CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

ERP Comparison

Dolibarr vs. Exact Online

At a glance

At a glance

Dolibarr

Best for

Best for small companies and freelancers that want to own their ERP and CRM data and can run or rent a server for it.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Exact Online

Best for

Best for small and mid-sized companies that want accounting and ERP in one cloud platform, chosen by business type rather than by tier.

  • Small and mid-sized

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Dolibarr Exact Online
Starting price Free to self-host; DoliCloud from €14 / user / month The software itself is a free download under GPL-3+ and you provide the hosting. On the official DoliCloud service, Dolibarr Basic is 14 euro per user and month and Dolibarr Premium starts at 45 euro per month. From $25 / month US price list, excluding VAT. The ERP packages are priced separately: Time & Billing $158, Project Management from $316, Wholesale Distribution from $237 and Manufacturing from $422 per month.
Free trial Free to download and self-host; DoliCloud offers a 30-day trial without a credit card Yes, a free trial is offered on every package
Team size Freelancers, small, medium and large companies, foundations and associations Not stated
Users Not stated More than 675,000 companies use Exact software
API Yes, an optional REST API module with key-based authentication and a built-in API explorer Yes, the Exact Online REST API
Hosting Self-hosted on Windows, Linux or macOS, via Docker, or hosted on DoliCloud Cloud; Exact for Manufacturing can also run on-premise or in a customer cloud
Project costing Yes, projects as a hierarchy of tasks with a budget field and time recorded per task and user, and invoices generated from time spent; proposals, orders, supplier invoices and expense reports link to the project Yes, via Exact for Project Management, with budget, cost and margin tracking per project
Invoicing Yes, customer and supplier invoices, template invoices, payments and bank reconciliation, plus a point-of-sale module Yes, including converting recorded hours into project invoices, with reminders for outstanding items
Digital receipt capture Scans can be attached to expense reports and other records; the module documentation describes no OCR capture Yes, via the Scan & Recognise add-on, which reads paperwork photographed with a smartphone or tablet
Reporting and controlling Double-entry accounting with transactions grouped in journals, and general ledger exports in CSV, the French FEC format and formats for Sage, Cegid, EBP, Ciel, Quadratus and Cogilog Yes, dashboards across the process from sales to invoicing, plus business analytics and the Exact Insights add-on
Time tracking Yes, timesheets in the HR module and time spent per task and user in the project module Yes, time registration with a planning board that assigns staff by skill and capacity
Integrations and API Yes, an optional REST API module authenticated by an API key, with a built-in explorer, plus import and export tools, the Module Builder and the DoliStore add-on marketplace Yes, a REST API with webhooks, plus more than 220 add-ons in the Add-on Center
AI features No stated Yes
Deployment more entries Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Community forum more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Community forum
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials
Company size more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized
Integrations more entries LDAP, Stripe, PayPal, Paybox, PrestaShop, Magento, WooCommerce, OpenCart, osCommerce, Google Calendar, Google Contacts, Google Maps Shopify, WooCommerce, HubSpot, Salesforce, Stripe, Mollie

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Dolibarr Free to self-host; DoliCloud from €14 / user / month Exact Online From $25 / month
  • Free trial Dolibarr Free to download and self-host; DoliCloud offers a 30-day trial without a credit card Exact Online Yes, a free trial is offered on every package
  • Deployment Dolibarr Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based, On-premise Exact Online Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
  • Company size Dolibarr Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Exact Online Small and mid-sized
  • Hosting Dolibarr Self-hosted on Windows, Linux or macOS, via Docker, or hosted on DoliCloud Exact Online Cloud; Exact for Manufacturing can also run on-premise or in a customer cloud

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Dolibarr

Strengths

  • Free and open source under GPL-3+, with no per-seat cost when self-hosted
  • Modular: each area is switched on separately, so unused parts stay out of the interface
  • Runs from packaged installers, a plain PHP stack or Docker, and moves between self-hosting and DoliCloud
  • Module Builder and the DoliStore marketplace for extensions
  • Accounting exports in the FEC format and in formats for several accounting packages

Limitations

  • Self-hosting means running and patching a PHP and database stack yourself
  • Project planning has no capacity-based scheduling and no critical path
  • No OCR receipt capture documented; scans are attached by hand

Exact Online

Strengths

  • Package prices are published, which is uncommon for an ERP of this size
  • Separate packages for accounting, wholesale distribution, manufacturing, projects and time and billing
  • Documented REST API with webhooks and an Add-on Center with 220+ add-ons
  • Scan & Recognise automates entry of invoices and receipts from a phone photo

Limitations

  • Scope is tied to the package you buy, so growing into another one is a commercial step
  • Warehouse management is an add-on rather than part of the manufacturing package
  • Published prices exclude VAT and vary by region

Plans

Pricing

Dolibarr

  • Self-hosted €0 The software is a free download under GPL-3+; you provide the server and the maintenance.
  • Dolibarr Basic €14 Per user and month on DoliCloud, the official hosted service, with a 30-day trial and no credit card required.
  • Dolibarr Premium €45 From, per month on DoliCloud.
Visit site

Exact Online

  • Exact for Accounting $25 Per month, excluding VAT. $25 to $38 depending on the edition.
  • Exact for Accountancy $131 Per month, excluding VAT. For accountancy practices.
  • Exact for Time & Billing $158 Per month, excluding VAT.
  • Exact for Wholesale Distribution $237 Per month, excluding VAT. $237 to $554 depending on the edition.
  • Exact for Project Management $316 Per month, excluding VAT. $316 to $369 depending on the edition.
  • Exact for Manufacturing $422 Per month, excluding VAT. $422 to $739 depending on the edition.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Dolibarr

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Exact Online

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Dolibarr https://www.dolibarr.org · checked against the official source on 2026-09-10

Exact Online https://www.exact.com · no check date recorded yet

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.