CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

AI Image Comparison

OpenArt vs. Pixelcut

At a glance

At a glance

OpenArt

Best for

Best for creators and small studios who want many image and video models under one subscription, with a character that stays consistent across a whole set.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Pixelcut

Best for

Best for sellers and small brands producing product visuals in volume rather than single crafted images.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion OpenArt Pixelcut
Starting price Free tier; Starter $14 / seat / month Billed annually the rates fall to $13 for Starter, $27 for Plus (from $34), $44 for Pro (from $56) and $175 for Wonder (from $240) per seat per month. Plans are credit-based, from 4,000 credits a month on Starter to 106,000 on Wonder, and an extra-credit add-on is $15 a month for 5,000 credits. lower value Free plan; Pro $10 / month, Business $30 / month Monthly amounts as shown on the vendor's pricing page. Paid yearly they fall around 20 percent, to $8 and $24 a month. Pro includes 600 AI credits a month and three team members, Business starts at 3,600 credits a month with ten and scales in higher tiers, which the vendor lists up to 180,000 credits a month. Team members are included rather than charged per seat.
Free trial Free tier with a set of credits on sign-up, no credit card required Free plan with limited background removal and upscaling, and watermark-free export
Users More than 10 million creators, brands and studios, per the vendor Not stated
Commercial use The pricing page lists commercial use rights on the Plus plan and above Commercial licence on the paid plans
Output Images and video up to 15 seconds and up to 4K, plus AI audio and music with lip-sync Images and short videos: cutouts, upscales, generated backgrounds, product shots, AI ads and talking videos
API No REST API; an MCP server at mcp.openart.ai/mcp and a command-line tool provide programmatic access, authenticated over OAuth with no API key Yes, credit-based at $0.01 per credit, plus an official MCP server
Languages Lip-sync in over 30 languages Not stated
Hosting Cloud (web) Cloud (SaaS)
Where you use it A browser-based platform with a free tier and four credit-based paid tiers. All plans include watermark-free creation and access to the vendor's catalogue of more than 100 premium models Web app plus iOS and Android apps, an API, and an official MCP server for Claude, Claude Code and Cowork
Text in images Not a capability of its own. Asked how to generate accurate text in images, the vendor's help centre answers that AI struggles with text and points to specialised models or the editing tools, so lettering depends on which model from the catalogue is chosen rather than on an OpenArt feature Depends on the model picked for the job. The vendor singles out Imagen 3 and Ideogram as the ones for "diverse, artistic styles and text-rendering capabilities", and makes no text claim for the Flux models it lists alongside them
Customization and control Character training to hold one subject consistent across images, scenes and video; model training in four modes for styles, themes and visual patterns; in-canvas editing with erase, expand, background swap, restyle and upscale to 4K; camera angle control, Smart Shot for several cinematic cuts, motion retargeting onto a character and a Director mode for multi-shot sequences A choice of third-party models per job, among them Nano Banana, Flux, Seedream, Recraft, Ideogram, Sora 2, Veo and Kling, with editors around them: background removal, generative fill, precise erasing, expand, shadow generation, upscaling up to 16x and batch editing across hundreds of files. Personas and AI Actors hold a character consistent across images and video frames
Open weights No weights of its own. OpenArt is a hosted platform that runs third-party models, naming GPT Image 2, Nano Banana Pro, Seedream 5.0, Sora 2, Kling 3.0, Google Veo 3, Grok Imagine and MiniMax Hailuo among more than 100 No
MCP-ready Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Community forum Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor, Kimi Claude, Claude Code

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price OpenArt Free tier; Starter $14 / seat / month Pixelcut Free plan; Pro $10 / month, Business $30 / month
  • Free trial OpenArt Free tier with a set of credits on sign-up, no credit card required Pixelcut Free plan with limited background removal and upscaling, and watermark-free export
  • Hosting OpenArt Cloud (web) Pixelcut Cloud (SaaS)
  • Support OpenArt Email helpdesk, Community forum Pixelcut Email helpdesk
  • Commercial use OpenArt The pricing page lists commercial use rights on the Plus plan and above Pixelcut Commercial licence on the paid plans

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

OpenArt

Strengths

  • More than 100 image and video models behind one subscription
  • Character training holds a subject consistent across images and scenes
  • Image generation, in-canvas editing, video, audio and lip-sync in one place
  • Generations are private by default on every plan, including the free tier
  • Watermark-free output on all plans, per the vendor
  • Reachable from an AI assistant or a terminal through an MCP server and a CLI, with no API key to manage

Limitations

  • No REST API, so anything that needs plain HTTP calls has to go through the MCP server or the CLI instead
  • The pricing page lists commercial use rights only from the Plus plan upward
  • Credit-based plans, and video consumes credits far faster than images
  • Runs third-party models rather than its own, so the catalogue depends on those vendors
  • Browser only; no self-hosted or offline option

Pixelcut

Strengths

  • Generator and production editor in one place, with batch editing across hundreds of files
  • Access to a broad list of third-party image and video models under a single subscription
  • Official MCP server, installable as a connector without API keys
  • Credit-priced API with published per-operation costs
  • Team members included in the plan rather than charged per seat

Limitations

  • Commercial licence starts on the paid plans
  • Credits meter the advanced models, and the heavier ones consume them quickly
  • Free plan limits background removal and upscaling
  • Depends on third-party models, so what is available can change with the vendor's model list

Plans

Pricing

OpenArt

  • Free $0 A set of free credits on sign-up, no credit card required.
  • Starter $14 Per seat per month, or $13 billed annually. 4,000 credits a month, 8 parallel generations.
  • Plus $34 Per seat per month, or $27 billed annually. 12,000 credits a month, 16 parallel generations, commercial use rights.
  • Pro $56 Per seat per month, or $44 billed annually. 24,000 credits a month, 32 parallel generations, commercial use rights and priority support.
  • Wonder $240 Per seat per month, or $175 billed annually. 106,000 credits a month, 32 parallel generations, unlimited FLUX 3 creation, commercial use rights and priority support.
Visit site

Pixelcut

  • Free $0 Limited background removal and upscaling, with watermark-free export.
  • Pro $10 Per month, or $8 a month paid yearly. 600 AI credits a month, all AI models, unlimited background removal and upscaling, three team members, 1,000 batch exports a month and a commercial licence.
  • Business $30 Per month, or $24 a month paid yearly. From 3,600 AI credits a month, ten team members, 2,000 batch exports a month and a commercial licence. Higher tiers within the plan raise the credit allowance.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

OpenArt

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Pixelcut

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

OpenArt https://openart.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-18

Pixelcut https://www.pixelcut.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-09-21

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.