CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Pennylane vs. Sage Accounting

At a glance

At a glance

Pennylane

Best for

Best for French companies that want invoicing, supplier purchases, a business account and their accounting firm working on one shared set of data.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Sage Accounting

Best for

Best for small businesses that want sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan, scaling up to quotes, purchase invoices, stock and multi-currency.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Pennylane Sage Accounting
Starting price Free for micro-entrepreneurs, otherwise from €7 / month excluding VAT Per user and month excluding VAT, no commitment: Starter €7, Basique €14, Essentiel €24 and Premium €79. Companies invited by their accounting firm use the free Collaboratif plan, and micro-entrepreneurs have a free plan of their own. All plans cover up to 1,200 invoices a year. Not stated
Free trial 15 days free, no commitment Not stated
Users Not stated Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus
API Yes, a public Company API with a sandbox environment, available from the Essentiel plan Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Invoicing and quotes Yes, quotes with e-signature, invoices, part invoices, recurring invoices and subscriptions with automatic reminders, plus electronic invoicing for the French mandate Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, bank synchronisation with automatic categorisation, and a full accounting module with rule-based automatic entries in the Premium plan Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement
Expenses and receipts Yes, supplier invoices centralised with approval workflows and payment from the platform, plus expense reports and mileage allowances Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan
Tax and compliance Yes, tax filing management and year-end closing tools in the Premium plan, built around French accounting rules Yes, VAT handling on every plan
Payroll No payroll of its own. Payroll stays in a connected tool, with partner integrations for the French payroll platforms PayFit and Silae Not part of the Accounting plans; Sage Payroll is a separate subscription, and running a pay run can post the salary, HMRC and pension journals into Accounting automatically when both are linked
Reports and exports Yes, real-time cash flow monitoring and forecasting, with custom dashboards and accounting reports in the Premium plan Yes, reports and insight on every plan; cash flow forecasts from the Standard plan
Integrations and API Yes, a public Company API with a sandbox environment, from the Essentiel plan Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Chat, Phone, Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Qonto, Stripe, Shopify, PayFit, Silae Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Support Pennylane Chat, Phone, Community forum Sage Accounting Community forum
  • API Pennylane Yes, a public Company API with a sandbox environment, available from the Essentiel plan Sage Accounting Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app
  • Invoicing and quotes Pennylane Yes, quotes with e-signature, invoices, part invoices, recurring invoices and subscriptions with automatic reminders, plus electronic invoicing for the French mandate Sage Accounting Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan
  • Bookkeeping and bank feeds Pennylane Yes, bank synchronisation with automatic categorisation, and a full accounting module with rule-based automatic entries in the Premium plan Sage Accounting Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement
  • Expenses and receipts Pennylane Yes, supplier invoices centralised with approval workflows and payment from the platform, plus expense reports and mileage allowances Sage Accounting Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Pennylane

Strengths

  • Built to be shared with the accounting firm, which works on the same data
  • Free Collaboratif plan for companies invited by their accounting firm
  • Electronic invoicing for the French mandate included at no extra cost
  • Business account with physical and virtual Mastercards inside the platform

Limitations

  • Shaped around French accounting rules and a French business account
  • The accounting module and tax filing only arrive in the Premium plan, which is a large step up in price
  • The public API starts at the Essentiel plan
  • Plans are priced per user, so a larger finance team multiplies the cost

Sage Accounting

Strengths

  • Sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan
  • Bank rules and receipt capture matched to bank transactions
  • Documented API, Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app for integrations
  • Plus adds stock items, multi-currency and financial budgets

Limitations

  • Quotes, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts and multi-user access start on the Standard plan
  • Stock items and multi-currency are reserved for the Plus plan

Plans

Pricing

Pennylane

  • Free (micro-entrepreneurs) Free For micro-enterprises, 1 user. Invoice creation and reception, supplier centralisation, mobile app, up to 1,200 invoices a year.
  • Starter €7 / month excluding VAT Per user. Business account with virtual and physical cards, invoice management, supplier payment, payment links, bank synchronisation.
  • Basique €14 / month excluding VAT Per user. Adds part and advance invoices, delivery notes and purchase orders, supplier management and supplier invoice payment.
  • Essentiel €24 / month excluding VAT Per user. Adds automated reminders, quote e-signature, recurring invoices, expense management, automatic categorisation, cash flow forecasting and API access.
  • Premium €79 / month excluding VAT Per user. Adds the accounting module, validation workflows, custom dashboards, accounting reports, rule-based automatic entries, tax filing management and year-end closing.
Visit site

Sage Accounting

  • Start Not stated Entry plan for businesses starting out: sales invoicing, VAT handling, connecting your bank, reports and insight and the mobile app; single user.
  • Standard Not stated Adds quotes and estimates, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts, credit notes, delivery notes, statements, remittance advice and multi-user access.
  • Plus Not stated Adds stock items, multi-currency invoicing and banking and financial budgets.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Pennylane

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Sage Accounting

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Pennylane https://www.pennylane.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-27

Sage Accounting https://www.sage.com/en-gb/sage-business-cloud/sage-accounting/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-20

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.