CataleoSoftware
For Vendors
AI features

AI and OCR extract document data, categorise expenses and invoices automatically and flag missing or incorrect fields; AI document detection is on the Advanced practice plan.

Captures receipts, invoices and bank statements, extracts the data and publishes it into Xero, QuickBooks or Sage.

Starting price
From $25.21 / month
Free trial
14-day free trial with full access to core features, no payment details required
Commercial use
Yes, a commercial subscription product
Visit Dext

Overview

Dext is a bookkeeping automation platform that sits in front of an accounting ledger rather than replacing one. Documents arrive by mobile app, email, Chrome extension or auto-fetch from the supplier, and OCR with an AI layer extracts the data. It then categorises expenses and invoices, flags missing or inconsistent data, and publishes the result into Xero, QuickBooks or Sage within seconds. There are two product lines: businesses buy a Standard plan by document volume, practices buy Essentials or Advanced priced per client with a minimum of ten clients.

Our take

Dext earns its keep on volume of paperwork, not on the size of the business: a firm processing a few dozen receipts a month will not notice the difference, and one drowning in supplier invoices will. Judge it on the ledger you already run, since the whole value is in what it publishes into Xero, QuickBooks, Sage or MYOB, and it is an extra subscription on top of that ledger rather than a replacement for it. Watch the credit mechanics before you budget: bank statement, line item and supplier statement extraction each come out of an allowance and then cost extra, so the headline price is a floor. Practices should note the ten-client minimum, which rules out testing it on a single account.

Key Facts

Category
Starting price From $25.21 / month Business Standard plan, or $302.50 a year for roughly 20 percent off, covering 250 documents a month and 5 users. Practice plans are priced per client per month with a minimum of 10 clients and 13 percent off annually. Extraction credits and several add-ons are billed separately.
Free trial 14-day free trial with full access to core features, no payment details required
Commercial use Yes, a commercial subscription product
Output Extracted and categorised transaction data published into the accounting ledger, plus stored source documents
Users 5 users on the business Standard plan; practice plans are sold per client
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with mobile and web apps and a Chrome extension

Screenshots

Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.

Features

Invoicing and quotes
No sales invoicing or quoting. Dext captures purchase invoices, receipts and bank statements and publishes them into the ledger, where the invoice is raised. Dext Payments, which the vendor's product page describes as coming soon, pays supplier invoices and expense claims from within Dext with payment batches, multi-step approvals and automatic reconciliation back to the accounting software
Bookkeeping and bank feeds
Bank feeds and bank statement extraction, automatic categorisation, auto-fill of supplier, category and payment method from earlier transactions, supplier rules, reconciliation assistance and bank matching on the Advanced practice plan
Expenses and receipts
Receipt and invoice capture by mobile app, email, Chrome extension or auto-fetch from the supplier, with data extraction the vendor states is over 99 percent accurate, employee expense management and GPS mileage tracking
Tax and compliance
Each captured expense is stored with its receipt, category, VAT data and approval trail, which Dext states keeps records complete, searchable and ready for a tax audit, and mileage claims use official mileage rates. Dext's published feature list includes no tax return filing of its own; the data is published into the connected accounting software
Payroll
No payroll. Dext's published product range covers receipt and invoice capture, business expense management, the receipt scanner app, Vault document storage, accounting software integrations, the AI Assist bookkeeping agent and Dext Payments
Reports and exports
Client data health scoring, practice insights, team productivity dashboards and client deadline dashboards on the Advanced practice plan
Integrations and API
36 or more accounting software integrations, including Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and MYOB, plus e-commerce and payment sources such as Shopify, PayPal and Amazon

Integrations

  • Xero
  • QuickBooks
  • Sage
  • MYOB
  • Shopify
  • PayPal
  • Amazon

Deployment and Support

Deployment
  • Cloud (SaaS)
  • Browser-based
Support
  • Email helpdesk
Onboarding
  • Documentation and knowledge base
  • Live online demos and webinars
Company size
  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Pros and Cons

Strengths

  • Publishes straight into Xero, QuickBooks, Sage and MYOB rather than asking you to change ledger
  • Pulls itemised transactions from marketplaces, point-of-sale systems and payment providers, not only from paper
  • Secure document storage for seven years

Limitations

  • An extra subscription alongside the accounting software, not a replacement for it
  • Line item, supplier statement and bank statement extraction run on credits and cost extra beyond the included allowance
  • Practice plans require a minimum of 10 clients

Pricing

  • Business Standard

    $25.21

    Per month, or $302.50 a year. 250 documents a month, 5 users, and free credits for 10 bank statement, 5 line item and 5 supplier statement extractions.

  • Practice Essentials

    Not stated

    Per client per month, minimum 10 clients. Capture, bank feeds, smart suggestions, supplier rules, Vault storage, 36+ accounting integrations and employee expenses.

  • Practice Advanced

    Not stated

    Per client per month, minimum 10 clients. Adds AI document detection, line item extraction, bank matching, auto-publish, team and location management, deadline dashboards and practice insights.

  • Custom

    Custom

    For high document volumes, complex needs or more than 5 business entities.

Alternatives and Comparisons

What users say

Reviews

-

0 reviews

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Share your experience

Write a Review

Click a star to rate each area. The arrow keys work as well.

Ease of use
User interface
Onboarding
Support and service
Value for money
Features

Only used to check the review. Never published.

Did the vendor invite you to write this review?

Either answer is fine, and an invited review is not rejected for it. We need the answer on the record.

The overall score is the average of the six ratings above. Nothing is weighted, and a paid placement does not change a single one of them.

Last verified:

Ready to take a closer look at Dext

The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.

Visit Dext