Best for
Best for software and AI companies already on Stripe that need subscription and usage-based billing, dunning and revenue recognition alongside their accounting system.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Accounting & Invoicing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for software and AI companies already on Stripe that need subscription and usage-based billing, dunning and revenue recognition alongside their accounting system.
Best for
Best for small and mid-sized businesses that want receipt, card, mileage and per diem handling on top of an existing accounting system at a low per-user price.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | Stripe Billing | Zoho Expense |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From 0.7 percent of billing volume Pay as you go is 0.7 percent of billing volume with no recurring fee, covering transactions processed on and off Stripe and excluding one-off invoices. Pay monthly runs on a one-year contract from 620 US dollars per month for up to 100,000 US dollars of monthly billing volume up to 5,750 US dollars for up to 1 million, each plus 0.67 percent on volume above the included amount. Custom pricing for larger volumes. | Free for up to 3 users; Standard $4 / user / month Standard is $3 and Premium $5 per user per month billed annually, or $4 and $6 billed monthly. The amounts are from the global edition's pricing page in USD and exclude local taxes. Enterprise plans are quoted. Add-ons include Premium Support from $490 a year, Jumpstart onboarding from $500 a year and self-booked travel at $9.99 per trip. |
| Free trial | Not stated | Free plan for up to 3 users; 14-day free trial of the paid plans without a credit card |
| API | Yes, a full billing API, with accounting, CRM and CPQ integrations, Stripe Sigma for custom queries and Data Pipeline for warehouse sync | Yes, a REST API with OAuth and an OpenAPI document, plus Zoho MCP |
| Languages | Not stated | Receipt OCR in 38+ languages |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS) | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Invoicing and quotes | Yes, one-off and recurring invoices with no code required, plus quotes, a self-serve customer portal, automated e-invoicing, prorations, installments and credit and debit notes | No customer invoicing or quotes. Expenses can be tagged to customers and projects on every plan, and the invoicing itself stays in the connected accounting system |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | No general ledger or bank feeds of its own; billing data syncs into accounting systems including NetSuite | No general ledger of its own. Expenses sync to Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop (US and Canada), Xero and Sage Accounting, and to SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics and NetSuite, with ERP and HRMS integrations as an add-on on Standard. Corporate card feeds from Visa, Mastercard, Amex and HSBC are fetched and reconciled automatically |
| Expenses and receipts | No expense claims or receipt capture; Stripe Billing covers the revenue side rather than spend | Yes, this is the core of the product: receipt capture with AI-powered OCR (20 scans per user a month on Free, 200 on Standard, 1,000 on Premium), itemised receipts, split and multi-currency expenses, GPS mileage, per diem with region-specific rates, petty cash, cash advances, policies, rules, budgets, multi-stage approvals and reimbursements by ACH or direct deposit |
| Tax and compliance | Yes, sales tax, VAT and GST in 90 or more countries through Stripe Tax, calculated during billing from the dashboard or the API, plus ASC 606 and IFRS 15 revenue recognition through Stripe Revenue Recognition | Yes, global tax compliance on every plan, dedicated editions with local compliance for the US, the UK, India, Canada, Australia, the UAE and Saudi Arabia, GSA-compliant automated per diem on Premium, audit trails, duplicate and policy-violation alerts, and GDPR compliance with ISO certification |
| Payroll | No payroll | No payroll module in Zoho Expense itself. Reimbursement settlements sync to payroll, HRMS and ERP systems, and Zoho offers payroll as a separate module of its wider spend management platform |
| Reports and exports | Yes, a dashboard consolidating MRR, churn and payment failure metrics, accounts receivable aging and automated reconciliation, custom queries through Stripe Sigma and warehouse sync to Snowflake, Redshift and Databricks through Data Pipeline | Yes, expense reports, visual dashboards, ready-to-use analytics templates and audit trail reports, an AI insights dashboard on Standard, and custom reports and dashboards through the Zoho Analytics integration |
| Integrations and API | Yes, a full billing API documented at docs.stripe.com/billing, with accounting integrations including NetSuite plus CRM and CPQ connections | Yes. A REST API at zohoapis.com/expense/v1 with OAuth tokens, a downloadable OpenAPI document and separate domains for Zoho's regional data centres. Workflow rules can call webhooks and custom functions, the Standard plan adds WhatsApp and Slack integrations, and the pricing page lists Zoho Expense MCP on every plan, including Free |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| MCP-ready | No | stated Yes |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | Not stated | Email helpdesk, Phone |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base | more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Personal consulting |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | Oracle NetSuite, Snowflake, Amazon Redshift, Databricks | more entries Zoho Books, QuickBooks Online, QuickBooks Desktop, Xero, Sage Accounting, SAP, Oracle, Microsoft Dynamics, NetSuite, Zoho Analytics, Sabre GetThere, myBiz, RouteSpring, WhatsApp, Slack |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
Stripe Billing
Strengths
Limitations
Zoho Expense
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
Stripe Billing
Zoho Expense
What users say
Stripe Billing
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Zoho Expense
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
Stripe Billing https://stripe.com/billing · checked against the official source on 2026-09-11
Zoho Expense https://www.zoho.com/expense/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-26
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.