Best for
Best for Australian and New Zealand small businesses that want cloud accounting with GST, BAS and payroll built in, and the option of a desktop AccountRight plan.
- Freelancers
- Small and mid-sized
No tools match
Press / to search, arrow keys to move, Enter to open
Accounting & Invoicing Comparison
At a glance
Best for
Best for Australian and New Zealand small businesses that want cloud accounting with GST, BAS and payroll built in, and the option of a desktop AccountRight plan.
Best for
Best for German freelancers and small businesses that keep their own books and want e-invoicing, bank sync and ELSTER filing without paying for a plan they have not grown into yet.
Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.
| Criterion | MYOB | sevdesk |
|---|---|---|
| Starting price | From AUD 99 / year Solo plan at its regular annual price, for sole traders, in the mobile app only. Business plans start at AUD 315 / year for Business Lite. | Free for up to 3 invoices per month, otherwise from €11.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly, per month plus VAT: Rechnung €11.90, Buchhaltung €25.90 and Buchhaltung Pro €34.90. Annual billing lowers these to €9.90, €22.90 and €30.90 per month, and a 24-month term lowers them further. sevdesk additionally advertises a promotional discount on top of these rates. |
| Free trial | Free for 14 days on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus | 14 days free, no credit card required, alongside a permanently free plan limited to 3 invoices per month |
| Users | Not stated | More than 130,000 companies |
| API | Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0 | Yes, a REST API, available from the Buchhaltung Pro plan |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS); AccountRight Plus also runs on the desktop | Cloud (SaaS) |
| Made in | Australia | Germany |
| Invoicing and quotes | Yes, unlimited invoices and quotes on every plan | Yes, quotes and invoices from customisable templates, with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices and payment reminders |
| Bookkeeping and bank feeds | Yes, bank feeds and reconciliation, two accounts on the entry plans and unlimited on Business Pro and AccountRight Plus | Yes, online banking for more than 4,000 banks with automatic transaction matching, and single or double-entry bookkeeping |
| Expenses and receipts | Yes, bills and expenses, with receipt scanning and storage: built into the Solo app and available through the MYOB Assist app on the Business plans | Yes, AI-assisted receipt capture through the mobile app or by email |
| Tax and compliance | Yes, GST tracking on every plan and full GST and BAS on the business plans, with Single Touch Payroll for payroll reporting | Yes, VAT advance return (UStVA), EÜR and P&L filed to ELSTER directly, plus DATEV-compliant and ADDISON exports for the tax adviser (Germany) |
| Payroll | Included on AccountRight Plus; a per-employee add-on on Business Lite and Business Pro; also sold as a standalone Payroll Only plan | No, sevdesk does not produce payroll or salary statements |
| Reports and exports | Yes, from simple summaries on Solo to comprehensive reporting on AccountRight Plus | Yes, BWA, trial balance lists and a real-time financial dashboard |
| Integrations and API | Yes, the MYOB Business API, a REST/JSON API using OAuth 2.0 | Yes, a REST API, from the Buchhaltung Pro plan |
| AI features | Yes | Yes |
| Deployment | more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise | Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based |
| Support | more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat, Community forum | Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat |
| Onboarding | Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials | Not stated |
| Company size | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized | Freelancers, Small and mid-sized |
| Integrations | Not stated | DATEV, ADDISON |
Adds a column to the table, from the tools in this category.
Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.
The short version
Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.
The trade-offs
MYOB
Strengths
Limitations
sevdesk
Strengths
Limitations
Plans
MYOB
sevdesk
What users say
MYOB
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
sevdesk
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Where this comes from
MYOB https://www.myob.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-19
sevdesk https://www.sevdesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-27
This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.