CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Chatbots & Assistants Comparison

Amazon Quick vs. Ollama

At a glance

At a glance

Amazon Quick

Best for

Best for organisations already on AWS that want research, automation, analytics and app building behind one assistant.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Ollama

Best for

Best for developers and teams that want an assistant whose data never leaves the machine, with a cloud fallback for models too large to run locally.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Amazon Quick Ollama
Starting price Free plan; Plus $20 / user / month Billed annually, $25 billed monthly. Max is $100 / user / month annually. The organisation plans (Professional $20, Enterprise $40 per user per month) require an AWS account and add a $250 per account per month infrastructure fee. Free for local models; Pro from $20 / month Local models cost nothing. Pro is $20 per month or $200 per year and includes $60 of cloud usage credits a month with three concurrent requests; Max is $100 per month with $300 of credits and ten concurrent requests; Team is $500 per month with $1,000 of shared credits and unlimited users; Enterprise is quoted. Extra credits can be bought on every paid plan.
Free trial Free plan, plus a 30-day Enterprise trial for up to 25 users with the infrastructure fee waived Free plan with local models, starter cloud credits and one concurrent request
Commercial use Yes Not stated
Output Documents, presentations, spreadsheets, images, dashboards, cited research reports and interactive web apps Not stated
API Yes, existing Amazon QuickSight APIs and SDKs continue to work unchanged Yes, one REST API for local and cloud models, with Python and JavaScript libraries and a separate web search API
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), plus a desktop application Runs locally on macOS, Windows and Linux; cloud models run on Ollama's servers in the United States, Europe and Singapore
Ecosystem AWS. Built-in connectors for Jira, Box, Canva, HubSpot, Notion, QuickBooks, Salesforce, ServiceNow, Shopify, Slack, Smartsheet and Zoom, plus MCP and OpenAPI for anything else; usable from the web, a desktop app, Chrome, Slack, Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365 Desktop app and command line for macOS, Windows and Linux, with integrations for VS Code Chat, Claude Code, OpenCode and n8n
Live web search and sources Yes, Quick Research works across the web and your own data and delivers the result as a cited report Yes, through a separate web search API returning a title, URL and content snippet per result; it needs a free account and an API key, and is also reachable over MCP
Files and long documents Yes, Quick Index connects organisation documents and data sources so answers are grounded in them, and the desktop app works with local files Yes, the desktop app takes files by drag and drop so a model can reason over text or PDFs, and code files can be passed in for understanding; for large documents the context length is raised in the settings, which the vendor notes costs more memory
Images, voice and video Turns a conversation into documents, presentations, spreadsheets and images without leaving the app Images for vision-capable models, passed as a file path, URL or base64 through the API and the libraries
Coding help No coding assistant is documented. AWS aims Quick at anyone who works with information, stating that no technical skills or coding experience are required, and the apps, flows and automations it builds are described in natural language rather than written Coding models in the library, plus integrations with terminal coding agents such as Claude Code and OpenCode and with VS Code Chat
Model choice No model picker. AWS documents Quick as fully managed, with no infrastructure to provision, no models to host and no ML expertise required, and states that customer data is not used to train models on any plan Yes, and it is the point: any model from the library or an imported custom one, run locally or offloaded to the cloud through the same call
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Jira, Box, Canva, HubSpot, Notion, QuickBooks, Salesforce, ServiceNow, Shopify, Slack, Smartsheet, Zoom, Microsoft Teams, Microsoft 365 VS Code, JetBrains, Zed, Xcode, Claude Code, Claude Desktop, OpenCode, Cline, Roo Code, Codex CLI, Goose, n8n, marimo

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Amazon Quick Free plan; Plus $20 / user / month Ollama Free for local models; Pro from $20 / month
  • Free trial Amazon Quick Free plan, plus a 30-day Enterprise trial for up to 25 users with the infrastructure fee waived Ollama Free plan with local models, starter cloud credits and one concurrent request
  • Deployment Amazon Quick Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Ollama Cloud (SaaS), On-premise
  • Hosting Amazon Quick Cloud (SaaS), plus a desktop application Ollama Runs locally on macOS, Windows and Linux; cloud models run on Ollama's servers in the United States, Europe and Singapore
  • MCP-ready Amazon Quick No Ollama Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Amazon Quick

Strengths

  • Chat, research, automation, analytics and app building sit in one product rather than five
  • Connectors for Jira, Salesforce, ServiceNow, Slack, Notion, Box and more, with MCP and OpenAPI for anything not covered
  • Research draws on both the public web and internal data and returns a report with citations
  • Reachable from the web, a desktop app, Chrome, Slack, Microsoft Teams and Microsoft 365
  • Free plan without an AWS account, and a 30-day Enterprise trial for up to 25 users

Limitations

  • The Professional and Enterprise plans add a $250 per account per month infrastructure fee on top of the per-user price
  • Those two plans require an AWS account and IAM Identity Center or IAM Federation setup
  • Agent hours and index storage are metered, so the bill moves with usage
  • Replaces Amazon Q Business, which is closed to new customers, so the product line is young

Ollama

Strengths

  • Models run on your own machine, so on the free plan nothing is sent anywhere
  • The same API covers local and cloud models, so a model can be swapped without changing code
  • Chat, coding, vision, embedding and reasoning models in one library, plus imported custom models
  • Cloud use can be switched off entirely for a fully local setup

Limitations

  • Large models need capable local hardware; otherwise they run in the cloud on a paid plan
  • Cloud models and the web search API need an account and usage credits
  • Paid plans are metered in usage credits rather than seats, so the monthly cost varies with how hard it is used

Plans

Pricing

Amazon Quick

  • Free $0 No AWS account required.
  • Plus $20 Per user per month billed annually, $25 billed monthly. No AWS account required.
  • Max $100 Per user per month billed annually, $125 billed monthly.
  • Professional $20 Per user per month plus a $250 per account per month infrastructure fee. Requires an AWS account.
  • Enterprise $40 Per user per month plus a $250 per account per month infrastructure fee. Requires an AWS account.
Visit site

Ollama

  • Free $0 Local models, starter usage credits, starter models and one concurrent request.
  • Pro $20 / month Or $200 per year. $60 of usage credits a month, larger models and three concurrent requests.
  • Max $100 / month $300 of usage credits a month, early access to new models and ten concurrent requests.
  • Team $500 / month Early access. Unlimited users, $1,000 of shared usage credits a month and central billing.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Model access controls, cost budgets and dedicated support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Amazon Quick

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Ollama

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Be the first to review this tool. Every review is checked for fairness before it appears, and the vendor cannot have one removed.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Amazon Quick https://aws.amazon.com/quick/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

Ollama https://ollama.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-12

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.