CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

SEO Tools Comparison

Profound vs. Scrunch

At a glance

At a glance

Profound

Best for

Best for brand and agency marketing teams that want to measure and work on their visibility in AI answer engines as a channel of its own.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Scrunch

Best for

Best for brand and agency teams that want to act on AI search findings, auditing and rewriting pages rather than only reporting visibility.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Profound Scrunch
Starting price Free Trial; Enterprise pricing on request The Trial runs for 7 days. Enterprise is custom, and the self-serve Agency Growth plan for agencies is named without an amount. From $250 / month Starter plan billed annually, or $300 month to month. Includes 3 user licences, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas and 5 page audits; extra seats cost $25 per month.
Free trial Free Trial plan: 50 prompts run daily for 7 days across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, one language and one region 7-day free trial of the Starter plan, no credit card required
API Yes on Enterprise, plus a hosted MCP server at mcp.tryprofound.com Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Keyword research Prompt Volumes instead of classic keyword research: what people ask answer engines, with views by region and demographics and keyword hierarchies Custom prompts plus an industry prompt library (1,000 on Starter, 2,500 on Growth) and audience personas, rather than classic keyword research
Rank tracking Brand visibility, position, sentiment and citations across answer engines rather than classic search rankings; up to nine engines tracked on Enterprise Mentions, position, sentiment and citations across AI platforms, sliced by topic, persona, funnel stage and country, with competitor benchmarking
Site audit No classic technical SEO crawl. Agent Analytics reports how AI crawlers and answer engines interact with the site, and brand-consistency scanning checks owned properties Yes, domain and page level auditing that shows which pages draw AI traffic and which technical or content issues block citations; 5 page audits on Starter, 10 on Growth
Backlink data No backlink index. Citation analytics show which sources answer engines draw on instead No backlink index. Citation analysis shows which sources AI answers draw on, plus detection of crawl failures
Content optimisation Yes, the AI Marketer agent drafts and optimises content for AI search, plus a social calendar, PR outreach and product launch kits, all routed for human approval Yes, the Optimizer updates page content for AI answers either automatically or as recommendations, and the Agent Experience Platform serves a machine-readable version of a page to AI agents
Index and market coverage ChatGPT, Perplexity, Google AI Mode, Gemini, Microsoft Copilot, DeepSeek, Claude, Google AI Overviews and Exa Search on Enterprise; the free Trial covers ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini and Copilot, with breakdowns by topic, persona, funnel stage and country
Integrations and API API access on Enterprise, plus a hosted MCP server and external MCP connectors; CSV and JSON exports Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan, returning full AI answers, citations, sentiment, competitor mentions and metadata per prompt run
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready stated Yes No
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base Documentation and knowledge base
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor, Cline, Akamai, AWS, Cloudflare, Fastly, Google Analytics, Google Cloud Platform, Netlify, Vercel, WordPress Not stated

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Profound Free Trial; Enterprise pricing on request Scrunch From $250 / month
  • Free trial Profound Free Trial plan: 50 prompts run daily for 7 days across ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, one language and one region Scrunch 7-day free trial of the Starter plan, no credit card required
  • MCP-ready Profound Yes Scrunch No
  • API Profound Yes on Enterprise, plus a hosted MCP server at mcp.tryprofound.com Scrunch Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan
  • Keyword research Profound Prompt Volumes instead of classic keyword research: what people ask answer engines, with views by region and demographics and keyword hierarchies Scrunch Custom prompts plus an industry prompt library (1,000 on Starter, 2,500 on Growth) and audience personas, rather than classic keyword research

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Profound

Strengths

  • Built for answer engine optimisation from the start rather than retrofitted from an SEO suite
  • Tracks up to nine answer engines, with citations, sentiment and prompt volumes
  • Agent Analytics shows how AI crawlers reach the site
  • Hosted MCP server, so the data can be pulled into ChatGPT, Claude, Cursor or Cline

Limitations

  • No published prices; paid plans go through sales
  • The free Trial lasts seven days on a fixed, recommended prompt set, with no history or exports
  • Exports, API access and single sign-on are Enterprise features

Scrunch

Strengths

  • Published prices, counted in prompts, personas and page audits
  • Page level auditing and an Optimizer that changes the content, not just a report
  • The Agent Experience Platform serves AI crawlers a machine-readable page without touching the human one
  • Seven-day Starter trial without a credit card

Limitations

  • The data API is reserved for the Enterprise plan
  • Entry plan starts at $250 per month, so it is priced for steady publishing rather than occasional use
  • No MCP server is documented

Plans

Pricing

Profound

  • Trial $0 Free for 7 days. 50 unique prompts run daily against ChatGPT, Gemini and Google AI Overviews, one language and one region, a recommended prompt set that cannot be customised, limited AI Marketer credits and unlimited seats. No history, exports, API or support.
  • Agency Growth Not stated Self-serve agency plan with 400 AI Marketer credits per month per client workspace. Price not published.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Up to nine answer engines, daily tracking, custom languages and regions, all-time history, CSV and JSON exports, API access, ChatGPT Shopping, SSO and SAML, SOC 2, and support options up to a dedicated Slack channel and a dedicated specialist with a 24-hour SLA.
Visit site

Scrunch

  • Starter $250 / month Billed annually, or $300 month to month. 3 user licences, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas and 5 page audits. Up to 5 extra seats at $25 each per month.
  • Growth $417 / month Billed annually, or $500 month to month. 5 user licences, 700 custom prompts, 2,500 industry prompts, 5 personas and 10 page audits.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Everything in Growth plus SAML, OIDC and custom single sign-on, the Enterprise Data API, audit logs, role-based access and a dedicated go-to-market team.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Profound

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Scrunch

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Profound https://www.tryprofound.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-26

Scrunch https://scrunch.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.