CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

Clockify vs. Timely

At a glance

At a glance

Clockify

Best for

Best for budget-conscious teams that need cheap per-seat time tracking with invoicing and approvals on top.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Timely

Best for

Best for people who forget to start timers and want work captured automatically.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Clockify Timely
Starting price lower value Free for up to 5 users; Basic from $3.99 / seat / month Annual billing: Basic $3.99, Standard $5.49, Pro $7.99 and Enterprise $11.99 per seat and month. Billed monthly they are $4.99, $6.99, $9.99 and $14.99. The CAKE.com Bundle is $12.99 annually or $15.99 monthly, and kiosk-only seats cost between $0.79 and $2.39. Starter from $9 / user / month Billed yearly; $11 billed monthly. Premium $16 and Unlimited $22 per user and month billed yearly ($20 and $28 monthly), Enterprise on request. Starter is capped at 5 users and 20 projects. A Tasks add-on starts at $5 per person.
Free trial Free plan for up to 5 users 14-day trial
API Yes, a documented public REST API with webhooks Not stated
Languages Multiple Not stated
Made in Not stated Norway
Time tracking Yes, timer, manual entry, weekly timesheets, a calendar view and an automatic activity tracker, with unlimited projects and clients on every plan Yes, automatic activity capture with AI-drafted timesheets, plus idle detection and an optional manual timer
Invoicing Yes, from the Standard plan upwards; expenses and budgeting come with Pro Yes, invoices raised in Timely and sent to QuickBooks Online; accounting integrations from the Premium plan
Reporting and controlling Yes, with project budgets and team attendance; the free plan limits report ranges to one month Yes, project dashboards with budgets and billable rates, a people view for capacity and allocation, plus overtime and undertime reporting on the top plan
Integrations and API Yes, a documented public REST API covering time entries, projects, tasks, users, approvals, invoices and expenses, with webhooks limited to 3 on the free plan, 100 per workspace on the paid plans and 300 on Enterprise Yes, API access on every plan, plus around 90 integrations
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Chat
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Asana, Jira, Trello, Notion, Salesforce, Zendesk, GitHub, Azure DevOps, Google Calendar, Google Sheets, Gmail, QuickBooks, Xero, Zapier Asana, Trello, Jira, monday.com, ClickUp, Linear, Google Calendar, Outlook, GitHub, Slack, QuickBooks, Xero, Toggl, Zapier

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Clockify Free for up to 5 users; Basic from $3.99 / seat / month Timely Starter from $9 / user / month
  • Free trial Clockify Free plan for up to 5 users Timely 14-day trial
  • Support Clockify Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, 24/7, Community forum Timely Chat
  • AI features Clockify No Timely Yes
  • Time tracking Clockify Yes, timer, manual entry, weekly timesheets, a calendar view and an automatic activity tracker, with unlimited projects and clients on every plan Timely Yes, automatic activity capture with AI-drafted timesheets, plus idle detection and an optional manual timer

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Clockify

Strengths

  • Free plan for up to five users, with unlimited projects and unlimited tracking
  • Among the cheapest paid seats in the category, from $3.99 a seat and month
  • Documented REST API with webhooks, and more than 100 app integrations
  • Broad feature set including kiosk mode, scheduling and activity monitoring
  • 24/7 support by email, chat and phone on every plan

Limitations

  • Reporting less refined than Toggl
  • Invoicing, approvals, scheduling and expenses each sit a tier apart
  • Free reports only cover a one-month range

Timely

Strengths

  • Automatic tracking, no forgotten timers
  • AI-drafted timesheets
  • Memory is private to each user until they submit it
  • Invoices can be raised and pushed to QuickBooks Online

Limitations

  • Pricier than simple trackers
  • Automatic approach is a different workflow
  • Starter is capped at five users and twenty projects
  • Capacity management, overtime and undertime only on the top plan
  • Tasks is a paid add-on rather than part of a plan

Plans

Pricing

Clockify

  • Free $0 Up to 5 users. Unlimited tracking and unlimited projects, with report ranges limited to one month and no invoicing, approvals, scheduling or expenses.
  • Basic $3.99 Per seat and month, billed annually, or $4.99 monthly. Adds administrative controls, kiosk access and bulk editing.
  • Standard $5.49 Per seat and month, billed annually, or $6.99 monthly. Adds time off, invoicing, approvals and attendance tracking.
  • Pro $7.99 Per seat and month, billed annually, or $9.99 monthly. Adds activity monitoring, scheduling, expenses and budgeting.
  • Enterprise $11.99 Per seat and month, billed annually, or $14.99 monthly. Adds single sign-on, a custom subdomain, SCIM provisioning and audit logging.
  • CAKE.com Bundle $12.99 Per seat and month, billed annually, or $15.99 monthly.
Visit site

Timely

  • Starter $9 Per user and month billed yearly, $11 monthly. Capped at 5 users and 20 projects. Automatic tracking, AI timesheets, billable-hour reporting, in-app support and API access.
  • Premium $16 Per user and month billed yearly, $20 monthly. Capped at 50 users. Adds project-management and accounting integrations, team management, budgets and costs, and planning.
  • Unlimited $22 Per user and month billed yearly, $28 monthly. Unlimited users. Adds capacity management and reporting, overtime and undertime, Azure user management and 50+ currencies.
  • Enterprise Not stated On request. Adds tailored onboarding and setup, team training, regular reviews, reporting support and priority support.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Clockify

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Timely

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Clockify https://clockify.me · checked against the official source on 2026-09-15

Timely https://www.timely.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.