Best for
Best for Australian and New Zealand small businesses that want cloud accounting with GST, BAS and payroll built in, and the option of a desktop AccountRight plan.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Accounting & Invoicing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for Australian and New Zealand small businesses that want cloud accounting with GST, BAS and payroll built in, and the option of a desktop AccountRight plan.
Best for
Best for small businesses that want sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan, scaling up to quotes, purchase invoices, stock and multi-currency.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | MYOB | Sage Accounting |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From AUD 99 / year Solo plan at its regular annual price, for sole traders, in the mobile app only. Business plans start at AUD 315 / year for Business Lite. | Not stated |
| Free trial | Free for 14 days on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus | Not stated |
| Users | Not stated | Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus |
| API | Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0 | Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS); AccountRight Plus also runs on the desktop | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Made in | Australia | Not stated |
| Invoicing and quotes | Yes, unlimited invoices and quotes on every plan | Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | Yes, bank feeds and reconciliation, two accounts on the entry plans and unlimited on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus | Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement |
| Expenses and receipts | Yes, bills and expenses, with receipt scanning and storage: built into the Solo app and available through the MYOB Assist app on the Business plans | Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan |
| Tax and compliance | Yes, GST tracking on every plan and full GST and BAS on the business plans, with Single Touch Payroll for payroll reporting | Yes, VAT handling on every plan |
| Payroll | Included on AccountRight Plus; a per-employee add-on on Business Lite and Business Pro; also sold as a standalone Payroll Only plan | Not part of the Accounting plans; Sage Payroll is a separate subscription, and running a pay run can post the salary, HMRC and pension journals into Accounting automatically when both are linked |
| Reports and exports | Yes, from simple summaries on Solo to comprehensive reporting on AccountRight Plus | Yes, reports and insight on every plan; cash flow forecasts from the Standard plan |
| Integrations and API | Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0 | Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app |
| AI features | stated Yes | No |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum | Community forum |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | Not stated | Zapier |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
MYOB
Strengths
Limitations
Sage Accounting
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
MYOB
Sage Accounting
What users say
MYOB
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Sage Accounting
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
MYOB https://www.myob.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-19
Sage Accounting https://www.sage.com/en-gb/sage-business-cloud/sage-accounting/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-20
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.