CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Social Media Management Comparison

Brandwatch vs. Hootsuite

At a glance

At a glance

Brandwatch

Best for

Best for enterprise brands and agencies that want social listening and consumer research on the same platform as publishing and the engagement inbox.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Hootsuite

Best for

Best for agencies and larger marketing teams that manage many social accounts and want scheduling, engagement, analytics and listening in one dashboard.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion Brandwatch Hootsuite
Starting price Price on request No price list is published. Brandwatch states that standard through enterprise plans are available for each of its solutions and quotes after a demo. From $99 / user / month Standard plan, billed annually, per user, covering 10 social accounts. Professional, Advanced and Enterprise add unlimited accounts, approvals and listening.
Free trial Not stated 14-day free trial, no credit card required
API Yes, six developer APIs: Analysis, Data Upload, Consumer Research, Measure, Publish and Engage Yes, a REST API and an App Directory with more than 100 integrations
Hosting Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps for publishing and engagement Cloud (SaaS)
Networks covered Engage centralises Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, WhatsApp and YouTube in one inbox; Advertise covers Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn ads Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, WhatsApp and Pinterest
Scheduling and calendar Yes, a unified cross-channel calendar for planning, scheduling, editing and posting, with a central asset library, a URL shortener carrying UTM and vanity links, Link in Bio pages and mobile apps Yes, schedule unlimited posts, with bulk scheduling on paid plans
Engagement inbox Yes, one customisable inbox with custom feeds, labels, automations, sentiment monitoring, routing to users or teams, case management and an activity log Yes, respond to messages from one inbox, with automated replies and workflows on Professional and up, and message assignment and auto-routing on Advanced and up
Analytics and reporting Yes, Measure reports performance by channel and post, and Benchmark compares it against competitors Yes, monitor brand and competitors, build custom performance reports, and forecast social trends up to 90 days ahead
Approval and collaboration Yes, custom approval workflows, task assignment, role-based access and workflows for bringing external agencies in Yes, review and approve content and measure team performance on Advanced and up
Social listening Yes, Listen monitors conversations across social networks, and the Consumer Research product sits on the same platform Yes, advanced listening across networks and websites on the Enterprise plan
Integrations and API Yes, six APIs covering aggregated analysis, importing your own unstructured data, exporting or streaming consumer research, owned social metrics, publishing data and inbox conversations; integrations include Salesforce, OneDrive, Google Drive and Bynder Yes, a REST API and an App Directory with more than 100 integrations
AI features Yes Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support Email helpdesk, Community forum Not stated
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Live online demos and webinars Not stated
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Salesforce, Microsoft OneDrive, Google Drive, Bynder more entries Canva, Adobe Express, Salesforce, Slack, monday.com, Wrike

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price Brandwatch Price on request Hootsuite From $99 / user / month
  • Hosting Brandwatch Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps for publishing and engagement Hootsuite Cloud (SaaS)
  • API Brandwatch Yes, six developer APIs: Analysis, Data Upload, Consumer Research, Measure, Publish and Engage Hootsuite Yes, a REST API and an App Directory with more than 100 integrations
  • Networks covered Brandwatch Engage centralises Facebook, X, Instagram, LinkedIn, WhatsApp and YouTube in one inbox; Advertise covers Facebook, Instagram and LinkedIn ads Hootsuite Facebook, Instagram, X, LinkedIn, TikTok, YouTube, Threads, WhatsApp and Pinterest
  • Scheduling and calendar Brandwatch Yes, a unified cross-channel calendar for planning, scheduling, editing and posting, with a central asset library, a URL shortener carrying UTM and vanity links, Link in Bio pages and mobile apps Hootsuite Yes, schedule unlimited posts, with bulk scheduling on paid plans

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

Brandwatch

Strengths

  • Publishing, engagement, analytics and consumer research run on one platform rather than separate subscriptions
  • Six documented APIs cover analysis, data upload, research, owned metrics, publishing and the inbox
  • Salesforce integration routes messages and comments to teams already working inside Salesforce
  • Asset library connects to OneDrive, Google Drive and Bynder instead of holding files in a silo
  • External agencies can be brought into approval workflows without full platform access

Limitations

  • No published price; every quote runs through a demo with sales
  • Sold as six separate products, so the scope of a subscription is settled per deal
  • Engage lists six networks, a narrower inbox than some suites in this category advertise

Hootsuite

Strengths

  • Covers scheduling, a single engagement inbox, analytics and listening in one dashboard
  • Unlimited social accounts on the Professional plan and above
  • AI features to generate posts and images, plus the Wisdom AI teammate
  • App Directory with more than 100 integrations and a REST API

Limitations

  • Entry price is higher than lightweight schedulers, and the Standard plan is limited to 10 accounts for one user
  • Advanced listening is reserved for the Enterprise plan

Plans

Pricing

Brandwatch

  • Standard to Enterprise Not stated Brandwatch states that standard through enterprise plans are available for each of its solutions, without publishing amounts. Quoted after a demo.
Visit site

Hootsuite

  • Standard From $99 / user / month Billed annually, per user. Covers 10 social accounts with unlimited scheduling and one inbox.
  • Professional $199 / user / month Billed annually. Adds unlimited accounts and automated inbox replies and workflows.
  • Advanced $399 / user / month Billed annually. Adds approval workflows, message assignment and auto-routing, and team performance reporting.
  • Enterprise Not stated Custom pricing. Adds advanced listening and advanced analytics.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

Brandwatch

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Hootsuite

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

Brandwatch https://www.brandwatch.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-06

Hootsuite https://www.hootsuite.com · checked against the official source on 2026-08-19

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.