CataleoSoftware
For Vendors

SEO Tools Comparison

Scrunch vs. Semrush

At a glance

At a glance

Scrunch

Best for

Best for brand and agency teams that want to act on AI search findings, auditing and rewriting pages rather than only reporting visibility.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Semrush

Best for

Best for agencies and marketing teams that want one suite for keyword research, rank tracking, site audits, backlinks and content, with AI tools and API access.

  • Freelancers
  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Scrunch Semrush
Starting price From $250 / month Starter plan billed annually, or $300 month to month. Includes 3 user licences, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas and 5 page audits; extra seats cost $25 per month. lower value From $139 / month SEO plan billed monthly; $117.33 / month billed annually. Higher plans add more sites, keywords and AI features.
Free trial 7-day free trial of the Starter plan, no credit card required 7-day free trial
API Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan Yes, API data integration on the Advanced plan, plus an MCP server for AI assistants
Hosting Cloud (SaaS) Cloud (SaaS)
Keyword research Custom prompts plus an industry prompt library (1,000 on Starter, 2,500 on Growth) and audience personas, rather than classic keyword research Yes, the Keyword Magic Tool with search volume, keyword difficulty and search intent
Rank tracking Mentions, position, sentiment and citations across AI platforms, sliced by topic, persona, funnel stage and country, with competitor benchmarking Yes, daily Position Tracking by location and device
Site audit Yes, domain and page level auditing that shows which pages draw AI traffic and which technical or content issues block citations; 5 page audits on Starter, 10 on Growth Yes, Site Audit for technical and on-page issues
Backlink data No backlink index. Citation analysis shows which sources AI answers draw on, plus detection of crawl failures Yes, Backlink Analytics and a backlink audit over a large link index
Content optimisation Yes, the Optimizer updates page content for AI answers either automatically or as recommendations, and the Agent Experience Platform serves a machine-readable version of a page to AI agents Yes, the On Page SEO Checker and content optimisation, with AI writing tools
Index and market coverage ChatGPT, Perplexity, Claude, Gemini and Copilot, with breakdowns by topic, persona, funnel stage and country Large keyword and backlink databases across many country markets
Integrations and API Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan, returning full AI answers, citations, sentiment, competitor mentions and metadata per prompt run Yes, API data integration on the Advanced plan, plus an MCP server
AI features Yes Yes
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Not stated Email helpdesk
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Live online demos and webinars
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise more entries Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Not stated Google Analytics, Google Search Console, Google Ads, Google Business Profile, Looker Studio, Google Sheets, Google Docs, Gmail, WordPress, Wix, Trello, monday.com, Zapier, All in One SEO, Zoho Analytics, Scalenut, Renderforest, Pagecloud, Facebook, Instagram, LinkedIn, Pinterest, YouTube

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Scrunch From $250 / month Semrush From $139 / month
  • Free trial Scrunch 7-day free trial of the Starter plan, no credit card required Semrush 7-day free trial
  • Company size Scrunch Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Semrush Freelancers, Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
  • MCP-ready Scrunch No Semrush Yes
  • API Scrunch Enterprise Data API on the Enterprise plan Semrush Yes, API data integration on the Advanced plan, plus an MCP server for AI assistants

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Scrunch

Strengths

  • Published prices, counted in prompts, personas and page audits
  • Page level auditing and an Optimizer that changes the content, not just a report
  • The Agent Experience Platform serves AI crawlers a machine-readable page without touching the human one
  • Seven-day Starter trial without a credit card

Limitations

  • The data API is reserved for the Enterprise plan
  • Entry plan starts at $250 per month, so it is priced for steady publishing rather than occasional use
  • No MCP server is documented

Semrush

Strengths

  • Covers keyword research, rank tracking, site audits, backlinks and content in one suite
  • Large keyword and backlink databases across many markets
  • AI content tools and AI search and brand visibility tracking on higher plans
  • API and an MCP server for AI assistants

Limitations

  • Entry price is higher than single-purpose SEO tools
  • API access and the largest limits are reserved for the top plans

Plans

Pricing

Scrunch

  • Starter $250 / month Billed annually, or $300 month to month. 3 user licences, 350 custom prompts, 1,000 industry prompts, 3 personas and 5 page audits. Up to 5 extra seats at $25 each per month.
  • Growth $417 / month Billed annually, or $500 month to month. 5 user licences, 700 custom prompts, 2,500 industry prompts, 5 personas and 10 page audits.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Everything in Growth plus SAML, OIDC and custom single sign-on, the Enterprise Data API, audit logs, role-based access and a dedicated go-to-market team.
Visit site

Semrush

  • SEO From $139 / month 5 sites monitored and 500 daily keyword tracks; $117.33 / month billed annually.
  • Starter From $199 / month Adds MCP access, AI visibility reports and AI brand performance for one domain; $165.17 / month billed annually.
  • Pro+ From $299 / month 15 sites and 1,500 daily keywords, with historical data and content optimisation; $248.17 / month billed annually.
  • Advanced From $549 / month 40 sites and 5,000 daily keywords, with SEO share of voice and API data integration; $455.67 / month billed annually.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Scrunch

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Semrush

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works, and a review reaches us as soon as its author confirms it, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Before sending, the author has to confirm three things: that they have used the product themselves, that they work neither for the vendor nor for a competitor, and that nobody is paying them for the review. We also ask whether the vendor invited them to write it. That answer is required, either answer is accepted, and it stays with the review.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. An email address is required and is confirmed: we send a link to it, and a review does not reach us until the author opens that link, so a review has a sender who was reachable at least once rather than being anonymous. Where what somebody writes needs backing, we ask them for evidence that they used the product, and a review that does not get it is not published. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on their own declaration, on whatever we ask them for, and on the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot buy a review, and cannot have one removed or changed because they dislike it. We remove or edit a review only if it breaks our rules or the law, for example a false statement of fact. Paid placement has no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Read the full version on our methodology page

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Scrunch https://scrunch.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-17

Semrush https://www.semrush.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.