WorkflowMAX
AI Reporting Insights summarise a report and suggest next steps (Advanced plan)
Job management for professional-services firms, from quote and timesheet to WIP and invoice, with Xero and QuickBooks sync.
- Starting price
- From $7.50 / user / month
- Free trial
- 14-day free trial, no credit card required
- API
- Yes, public API
Overview
WorkflowMAX is a job management system for accountants, architects, engineers, consultants, creative agencies and building firms, built around the life of a job: quote, schedule, track time, manage work in progress and invoice. Quotes carry line-item pricing, time estimates and cost breakdowns, and can be accepted online. Jobs split into phases with their own costs and progress, purchase orders keep supplier costs on the job, and timesheets offer several entry methods with approval workflows. Invoices are raised from time, costs or fixed amounts and sync with Xero or QuickBooks.
Our take
WorkflowMAX suits a firm whose unit of work is a job with a quote attached, and whose books already live in Xero or QuickBooks: it is strongest exactly where quote, time, WIP and invoice meet. Its roots in accounting, architecture and engineering practices show, which makes it a natural fit for those firms and a slightly formal one for a creative studio that thinks in campaigns rather than jobs. Capacity planning and the AI features are held back for the top plan with a ten-user floor, so a small team gets scheduling but not capacity planning. Anyone who knew the older product should look again, since the platform was rewritten from scratch in 2024.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | From $7.50 / user / month Essentials plan for 3 to 25 users, billed annually ($8.33 billed monthly, $7.91 quarterly). Pro starts at 5 users, Advanced at 10. Prices in US dollars; AUD, NZD, GBP and CAD are also listed. |
| Free trial | 14-day free trial, no credit card required |
| API | Yes, public API |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS) |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Time tracking
- Yes, timesheets with eight entry methods, a pausable timer, reminders, approval workflows and calendar sync
- Project costing
- Yes, quotes with time estimates and cost breakdowns, job phases, purchase orders and WIP management
- Invoicing
- Yes, invoices from time, costs or fixed amounts, by phase or by percentage of quote, synced with Xero or QuickBooks
- Resource planning
- Yes, drag-and-drop scheduling on every plan; capacity planning on Advanced
- Reporting and controlling
- Yes, standard reports and dashboards, custom and scheduled reports, AI report summaries on Advanced
- Integrations and API
- Yes, public API, Zapier, native Xero, QuickBooks and HubSpot sync, and an MCP server on Advanced
Integrations
- Xero
- QuickBooks
- HubSpot
- Airwallex
- Microsoft SharePoint
- SuiteFiles
- Google Drive
- Box
- Dropbox
- EzzyBills
- Microsoft Outlook
- Google Calendar
- Zapier
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Support
-
- Email helpdesk
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Live online demos and webinars
- Guided onboarding
- Company size
-
- Small and mid-sized
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Stated as a fit | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Technology | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Covers quoting, job costing, WIP and invoicing in one flow
- Syncs invoices, bills and payments with Xero and QuickBooks, plus Xero AU/NZ payroll export
- Flat per-user rate within each plan, no user bands
- Official MCP server for Claude, ChatGPT, Copilot and Gemini on Advanced
Limitations
- Capacity planning, WIP ledger control and AI reporting are only on Advanced, from 10 users
- Lead management is not part of Essentials
- Dedicated account manager and guided onboarding only from 25 users on an annual plan
Pricing
-
Essentials
$7.50
Per user and month, billed annually ($8.33 billed monthly). 3 to 25 users. Quoting, jobs, scheduling, timesheets, invoicing, purchase orders and Xero or QuickBooks integration.
-
Pro
$13.50
Per user and month, billed annually ($15 billed monthly). From 5 users. Adds leads, quote variations, custom reporting, branded templates and more invoicing, purchasing and integration options.
-
Advanced
$22.50
Per user and month, billed annually ($25 billed monthly). From 10 users. Adds capacity planning, individual WIP ledger management, AI-powered reporting, calendar sync and the MCP server.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
FAQ
- How much does WorkflowMAX cost?
- In US dollars, Essentials is $8.33, Pro $15 and Advanced $25 per user and month billed monthly. Paying quarterly saves 5 percent and paying annually 10 percent, which brings them to $7.50, $13.50 and $22.50.
- Does WorkflowMAX integrate with Xero?
- Yes. It syncs invoices, bills and payments with Xero, can import invoices from Xero and pushes approved timesheets to Xero Payroll in Australia and New Zealand. QuickBooks is supported as well.
- Can I connect WorkflowMAX to an AI assistant?
- Yes. WorkflowMAX has an MCP server that connects to Claude, ChatGPT, Microsoft Copilot and Gemini. It is included on the Advanced plan and in the free trial, and an assistant can only do what the connected user is already permitted to do.
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
How we check reviews
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at WorkflowMAX
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit WorkflowMAX