CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Agency Software Comparison

FunctionFox vs. WorkflowMAX

At a glance

At a glance

FunctionFox

Best for

Best for small creative agencies and in-house marketing teams that need timesheets, budget-versus-actuals and retainer tracking without a full agency management platform.

  • Small and mid-sized

WorkflowMAX

Best for

Best for accounting, architecture, engineering and consulting firms that quote, cost and invoice by job and keep their books in Xero or QuickBooks.

  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion FunctionFox WorkflowMAX
Starting price From $10.50 / user / month Classic plan, per user and month billed annually; $12.75 billed monthly. Minimum 3 users on every plan. Prices are in US dollars. lower value From $7.50 / user / month Essentials plan for 3 to 25 users, billed annually ($8.33 billed monthly, $7.91 quarterly). Pro starts at 5 users, Advanced at 10. Prices in US dollars; AUD, NZD, GBP and CAD are also listed.
Free trial Not stated 14-day free trial, no credit card required
API Not stated Yes, public API
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Made in Canada Not stated
Time tracking Yes, timesheets with a stopwatch timer on every plan Yes, timesheets with eight entry methods, a pausable timer, reminders, approval workflows and calendar sync
Project costing Yes, estimates, budget-versus-actuals tracking with alerts and retainer tracking by hours or amount, with rates by person, client, project or type of work Yes, quotes with time estimates and cost breakdowns, job phases, purchase orders and WIP management
Invoicing Yes, through the Invoicing add-on, which creates quotes from estimates and invoices from logged time and expenses Yes, invoices from time, costs or fixed amounts, by phase or by percentage of quote, synced with Xero or QuickBooks
Resource planning Yes, availability and traffic reports with workload and capacity views, from the Premier plan Yes, drag-and-drop scheduling on every plan; capacity planning on Advanced
Reporting and controlling Yes, over 50 customisable reports including client profitability, time allocation and retainer tracking; an advanced report builder on In-House Yes, standard reports and dashboards, custom and scheduled reports, AI report summaries on Advanced
Integrations and API QuickBooks Online integration transfers approved timesheets for invoicing, grouped by client, project or person and synced in batches Yes, public API, Zapier, native Xero, QuickBooks and HubSpot sync, and an MCP server on Advanced
AI features No stated Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized Small and mid-sized
Integrations QuickBooks Online more entries Xero, QuickBooks, HubSpot, Airwallex, Microsoft SharePoint, SuiteFiles, Google Drive, Box, Dropbox, EzzyBills, Microsoft Outlook, Google Calendar, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price FunctionFox From $10.50 / user / month WorkflowMAX From $7.50 / user / month
  • Support FunctionFox Email helpdesk, Phone WorkflowMAX Email helpdesk
  • AI features FunctionFox No WorkflowMAX Yes
  • MCP-ready FunctionFox No WorkflowMAX Yes
  • Time tracking FunctionFox Yes, timesheets with a stopwatch timer on every plan WorkflowMAX Yes, timesheets with eight entry methods, a pausable timer, reminders, approval workflows and calendar sync

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

FunctionFox

Strengths

  • Retainers are a built-in case, tracked by hours or by monthly amount
  • Billable rates can vary by person, client, project or type of work
  • Published per-user pricing with a low three-user minimum
  • Over 50 customisable reports, including client profitability

Limitations

  • Invoicing is a separate add-on rather than part of the plans
  • Gantt charts, schedules and the availability and traffic reports require the Premier plan
  • Custom job intake forms and the advanced report builder sit on the much more expensive In-House plan

WorkflowMAX

Strengths

  • Covers quoting, job costing, WIP and invoicing in one flow
  • Syncs invoices, bills and payments with Xero and QuickBooks, plus Xero AU/NZ payroll export
  • Flat per-user rate within each plan, no user bands
  • Official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot and Gemini on Advanced

Limitations

  • Capacity planning, WIP ledger control and AI reporting are only on Advanced, from 10 users
  • Lead management is not part of Essentials
  • Dedicated account manager and guided onboarding only from 25 users on an annual plan

Plans

Pricing

FunctionFox

  • Classic $10.50 Per user and month billed annually, $12.75 billed monthly. Minimum 3 users. Timesheet with stopwatch timer, unlimited clients and projects, estimate and budget tracking, retainer tracking and reports.
  • Premier $16.00 Per user and month billed annually, $19.25 billed monthly. Minimum 3 users. Adds an actionable to-do list, Gantt charts and schedules, availability and traffic reports and an internal blog.
  • In-House $36.75 Per user and month billed annually, $44.00 billed monthly. Minimum 3 users. Adds custom job intake forms, an advanced report builder, unlimited custom job fields and email alerts for new requests.
Visit site

WorkflowMAX

  • Essentials $7.50 Per user and month, billed annually ($8.33 billed monthly). 3 to 25 users. Quoting, jobs, scheduling, timesheets, invoicing, purchase orders and Xero or QuickBooks integration.
  • Pro $13.50 Per user and month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly). From 5 users. Adds leads, quote variations, custom reporting, branded templates and more invoicing, purchasing and integration options.
  • Advanced $22.50 Per user and month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly). From 10 users. Adds capacity planning, individual WIP ledger management, AI-powered reporting, calendar sync and the MCP server.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

FunctionFox

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

WorkflowMAX

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

FunctionFox https://functionfox.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-02

WorkflowMAX https://workflowmax.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-26

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.