Controlling, Procurement, ERP integrations and AI-powered accounting are priced as add-ons

Spendesk

Strengths

  • Cards, expense claims, accounts payable, procurement and budgets in one platform
  • No per-user charge, so cards and access can be given to the whole company
  • Unlimited virtual cards, and physical cards with no order or monthly fee
  • Exports to DATEV alongside Sage, Xero, QuickBooks, NetSuite and SAP, which matters in the German-speaking market
  • Official MCP connector is read-only by design, so an assistant cannot change records

Limitations

  • No public pricing at all; every plan is quoted, so the cost cannot be compared before contact
  • Variable fees on card purchases, invoice payments and expense claims come on top of the fixed monthly fee
  • Much of the platform sits in paid add-ons rather than the Foundations base plan
  • Not a general ledger; a separate accounting system is still needed
  • No customer invoicing or accounts receivable
  • Coverage is Europe-centred, at more than 35 countries

Plans

Pricing

Moss

  • Free €0 Up to 3 users with unlimited cards and up to 20 invoices per month. Customisable approval and verification steps, and a Moss wallet on debit funding only.
  • Paid Not stated Quoted. A single platform fee based on the modules chosen (Corporate Cards, Employee Reimbursements, Accounts Payable) plus variable transaction fees, with unlimited users and cards, advanced approval flows and budget controls, accounting and HR integrations, 1:1 onboarding and a choice of debit or credit funding. Advanced Controlling, Procurement, ERP integrations and AI-powered accounting are add-ons.
Visit site

Spendesk

  • Foundations Not stated The base plan, included with every package. Priced on request as a fixed monthly subscription plus variable fees on transaction volume, with unlimited users and free physical cards.
  • Add-ons Not stated Priced on request. Procurement, Accounts Payable, advanced workflows and policies, multi-entity management, HR and ERP integrations and AI-based automation, each added to the base plan.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Moss

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Spendesk

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Moss https://www.getmoss.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

Spendesk https://www.spendesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-08

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.