Canva
Canva AI covers on-brand design generation plus photo, video and 3D content generators.
All-in-one AI design platform for social posts, decks and brand assets, built for non-designers.
- Starting price
- Free tier; Pro $18 / month
- Free trial
- Free tier, plus a free trial of Canva Pro or Canva Business
- Commercial use
- Yes
Overview
Canva is a browser-based design platform for people without design training, with desktop and mobile apps alongside. It covers more than 1,000 design types, from social graphics and presentations to documents, video and brand assets, built from a template library running into millions. Generative AI and Brand Kits for a team's colours, fonts and logos sit in the same editor. It is a freemium subscription, with Pro for one person, Business per person and Enterprise quoted.
Our take
Pick Canva when non-designers have to produce finished, on-brand material and many people need to work inside the same brand rules. A team that plans to generate heavily should budget for Business or the AI Pass add-on rather than expect Pro to carry it. Where a designer needs precise vector or photo work, or output that does not start from a template, a professional design application is the better choice instead.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | Free tier; Pro $18 / month Pro is $144 a year for one person on yearly billing. Business is $25 per person per month, or $250 per person per year; Enterprise is quoted. Prices exclude applicable tax. |
| Free trial | Free tier, plus a free trial of Canva Pro or Canva Business |
| Commercial use | Yes |
| Output | Social graphics, presentations, documents, video and brand assets |
| API | Yes, Connect APIs, an Apps SDK and a remote MCP server |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- What it makes
- Social graphics, presentations, documents, video and brand assets across more than 1,000 design types, from 1.6 million templates on the free plan and 3.6 million on paid plans
- File formats and exchange
- Imports PDFs of up to 500 pages and 300 MB as editable designs, with scanned PDFs arriving as one flattened image, plus Illustrator files saved in PDF-compatible format and Photoshop files, where some layers may be flattened. Downloads JPG, PNG, SVG, PDF Standard and PDF Print, PPTX for presentations and DOCX for Canva Docs; SVG and transparent backgrounds need a paid plan
- Colour management and print
- PDF Print downloads at 300 dpi with an RGB or CMYK colour profile, bleed and crop marks, and Canva advises designing in CMYK because colours are otherwise converted at print time. CMYK export comes with Pro, and finished designs can be ordered as physical prints through Canva Print
- Brand, styles and templates
- Brand Kits (1 with three colours on Free, 5 on Pro, 100 with approvals on Business, 1,000 with tiered approvals on Enterprise), plus Brand Templates and Components from Pro
- Platforms
- Runs in the browser, with desktop apps for Windows 10 and later and macOS, and apps for iOS, Android and Chromebook
- Licence and pricing model
- Freemium subscription: a free plan, Pro for one person and Business per person, each billed monthly or yearly, and Enterprise quoted. Every plan draws AI use from a monthly allowance, with an AI Pass add-on for more
- Export and handoff
- PDF, JPG and PNG export on every plan, print-ready CMYK export from Pro, share links, social content scheduling across platforms from Pro, and publishing to ad platforms
- AI features
- Canva AI with AI-Powered Templates, on-brand design generation, Photo, Video and 3D Content Generators, Magic Layers, Style Match, Magic Background, Resize and Magic Write. Use draws on a monthly allowance: up to 20 uses on Free, 10 times that on Pro and 20 times on Business, with an AI Pass add-on for more. Canva AI 2.0 is announced as coming soon
- API
- Yes. Connect APIs for assets, designs, comments and export, an Apps SDK for apps inside the editor, and a remote MCP server behind Canva's AI Connector for ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot
Integrations
- Google Workspace
- Google Drive
- Dropbox
- OneDrive
- Box
- SharePoint
- HubSpot
- Acquia DAM (Widen)
- Slack
- Microsoft Teams
- Asana
- Salesforce
- ChatGPT
- Claude
- Gemini
- Microsoft Copilot
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Support
-
- Email helpdesk
- Chat
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Video tutorials
- Company size
-
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Suitability
| Industry | Freelancers | Small and mid-sized | Enterprise |
|---|---|---|---|
| Agencies | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
| Architecture & Engineering | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Consulting | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
| Media & Creative | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit | Stated as a fit |
| Technology | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated |
The table combines the industries the vendor addresses with the company sizes the tool is aimed at. An empty cell means the combination is not stated, not that it is ruled out.
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Easiest entry, no design training needed
- Covers social, decks, documents, video and brand in one tool
- Strong free tier with 1.6 million templates
- Official AI Connector lets ChatGPT, Claude, Gemini and Microsoft Copilot work in Canva
Limitations
- AI depth trails specialist image and video tools
- Output can look templated
- AI use is capped by a monthly allowance on every plan
- Support tickets and live chat cover only select issues on the free plan
Pricing
-
Free
$0
1,000+ design types, 1.6 million templates, 1 Brand Kit with three colours, 5 GB of cloud storage and up to 20 Standard or Premium AI uses.
-
Pro
$18 / month
For one person, or $144 a year. Premium templates and content, AI tools, 5 Brand Kits, social content scheduling, 100 GB of storage and 10 times the free AI allowance.
-
Business
$25 / person / month
Or $250 per person per year. Team admin and collaboration tools, 100 Brand Kits with approvals, Flourish, 500 GB of storage and 20 times the free AI allowance.
-
Enterprise
Not stated
Contact sales. SSO and SCIM provisioning, custom apps, 1,000 Brand Kits with tiered approvals and 1 TB of storage; priority support and a dedicated success manager from 150 contracted seats.
Best For
Alternatives and Comparisons
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
How we check reviews
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Ready to take a closer look at Canva
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Canva