CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Recurly vs. TallyPrime

At a glance

At a glance

Recurly

Best for

Best for subscription businesses whose main problem is involuntary churn and failed payments rather than the invoice itself.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

TallyPrime

Best for

Best for Indian small and mid-sized businesses that want GST compliance, inventory and books in one application.

  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Recurly TallyPrime
Starting price From 249 US dollars / month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume The Starter plan includes the first 40,000 US dollars of monthly billings. All-Access is quoted annually at under 1 percent of billing volume and requires a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume. Engage and RevRec are priced separately from 1,600 and 850 US dollars a month. From ₹750 / month TallyPrime Silver (single user) rental on the India licence, plus 18% GST. Twelve months cost ₹8,100 and a lifetime licence ₹22,500. Gold (multi-user) starts at ₹2,250 a month. Licences for international use and for North America are sold separately.
Free trial 90-day free trial on the Starter plan 7-day free trial
Users Not stated Silver for a single PC, Gold for multiple users on multiple PCs
API Yes, a REST API with webhooks, Recurly.js, hosted pages and mobile SDKs TDL customisation, XML requests over HTTP through the Tally Connector and JSON data exchange
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Installed on your own computer; optional TallyPrime Cloud Access hosted on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure
Made in Not stated India, Tally Solutions in Bengaluru
Invoicing and quotes Yes, automated and manual invoicing with customisable templates, charge and credit adjustments, plan creation with trials, promotions and add-ons, and monthly, annual or prepaid terms Yes, GST invoices, quotations, sales and purchase orders, debit and credit notes, multi-currency billing, price levels and payment QR codes or links on invoices
Bookkeeping and bank feeds No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; billing and revenue data sync out through pre-built connectors to accounting and ERP systems Yes, bank statement import that creates vouchers, one-click auto bank reconciliation, and connected banking with live balances and payments for Axis Bank, State Bank of India, Kotak Mahindra and ICICI
Expenses and receipts No expense claims or receipt capture; Recurly covers the revenue side, not spend Docs by Ira scans or imports purchase invoices from the mobile app or the desktop and creates draft vouchers for review; 100 pages are free with a TSS renewal
Tax and compliance Yes, global and local tax management built into recurring billing, with ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition through the separate RevRec product Yes, Indian GST: direct GSTR-1 upload and filing, GSTR-2A and 2B reconciliation, the Invoice Management System, e-invoices and e-way bills, TDS and TCS, MSME payment tracking and an MCA-compliant audit trail
Payroll No payroll Yes, salary processing with attendance and production types, and statutory returns and reports for PF, ESI, professional tax, gratuity and income tax
Reports and exports Yes, built-in dashboards and customisable metrics with automated exports over the API, real-time revenue forecasting in RevRec, and AI anomaly detection, churn prediction and benchmarking through Compass Yes, configurable dashboards and business reports with saved views and filters, shared by email or WhatsApp, and key reports viewable in a web browser
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API with webhooks, Recurly.js, hosted pages and mobile SDKs, more than 20 payment gateways, pre-built connectors for CRM, ERP and tax systems, and a native Shopify app Yes, customisation and integration through Tally Definition Language (TDL), XML requests over HTTP via the Tally Connector, JSON data exchange since Release 7.0, and payment links through Razorpay and PayU
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based On-premise, Cloud (SaaS)
Support Not stated Phone, Email helpdesk, Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size more entries Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized
Integrations Shopify more entries Razorpay, PayU, WhatsApp, Axis Bank, State Bank of India, ICICI Bank, Kotak Mahindra Bank

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Recurly From 249 US dollars / month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume TallyPrime From ₹750 / month
  • Free trial Recurly 90-day free trial on the Starter plan TallyPrime 7-day free trial
  • Deployment Recurly Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based TallyPrime On-premise, Cloud (SaaS)
  • Company size Recurly Small and mid-sized, Enterprise TallyPrime Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Recurly Cloud (SaaS) TallyPrime Installed on your own computer; optional TallyPrime Cloud Access hosted on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Recurly

Strengths

  • Payment recovery, dunning campaigns, cancel-save flows and win-back offers are the core of the product
  • More than 20 payment gateways and 140 currencies, with a deliberate multi-gateway strategy
  • 90-day free trial on the entry plan, far longer than the usual fortnight
  • ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition available as a sibling product

Limitations

  • The entry plan starts at 249 US dollars a month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume
  • All-Access requires a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume
  • Engage and RevRec are priced separately, from 1,600 and 850 US dollars a month
  • No general ledger of its own, so a separate accounting system is still needed

TallyPrime

Strengths

  • GST filing, reconciliation, e-invoices and e-way bills handled inside the software
  • Accounting, inventory and payroll with Indian statutory reports in one application
  • Lifetime licence available instead of a permanent subscription
  • Connected banking with four major Indian banks

Limitations

  • Compliance depth is built for India and gives little to businesses elsewhere
  • A lifetime licence needs a paid TSS renewal after the first year to keep upgrades and connected services
  • Desktop software; hosted remote access is a separate Cloud Access subscription

Plans

Pricing

Recurly

  • Starter $249 Per month plus 0.9 percent of billing volume, with the first 40,000 US dollars of monthly billings included. 90-day free trial. Automated global subscription billing, flexible plans, static churn-prevention tools, one dunning campaign, 10 or more payment methods and 20 or more payment gateways.
  • All-Access Not stated As low as under 1 percent of billing volume, billed annually, with a minimum of 1 million US dollars in billing volume. Everything in Starter plus AI-powered agents and analytics, intelligent churn prevention, multiple dunning campaigns, advanced plans and pricing, payments orchestration, custom reporting, multicurrency support and single sign-on.
  • All-Access for Shopify Not stated As low as under 1 percent of billing volume, billed annually. Intelligent churn prevention, customised bundles, subscribe-and-save, prepaid subscriptions, hybrid support, cancel-save flows, a self-serve bulk updater, analytics and a hosted subscriber portal.
  • Engage Not stated Add-on, as low as 1,600 US dollars per month billed annually. AI propensity-to-churn model, one-click billing integration, personalised offers, cancel-save capabilities, A/B testing, segmentation, a prompt builder and analytics.
  • RevRec Not stated Add-on, as low as 850 US dollars per month billed annually. Automated contract modifications, standalone selling price automation, rules-driven allocations, revenue insights, automated close, multi-GAAP compliance and an audit trail.
Visit site

TallyPrime

  • Silver ₹750 Per month, single user on one PC, India licence, plus 18% GST. ₹8,100 for 12 months or ₹22,500 for a lifetime licence with one year of TSS.
  • Gold ₹2,250 Per month, multiple users on multiple PCs, India licence, plus 18% GST. ₹24,300 for 12 months or ₹67,500 for a lifetime licence with one year of TSS.
  • Tally Software Services (TSS) ₹4,500 Per year for Silver, ₹13,500 for Gold, plus 18% GST; 10% off a two-year renewal. Carries product upgrades and connected services, and is included for the first 12 months with every new licence.
  • TallyPrime Cloud Access ₹600 Per month for the Personal pack (one user), plus 18% GST. Hosted on Oracle Cloud Infrastructure; larger packs cover 2 to 16 users.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Recurly

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

TallyPrime

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Recurly https://recurly.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

TallyPrime https://tallysolutions.com/tally-prime/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-25

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.