Best for
Best for engineering organisations that want planning, code, CI/CD and security on one platform.
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Project Management Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for engineering organisations that want planning, code, CI/CD and security on one platform.
Best for
Best for mid-sized to large service providers that need project management and ERP in one method-independent system, with a cloud or on-premise choice.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | GitLab | Projektron BCS |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | Free plan; Premium $29 / user / month Premium is billed annually and includes 10,000 compute minutes and 500 GiB of storage a month; Ultimate is priced on request. The free plan is capped at five users per top-level group. GitLab Credits for AI features cost $1 each, extra compute minutes $10 per 1,000 and extra storage $5 a month per 10 GiB. Enterprise Agile Planning seats for non-developers cost $15 per user and month on Ultimate. | From 20 Euro / licence / month BCS.light in the cloud, per licence and month, six-month minimum term. As a one-off on-premise purchase BCS.light costs 200 Euro per licence with no minimum term. Full BCS costs 300 to 350 Euro per user as an on-premise purchase, or 5 percent of that purchase price per user and month in the cloud; the exact figure depends on the range of functions. All prices exclusive of VAT. |
| Free trial | Free plan | Demo via web conference |
| API | Yes, APIs and webhooks | Not stated |
| Languages | Not stated | Available in 7-8 languages |
| Hosting | GitLab.com SaaS, single-tenant Dedicated or self-managed | Cloud (Germany) or on-premise |
| Made in | Not stated | Germany (Berlin) |
| Task planning | Yes, an agile planning framework with epics, issues and tasks, kanban boards, milestones, roadmaps, issue weights, promotion of an issue to an epic and a planning hierarchy for portfolio work | Yes, project and multi-project management supporting IPMA, PMI, PRINCE2, Scrum, Kanban, Hermes and hybrid methods |
| Resource planning | Limited. Work is assigned to people and weighted, and weights roll up to the parent item as a measure of time, value or complexity, but GitLab's planning documentation describes no capacity, availability or workload view per person | Yes, resource management and planning |
| Time tracking | Yes, hours spent on issues, merge requests, epics and tasks, with estimates, detailed reports and standardised time units | Yes, effort and time tracking |
| Reporting and controlling | Yes, burnup and burndown charts, drill-down reports, code and productivity analytics, insights and health reporting, DORA4 metrics and the Value Streams Dashboard | Yes, real-time status, costs, budgets, KPIs and profitability |
| Integrations and API | Yes, APIs, webhooks and integrations, described by GitLab as how other tools plug into the platform | Yes, API and standard interfaces |
| AI features | stated Yes | No |
| Deployment | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise |
| Support | Email helpdesk, Community forum | Email helpdesk, Phone |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials | Live online demos and webinars, Personal consulting |
| Company size | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise | Small and mid-sized, Enterprise |
| Integrations | more entries Jira, Slack, Microsoft Teams, Confluence, Jenkins, Datadog, GitHub, Asana, Linear, Redmine, Google Chat, Mattermost, Discord, Google Play, Apple App Store Connect, GitGuardian | Jira, Confluence, Microsoft 365, Exchange, SharePoint, Microsoft Teams, Microsoft Entra, Dynamics 365 Business Central, SAP, DATEV, Subversion, Eclipse BIRT |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
GitLab
Strengths
Limitations
Projektron BCS
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
GitLab
Projektron BCS
What users say
GitLab
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Projektron BCS
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
GitLab https://about.gitlab.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-13
Projektron BCS https://www.projektron.de · checked against the official source on 2026-08-14
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.