CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

AI 3D Modeling Comparison

Marble vs. Zoo Design Studio

At a glance

At a glance

Marble

Best for

Best for teams building explorable 3D environments for previsualisation, virtual production or games.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Zoo Design Studio

Best for

Best for engineers and product teams who want AI-generated geometry that stays editable in a real CAD feature tree.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Marble Zoo Design Studio
Starting price Free plan; paid from $20 / month Plans are metered in monthly credits: 7,000 on Free, 20,000 on Standard, 40,000 on Pro and 120,000 on Max. From Standard up, top-ups start at $5 for 5,000 credits; API credits are sold separately. Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month Paid tiers (Plus, Pro, Team, Enterprise) add more reasoning time, around 400 minutes a month on Plus and unlimited on Pro; their amounts are not shown on the public pricing page. Overages run pay-as-you-go at $0.0083 per second.
Free trial Free plan with up to 4 world generations Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
Output Explorable 3D worlds as Gaussian splats, meshes or video Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX
API Yes Yes, published developer APIs for building custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API
Languages Not stated Prompts primarily in English, with other major languages accepted at varying accuracy
Hosting Not stated Cloud; the desktop application needs an internet connection because the geometry engine runs in the cloud
Made in Not stated United States
What it makes Explorable 3D worlds as Gaussian splats, meshes or video Parametric B-rep CAD models from text prompts, images and sketches: primitives, brackets, mechanical parts, enclosures, mounts, assemblies and 3D-printable components
Detail and topology Splats at about 2M or 500k; meshes at about 600k triangles textured, 1M vertex-coloured, plus a 100-200k collider mesh Boundary-representation solids rather than meshes, editable through sketch and feature-tree workflows with human-readable KCL as the source of truth; assembly mates are still on the roadmap
Rigging and textures No rigging or animation, the output is an environment rather than a character. Collider mesh export is included from the Standard plan, textured GLB export requires Pro No rigging, no animation and no UV-mapped textures: the KCL standard library has no module for any of them. Surface appearance goes as far as setting a material colour on a solid
Speed High-quality mesh export takes up to an hour, limited to 4 requests per hour No fixed generation time is published. Zoo states that Agent API requests, which is what Zookeeper runs on, have no fixed completion time and that the duration depends on the complexity of the task, the tools required and the number of iterations the agent performs; billing follows that, metered in reasoning minutes rather than per model
Export and pipeline fit SPZ and PLY splats, GLB meshes, 360 panorama PNG; guides for Unreal Engine, Unity, Blender and Houdini Exports STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY and FBX; imports KCL, STL, glTF/GLB, OBJ, FBX, PLY plus experimental STEP/STP and SLDPRT
Commercial use Commercial rights included from the Pro plan You own the outputs and may use them commercially. Material you put in is licensed back to Zoo to run and improve the service, including training its models, and opting out of that training is possible only on subscription tiers that allow it
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Unreal Engine, Unity, Blender, Houdini Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Marble Free plan; paid from $20 / month Zoo Design Studio Free plan with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month
  • Free trial Marble Free plan with up to 4 world generations Zoo Design Studio Free plan with full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows
  • MCP-ready Marble No Zoo Design Studio Yes
  • Output Marble Explorable 3D worlds as Gaussian splats, meshes or video Zoo Design Studio Parametric B-rep CAD models, exported as STEP, STL, glTF, OBJ, PLY or FBX
  • API Marble Yes Zoo Design Studio Yes, published developer APIs for building custom CAD applications; Zookeeper runs on the Agent API

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Marble

Strengths

  • Generates navigable worlds rather than single objects
  • Takes text, images, video, 360 panoramas or a coarse 3D layout as input
  • Chisel blocks out world structure in 3D before generating
  • Worlds can be expanded and composed into larger spaces
  • Documented export routes into Unreal Engine, Unity, Blender and Houdini

Limitations

  • Commercial rights only from the Pro plan upwards
  • Free plan covers only four world generations
  • High-quality mesh export takes up to an hour and is rate limited
  • High-quality meshes can only be generated on worlds you own

Zoo Design Studio

Strengths

  • Output is editable parametric CAD rather than a mesh that has to be rebuilt
  • Free plan includes full CAD access plus 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning a month
  • Native applications for Mac, Windows and Linux
  • The Design Studio application is open source on GitHub
  • Zookeeper reads selections, renders and existing KCL as context instead of starting from a blank prompt

Limitations

  • Needs an internet connection: the geometry engine runs in the cloud
  • Paid tier amounts are not shown on the public pricing page
  • The geometry engine itself is not open source
  • Zoo may train on data from free plan usage
  • Assembly mates are not implemented yet

Plans

Pricing

Marble

  • Free $0 7,000 credits per month. Up to 4 world generations, from a text prompt, single image or 360 panorama.
  • Standard $20 Per month, 20,000 credits. Up to 12 world generations, plus generation from multiple images, videos or 3D layouts, editing, exporting and community downloads.
  • Pro $35 Per month, 40,000 credits. Up to 25 world generations, plus world expansion, high-quality textured mesh export and commercial rights.
  • Max $95 Per month, 120,000 credits. Up to 75 world generations for high-volume production.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom plans for large teams and organisations, arranged with the vendor.
Visit site

Zoo Design Studio

  • Free Free Full access to Zoo Design Studio and all core CAD workflows, with 20 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. Zoo may train on free plan usage data.
  • Plus Not stated Around 400 minutes of Zookeeper reasoning per month. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Pro Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning in Design Studio, with pay-as-you-go available. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Team Not stated Unlimited Zookeeper reasoning, with custom billing on request. No amount is published on the pricing page.
  • Enterprise Custom Contact sales. Adds design rules and internal company knowledge to Zookeeper, plus custom billing.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Marble

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoo Design Studio

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Marble https://marble.worldlabs.ai · no check date recorded yet

Zoo Design Studio https://zoo.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.