CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Writing Assistance & Style Comparison

BriefCatch vs. Sapling

At a glance

At a glance

BriefCatch

Best for

Best for litigators and law firms that want legal-style edits and a citation check on briefs and motions before filing.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Sapling

Best for

Best for support and sales teams who want grammar checking, snippets and autocomplete inside their help desk or CRM.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion BriefCatch Sapling
Starting price $60 / seat / month Individual plan for one seat, billed annually. Pro is $75 per seat per month billed annually with a minimum of five seats; Enterprise from 20 seats is priced on request. lower value Free; Pro $25 / month Pro is $12 per month billed annually. Enterprise starts at 10 seats at $15 per seat per month. The API is billed by usage with a one-time $5 minimum.
Free trial 7-day free trial with an email, Google or Microsoft account, no credit card required Free tier; 1-month free trial of Pro
Team size Individual up to 1 seat, Pro from 5 seats, Enterprise from 20 seats Not stated
Output Edit suggestions in the document, citation-format corrections, document and readability scores, and a PDF report of citation verdicts Grammar, spelling and style corrections, autocomplete suggestions and AI detection scores
API Not stated Yes, usage-based REST API with Python and JavaScript SDKs, grammar checking from $0.025 per 1,000 input characters
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) with a Microsoft Word add-in Cloud (SaaS) on Amazon Web Services; self-hosted deployment on Enterprise
What it works on Legal documents such as briefs, motions, memos, opinions and contracts, reviewed in Microsoft Word, in the web app, or from Google Drive and OneDrive; Outlook on Pro and above Messages, replies, emails and documents written in help desks, CRMs, chat tools and office apps, checked as they are typed
Checks covered Writing and style suggestions for legal documents and citation-format corrections, plus RealityCheck, which gives each citation a verdict of Correct, Caution, Incorrect or Not Verifiable and tags quotations that do not appear in the cited source Grammar, spelling, punctuation and style, with advanced writing suggestions on Pro and Enterprise. Separate checkers for tone, inclusive language and AI-generated text
Style guide and tone Rules drawn from thousands of legal documents and judicial opinions, applied to reinforce firm-wide style and reasoning A style guide checker against your own house-style rules, a shared snippet library with text expansion (20 snippets free, unlimited on Pro), and custom dictionaries and mappings through the API
Scores and reports A Reports panel with review progress, document scores, readability, strengths and improvement ideas, plus a downloadable PDF report with every RealityCheck verdict A writing quality score from 1 to 5 with per-sentence scores, Flesch-Kincaid readability, and an AI detector with an overall score plus per-sentence predictions. Team analytics on Enterprise
AI rewriting BriefChat, an AI writing assistant on every plan, answers legal writing questions, brainstorms language and gives drafting assistance without leaving BriefCatch Yes, Rephrase rewrites for tone, formality and clarity, and autocomplete works across apps, both on Pro and Enterprise; suggested replies (Chat assist) on Enterprise
Languages Not stated Grammar and spelling in English, Chinese, Dutch, German, Korean, Spanish, French, Italian, Japanese, Polish, Portuguese and Swedish, spelling only in more than two dozen others. Languages other than English are part of the Enterprise product
Where it runs A task pane add-in for Microsoft Word, a web app with a full editor, Google Drive and OneDrive integration, and an Outlook add-in on Pro and Enterprise; real-time updates are not available in Word for the web Browser extensions for Chrome, Firefox and Edge, with setup guides for Opera and Brave, add-ons for Google Docs, Google Slides, Word, Gmail, Outlook and PowerPoint, more than 70 integration guides for help desks, CRMs and editors, and an SDK for rich-text editors. Self-hosted on Enterprise
Privacy and data handling The vendor states that text is never stored, shared or used for training, and the product carries SOC 2 Type II certification SOC 2 Type II certified and GDPR compliant, with support for HIPAA and PCI requirements, TLS in transit and AES-256 at rest. Enterprise adds custom storage and retention options and self-hosting
Teams and sharing Pro is an organisation-level licence from five seats with the Learning Hub; Enterprise adds AI resource management, advanced role-based access control and a dedicated customer success manager Yes, Enterprise from 10 seats adds domain administration, team analytics, bulk user provisioning, SSO and SCIM, audit logs and role-based access
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
Support Email helpdesk Email helpdesk
Onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Microsoft Word, Microsoft Outlook, Google Drive, OneDrive more entries Chrome, Mozilla Firefox, Microsoft Edge, Google Docs, Google Slides, Microsoft Word, Gmail, Outlook, PowerPoint, Zendesk, Salesforce, ServiceNow, Amazon Connect, Twilio Flex, Intercom, Freshdesk, HubSpot, Slack, Microsoft Teams, TinyMCE, CKEditor

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price BriefCatch $60 / seat / month Sapling Free; Pro $25 / month
  • Free trial BriefCatch 7-day free trial with an email, Google or Microsoft account, no credit card required Sapling Free tier; 1-month free trial of Pro
  • Deployment BriefCatch Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Sapling Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise
  • Hosting BriefCatch Cloud (SaaS) with a Microsoft Word add-in Sapling Cloud (SaaS) on Amazon Web Services; self-hosted deployment on Enterprise
  • MCP-ready BriefCatch No Sapling Yes

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

BriefCatch

Strengths

  • Rules drawn from legal documents and judicial opinions rather than general prose
  • Citation substance check with a verdict per citation and a PDF report
  • Works in Word and in a browser, with Google Drive and OneDrive
  • SOC 2 Type II certification on every plan

Limitations

  • Outlook add-in only from the five-seat Pro plan
  • RealityCheck spends AI credits, which are capped per seat and month
  • No monthly billing, every published plan is billed annually

Sapling

Strengths

  • Works inside help desks, CRMs and messaging tools, with more than 70 integration guides
  • Self-hosted deployment for HIPAA and PCI requirements
  • Usage-based API with Python and JavaScript SDKs
  • Shared snippets and autocomplete for repetitive replies

Limitations

  • Languages other than English are reserved for the Enterprise plan
  • Team features start at 10 seats
  • The free tier limits AI detector checks to 2,000 characters

Plans

Pricing

BriefCatch

  • Individual $60 / seat / month Billed annually, one seat, 650 AI credits per month. Web app, RealityCheck citation checker, Word add-in, Google Drive and OneDrive integration.
  • Pro $75 / seat / month Billed annually, minimum five seats, 700 AI credits per seat per month. Adds the Outlook add-in, the full Learning Hub and an organisation-level licence.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing from 20 seats, billed annually. Adds AI resource management, premium integrations, advanced role-based access control and 24/7 support with a dedicated customer success manager.
Visit site

Sapling

  • Free $0 Basic writing suggestions, 20 snippets, AI detector checks up to 2,000 characters.
  • Pro $25 Per month, or $12 per month billed annually. Advanced suggestions, unlimited snippets, autocomplete, rephrasing, AI detector checks up to 100,000 characters, email and ticket support.
  • Enterprise $15 Per seat per month, from 10 seats. Adds Chat assist, custom integrations, self-hosting, SSO and SCIM, team analytics and a dedicated support contact.
  • API Usage-based Metered language and AI detection APIs, one-time $5 minimum.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

BriefCatch

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Sapling

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

BriefCatch https://briefcatch.com · checked against the official source on 2026-10-20

Sapling https://sapling.ai · checked against the official source on 2026-10-13

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.