CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

Sage Accounting vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

Sage Accounting

Best for

Best for small businesses that want sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan, scaling up to quotes, purchase invoices, stock and multi-currency.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Sage Accounting Zoho Invoice
Starting price Not stated Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial Not stated Free plan; no paid tier
Users Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Invoicing and quotes Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, connect your bank with automatic bank feeds and bank rules, plus reconciliation against your statement No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, snap receipts and invoices so their data is matched to bank transactions; purchase invoices from the Standard plan Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT handling on every plan Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll Not part of the Accounting plans; Sage Payroll is a separate subscription, and running a pay run can post the salary, HMRC and pension journals into Accounting automatically when both are linked No
Reports and exports Yes, reports and insight on every plan; cash flow forecasts from the Standard plan Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum Not stated
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Zapier more entries Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Hosting Sage Accounting Cloud (SaaS) Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • AI features Sage Accounting No Zoho Invoice Yes
  • Users Sage Accounting Single user on Start; multi-user on Standard and Plus Zoho Invoice Up to 2 users on the free plan
  • API Sage Accounting Yes, the Sage Accounting API through the Sage Developer portal, the Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app Zoho Invoice Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
  • Invoicing and quotes Sage Accounting Yes, sales invoicing on every plan; quotes and estimates, credit notes, delivery notes and statements from the Standard plan Zoho Invoice Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Sage Accounting

Strengths

  • Sales invoicing, bank feeds, VAT handling and reports on every plan
  • Bank rules and receipt capture matched to bank transactions
  • Documented API, Sage Marketplace and a Zapier app for integrations
  • Plus adds stock items, multi-currency and financial budgets

Limitations

  • Quotes, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts and multi-user access start on the Standard plan
  • Stock items and multi-currency are reserved for the Plus plan

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

Sage Accounting

  • Start Not stated Entry plan for businesses starting out: sales invoicing, VAT handling, connecting your bank, reports and insight and the mobile app; single user.
  • Standard Not stated Adds quotes and estimates, purchase invoices, cash flow forecasts, credit notes, delivery notes, statements, remittance advice and multi-user access.
  • Plus Not stated Adds stock items, multi-currency invoicing and banking and financial budgets.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Sage Accounting

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Sage Accounting https://www.sage.com/en-gb/sage-business-cloud/sage-accounting/ · checked against the official source on 2026-08-20

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.