CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

Factory vs. Kiro

At a glance

At a glance

Factory

Best for

Best for engineering teams that want autonomous coding agents across the desktop, CLI and an SDK, with enterprise controls.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Kiro

Best for

Best for teams that want AI to plan work as specifications before writing code.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Factory Kiro
Starting price From $20 / month Pro $20, Plus $100, Max $200 per month. Business and Enterprise are custom. No free tier. Free tier; Pro $20 / user / month Credit-based. Pro+ $40, Pro Max $100 and Power $200 per user per month.
Free trial Not stated Free tier (50 credits)
Commercial use Yes Yes
Output Autonomous multi-step software development with agents (Droids) Specs, code, documentation and tests from prompts
API SDK CLI available
Hosting Cloud, with on-premise deployment on Enterprise Not stated
Where it runs A desktop app, a CLI and an SDK, plus a web app, with cloud and local background agents Desktop IDE for macOS, Windows and Linux (based on Code OSS), plus a CLI, browser sessions in sandboxes and a mobile app
Inline completions Agent-native rather than an inline autocomplete tool Not in the editor: the IDE documentation lists syntax highlighting, error indicators, folding, tabs and split view, and code is written through agentic chat and specs rather than as-you-type suggestions. Ghost-text inline suggestions and a command dropdown do exist in the Kiro CLI, for terminal commands such as git, npm, docker and aws, switched with kiro-cli inline enable
Agent mode Yes, autonomous Droids for multi-step engineering tasks, cloud or local Yes, spec-driven: turns prompts into specs, then code, documentation and tests
Model choice Yes, admin-configurable model selection Yes, Anthropic Claude, open-weight models, or Auto model routing
Data control Zero data retention, SSO with SAML and SCIM, audit logging, plus on-premise and customer-managed encryption on Enterprise Enterprise content is not used for service improvement and is opted out of telemetry by default; free and individual users can switch off usage analytics and content collection in settings. TLS 1.2 or higher in transit, AWS KMS at rest, with customer-managed keys and a chosen storage region for enterprise
Ecosystem fit Desktop, CLI and SDK, with managed cloud computers for remote agents on higher tiers AWS-built; supports MCP, Agent Client Protocol and Skills.md; imports VS Code settings and Open VSX plugins
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Figma, Terraform, Datadog, Stripe

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Factory From $20 / month Kiro Free tier; Pro $20 / user / month
  • Deployment Factory Cloud (SaaS), On-premise Kiro Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Factory Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Kiro Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • Output Factory Autonomous multi-step software development with agents (Droids) Kiro Specs, code, documentation and tests from prompts
  • API Factory SDK Kiro CLI available

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Factory

Strengths

  • Autonomous agents across desktop, CLI and an SDK
  • Enterprise controls: SSO, zero data retention, on-premise option
  • Cloud and local background agents

Limitations

  • No free tier
  • Aimed at teams rather than individual developers

Kiro

Strengths

  • Spec-driven flow documents requirements before coding
  • Based on Code OSS, imports VS Code settings and Open VSX plugins
  • Model choice including Claude, open-weight models and Auto routing

Limitations

  • Credit-based usage on every tier
  • Newer product with a smaller ecosystem than established IDEs

Plans

Pricing

Factory

  • Pro $20 Per month. Desktop, CLI and SDK, with cloud and local agents.
  • Plus $100 Per month. Around 5x Pro usage, plus managed cloud computers.
  • Max $200 Per month. Around 10x Pro usage and early access.
  • Business Not stated Custom. Up to 150 seats, SSO, SAML and SCIM, zero data retention.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom. Unlimited seats, on-premise, dedicated support.
Visit site

Kiro

  • Free $0 50 credits per month.
  • Pro $20 Per user per month. 1,000 credits.
  • Pro+ $40 Per user per month. 2,000 credits.
  • Pro Max $100 Per user per month. 5,000 credits.
  • Power $200 Per user per month. 10,000 credits.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Factory

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Kiro

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Factory https://factory.ai · no check date recorded yet

Kiro https://kiro.dev · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.