CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Project Management Comparison

Akiflow vs. Basecamp

At a glance

At a glance

Akiflow

Best for

Best for professionals who lose the day switching between tools and want every task in one queue and on one calendar.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Basecamp

Best for

Best for small and remote teams that want projects, chat and docs in one calm, flat-priced tool.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Akiflow Basecamp
Starting price lower value From $19 / user / month Pro, billed yearly and shown on the pricing page as a promotion at 44% off; $34 a month billed monthly. Team pricing is quoted by sales. Free; Freelancer from $25 / month Flat rates for the whole account: Freelancer $25 for up to 3 active projects and 20 users, Studio $59 for up to 10 projects and Pro $99 for up to 25, both with unlimited users, and the Unlimited Edition at $299 per month billed annually. The free plan covers one project, 5 users and 1 GB.
Free trial 7-day free trial Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition
API 16 native integrations plus Zapier and IFTTT, and an official MCP connector in beta Not stated
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with web, desktop and iOS and Android apps Not stated
Made in Italy USA
Task planning Yes, as a single queue rather than a project tree. Tasks and meetings from the connected tools land in one inbox to be cleared, capture runs through a Cmd+K command bar, voice or plain language with special characters for duration, project, tags and deadline, and planned work becomes a calendar slot that can be assigned to a project, colour-coded, set to recur and replanned automatically. Subtasks, labels and priorities are supported; boards and a project hierarchy are not Yes, to-do lists and card tables (Kanban), with per-project schedules and message boards
Resource planning No capacity or workload plan. Team members can see each other's schedules and share booking links for free slots, but work is not assigned from a capacity chart, and team use is quoted separately No dedicated resource planning
Time tracking Time blocking rather than a stopwatch: work is allocated to calendar slots and the Stats view reports how time was spent. Akiflow's own feature list names no start-stop timer Not built in, available as the paid Timesheet add-on
Reporting and controlling Yes, a Stats view that analyses how time was spent to feed the next plan, plus Inbox Zero streaks and task completion progress Yes, the Lineup, Hill Charts and Mission Control for progress
Integrations and API 16 native integrations (Slack, Gmail, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Zoom, Google Calendar, Trello, Todoist, Jira, GitHub, Microsoft Teams, Outlook Calendar, Outlook Email, Linear and Microsoft To Do) plus Zapier and IFTTT. An official MCP connector, in beta, lets Claude, ChatGPT, Cursor and other assistants work with tasks, schedule, events, time slots and Meeting Assistant transcripts. No public REST API is listed Yes, a public API documented on GitHub, plus a directory of third-party integrations and Zapier
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations Slack, Gmail, Notion, Asana, ClickUp, Zoom, Google Calendar, Trello, Todoist, Jira, GitHub, Microsoft Teams, Outlook Calendar, Outlook Email, Linear, Microsoft To Do, Zapier, IFTTT more entries Zapier, Zoho Flow, Harvest, Toggl, Clockify, Everhour, Timely, Tick, GitHub, Honeybadger, Marker.io, TestLodge, Ganttify, Bridge24, Easy Insight, Klipfolio, Grow, Deskpro, SupportBee

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Akiflow From $19 / user / month Basecamp Free; Freelancer from $25 / month
  • Free trial Akiflow 7-day free trial Basecamp Free plan plus a 30-day trial, 45 days on the Unlimited Edition
  • Made in Akiflow Italy Basecamp USA
  • AI features Akiflow Yes Basecamp No
  • MCP-ready Akiflow Yes Basecamp No

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Akiflow

Strengths

  • One inbox for tasks arriving from sixteen native integrations plus Zapier and IFTTT
  • Fast capture through a command bar, voice or plain language, with duration, project, tags and deadline typed inline
  • Official MCP connector, so an AI assistant can work with the same tasks and calendar
  • Every feature sits in one plan rather than being split across tiers
  • Desktop, iOS, Android and web apps rather than the browser alone

Limitations

  • The $19 rate is advertised as a promotion, not the standing yearly price, and monthly billing is $34
  • The MCP connector is in beta and not yet available on every account
  • No capacity or workload view, so it does not replace a team project system
  • No public REST API; anything outside the native integrations goes through Zapier or IFTTT
  • Only a seven-day trial, shorter than most tools in this category

Basecamp

Strengths

  • Flat monthly rates for the account, with no per-user fees
  • Combines to-dos, chat, docs and schedules in one place
  • Unlimited users from the Studio plan upwards

Limitations

  • No native resource planning
  • Time tracking only through a paid add-on
  • Fewer views and reports than dedicated PM tools
  • Every paid plan below the Unlimited Edition caps the number of active projects

Plans

Pricing

Akiflow

  • Pro Yearly $19 Per month, billed yearly. Shown as a promotion at 44% off the monthly rate. Tasks, subtasks, meetings and integrations, the Aki AI assistant and the MCP connector.
  • Pro Monthly $34 Per month, billed monthly. Same feature set as the yearly plan.
  • Teams Not stated Custom pricing, quoted by sales.
Visit site

Basecamp

  • Free $0 One project for personal use, 5 users, 1 GB storage.
  • Freelancer $25 Per month. Up to 3 active projects, 20 users, 5 GB storage.
  • Studio $59 Per month. Up to 10 active projects, unlimited users, 25 GB storage.
  • Pro $99 Per month. Up to 25 active projects, unlimited users, 100 GB storage.
  • Unlimited Edition $299 Per month, billed annually. Unlimited projects, unlimited users, 1 TB storage, with 5 TB more available for $100 per month.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Akiflow

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Basecamp

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Akiflow https://akiflow.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-21

Basecamp https://basecamp.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-14

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.