CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Code Comparison

GitHub Copilot vs. Qoder

At a glance

At a glance

GitHub Copilot

Best for

Best for teams that live in GitHub and want one vendor for hosting, CI/CD and AI assistance.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Qoder

Best for

Best for developers who want editor assistance and long-running agent tasks under one credit budget.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion GitHub Copilot Qoder
Starting price lower value Free tier; Pro $10 / month The free tier covers 2,000 completions per month. Pro+ $39 per month, Enterprise $39 per user. Billing moved to usage-based AI Credits on 1 June 2026. Free tier; Pro $20 / month Credit-based: 2,000 credits a month on Pro, 6,000 on Pro+ at $60 and 20,000 on Ultra at $200. Credit Packs add 1,500 credits for $20 and expire one month after purchase. Teams and Enterprise plans are sold separately.
Free trial Free tier with 2,000 completions per month Free plan, including a two-week Pro trial with 300 credits
Commercial use Yes, with IP indemnity Not stated
Output Completions plus agent mode Code, plans and specs, repository wikis, reviewed diffs and commits
API Yes, the GitHub Copilot SDK, with examples in TypeScript, Python, Go, .NET, Java and Rust, plus an API for the cloud coding agent Yes, the Cloud Agents public API and an Agent SDK, plus a CLI
Hosting Not stated Cloud (SaaS), with desktop apps for macOS, Windows and Linux
Where it runs Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio, the JetBrains IDEs, Eclipse, Xcode, Vim and Neovim and Azure Data Studio, plus GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile and the GitHub CLI Qoder IDE for macOS 12+, Windows 10+ and Linux (.deb/.rpm), a standalone Qoder desktop app, a JetBrains plugin, a terminal CLI, mobile apps for iOS, Android and HarmonyOS, and managed Cloud Agents
Inline completions Yes, inline completions and chat Yes, NEXT in Qoder IDE edits several lines around the cursor, suggests cross-file changes, imports dependencies automatically and is accepted with Tab; Inline Chat sits beside it for small edits
Agent mode Yes, agent mode from issue to pull request Yes, Quest takes long multi-step work, with plan-driven, goal-driven and spec-driven flows, a multi-agent Experts mode, scheduled tasks and automations
Model choice Yes, models from Anthropic, OpenAI, Google, xAI, Moonshot AI and Microsoft; which ones are offered depends on the plan and the client Yes, by tier (Auto routing, Ultimate, Performance, Efficient and a free Lite tier) or by named model from Qwen, DeepSeek, GLM and Kimi; personal plans can add their own keys for Alibaba Cloud Model Studio, DeepSeek, Z.ai, Kimi, MiniMax, Xiaomi MIMO, OpenAI, Google and OpenRouter, or any OpenAI- or Anthropic-compatible endpoint
Data control Business and Enterprise customer data is not used to train models; a duplicate-detection filter blocks suggestions matching about 150 characters of public code, and free and individual plans carry a training opt-out ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certification for the information security management system and a completed SOC 2 Type II audit covering security, confidentiality and availability; Teams plans add privacy mode management and SAML or OIDC single sign-on, Enterprise adds audit logs and model policy control
Ecosystem fit GitHub, one vendor for hosting, CI/CD and AI MCP connectors from a marketplace or added as custom servers, plus Skills, plugins, hooks and subagents; Repo Wiki, knowledge base and memory supply durable context, and GitHub repositories and Supabase connect to cloud work
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations more entries Visual Studio Code, Visual Studio, JetBrains IDEs, Eclipse, Xcode, Vim/Neovim, Azure Data Studio, GitHub.com, GitHub Mobile, GitHub CLI, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Raycast GitHub, Supabase, Lark, DingTalk, WeChat, WeCom

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price GitHub Copilot Free tier; Pro $10 / month Qoder Free tier; Pro $20 / month
  • Free trial GitHub Copilot Free tier with 2,000 completions per month Qoder Free plan, including a two-week Pro trial with 300 credits
  • Support GitHub Copilot Email helpdesk, Community forum Qoder Community forum
  • Output GitHub Copilot Completions plus agent mode Qoder Code, plans and specs, repository wikis, reviewed diffs and commits
  • API GitHub Copilot Yes, the GitHub Copilot SDK, with examples in TypeScript, Python, Go, .NET, Java and Rust, plus an API for the cloud coding agent Qoder Yes, the Cloud Agents public API and an Agent SDK, plus a CLI

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

GitHub Copilot

Strengths

  • Most widely adopted and easy to get approved
  • Widest IDE support
  • Free tier
  • IP indemnity

Limitations

  • Agent and multi-file orchestration trail Cursor and Claude Code
  • New usage-based credits can raise heavy-use cost

Qoder

Strengths

  • In-editor assistance and long-running agent delegation come from one product family and one account
  • Model tiers and named models carry published credit rates, with a free Lite tier and personal API keys accepted
  • ISO/IEC 27001:2022 certified and SOC 2 Type II audited, with privacy mode and audit logs on the organisation plans

Limitations

  • Every paid plan is metered in credits, and running out drops the account to basic models with a daily limit
  • Qoder and Qoder IDE are separate products with separate conversation history and memory, which has to be imported between them

Plans

Pricing

GitHub Copilot

  • Free $0 2,000 completions per month.
  • Pro $10 Per month.
  • Pro+ $39 Per month.
  • Enterprise $39 Per user.
Visit site

Qoder

  • Free $0 Two-week Pro trial with 300 credits, limited completions and next edits, and bring your own key; basic models with limited messages afterwards.
  • Pro $20 Per month. 2,000 credits a month for premium models.
  • Pro+ $60 Per month. 6,000 credits a month for premium models.
  • Ultra $200 Per month. 20,000 credits a month for premium models.
  • Teams Not stated Centralised billing, unified identity, SAML or OIDC single sign-on, privacy mode management and development metrics.
  • Enterprise Not stated Adds group permissions, model policy control, a private marketplace, audit logs and priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

GitHub Copilot

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Qoder

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

GitHub Copilot https://github.com/features/copilot · no check date recorded yet

Qoder https://qoder.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.