CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Accounting & Invoicing Comparison

sevdesk vs. Zoho Invoice

At a glance

At a glance

sevdesk

Best for

Best for German freelancers and small businesses that keep their own books and want e-invoicing, bank sync and ELSTER filing without paying for a plan they have not grown into yet.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Zoho Invoice

Best for

Best for freelancers and small consultancies that need to quote, track billable time and chase invoices without paying for a full accounting package.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion sevdesk Zoho Invoice
Starting price Free for up to 3 invoices per month, otherwise from €11.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly, per month plus VAT: Rechnung €11.90, Buchhaltung €25.90 and Buchhaltung Pro €34.90. Annual billing lowers these to €9.90, €22.90 and €30.90 per month, and a 24-month term lowers them further. sevdesk additionally advertises a promotional discount on top of these rates. Free There is no paid tier. The free plan covers up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account, and adds a Zoho Invoice line to documents.
Free trial 14 days free, no credit card required, alongside a permanently free plan limited to 3 invoices per month Free plan; no paid tier
Users More than 130,000 companies Up to 2 users on the free plan
API Yes, a REST API, available from the Buchhaltung Pro plan Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
Made in Germany Not stated
Invoicing and quotes Yes, quotes and invoices from customisable templates, with XRechnung and ZUGFeRD e-invoices and payment reminders Yes, professional invoices and custom quotes that convert to invoices, recurring invoices, a client portal for viewing and paying, and payment collection by card, ACH and e-wallet through integrated gateways
Bookkeeping and bank feeds Yes, online banking for more than 4,000 banks with automatic transaction matching, and single or double-entry bookkeeping No, Zoho Invoice covers billing and payment collection rather than bookkeeping; bank reconciliation and the general ledger sit in Zoho Books
Expenses and receipts Yes, AI-assisted receipt capture through the mobile app or by email Yes, expenses are recorded and converted into billable line items on an invoice
Tax and compliance Yes, VAT advance return (UStVA), EÜR and P&L filed to ELSTER directly, plus DATEV-compliant and ADDISON exports for the tax adviser (Germany) Yes, taxes are calculated automatically from the tax authorities and rates defined for the organisation
Payroll No, sevdesk does not produce payroll or salary statements No
Reports and exports Yes, BWA, trial balance lists and a real-time financial dashboard Yes, a dashboard and business reports covering accounts receivable ageing, top customers, product performance and expenses
Integrations and API Yes, a REST API, from the Buchhaltung Pro plan Yes, a REST API covering invoices, estimates, recurring invoices, contacts, expenses, projects, payments, credit notes, items, taxes and time tracking, plus integration with Zoho CRM
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Not stated
Onboarding Not stated Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Freelancers, Small and mid-sized Freelancers, Small and mid-sized
Integrations DATEV, ADDISON Zoho CRM, Zoho Books

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price sevdesk Free for up to 3 invoices per month, otherwise from €11.90 / month plus VAT Zoho Invoice Free
  • Free trial sevdesk 14 days free, no credit card required, alongside a permanently free plan limited to 3 invoices per month Zoho Invoice Free plan; no paid tier
  • Hosting sevdesk Cloud (SaaS) Zoho Invoice Cloud (SaaS), with apps for iOS, Android, Windows and Mac and a Chrome extension
  • Users sevdesk More than 130,000 companies Zoho Invoice Up to 2 users on the free plan
  • API sevdesk Yes, a REST API, available from the Buchhaltung Pro plan Zoho Invoice Yes, a REST API on the free plan, limited to 1,000 requests per day, 100 requests per minute and 5 concurrent calls

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

sevdesk

Strengths

  • Permanently free plan for up to three invoices a month, no credit card
  • AI-assisted receipt capture and automatic matching against bank transactions
  • UStVA, EÜR and P&L filed to ELSTER directly, with DATEV and ADDISON exports
  • Personal support by live chat, email and phone on the paid plans

Limitations

  • No payroll: salary statements cannot be produced in sevdesk
  • The REST API only comes with the top plan, Buchhaltung Pro
  • Built around German tax rules, ELSTER and DATEV, so it suits German businesses specifically
  • The lowest advertised rates need a 12-month or 24-month commitment

Zoho Invoice

Strengths

  • Genuinely free rather than a trial, with no paid tier to upgrade to
  • REST API included on the free plan, with a 1,000-request daily allowance
  • Time tracking and expenses convert straight into invoiced line items
  • Client portal lets customers view invoices, pay and respond to quotes

Limitations

  • Billing only: no bank reconciliation, no general ledger and no payroll
  • Capped at 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations
  • Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line
  • Outgrowing the limits means moving to a different Zoho product

Plans

Pricing

sevdesk

  • Kostenlos Free Permanently free, no credit card. Limited to 3 invoices or e-invoices per month, with unlimited contacts and products.
  • Rechnung €11.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €9.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Unlimited invoicing and e-invoices, templates, payment reminders, tax adviser access.
  • Buchhaltung €25.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €22.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Adds AI receipt capture, online banking, UStVA, EÜR and P&L, cash book.
  • Buchhaltung Pro €34.90 / month plus VAT Billed monthly; €30.90 / month on annual billing and less on a 24-month term. Adds cost centres, the REST API and BWA reporting.
Visit site

Zoho Invoice

  • Free $0 The only plan. Up to 2 users, 500 invoices per year and 2 organisations under one Zoho account. Includes invoices and quotes, recurring invoices, payment gateways, expenses, time tracking, the client portal, tax calculation, reports and the REST API. Documents carry a Zoho Invoice line.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

sevdesk

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Zoho Invoice

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

sevdesk https://www.sevdesk.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-27

Zoho Invoice https://www.zoho.com/invoice/ · checked against the official source on 2026-09-05

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.