Planday
The vendor describes AI-supported rota creation, with auto-scheduling listed on the Pro plan.
Rota planning and a geolocated punch clock for shift teams, with hours that leave as payroll data.
- Starting price
- From £2.99 / user / month
- Free trial
- 30 days free, no credit card required
- API
- Yes, a public API, available from the Plus plan
Overview
Planday is a workforce management platform for shift-based teams in hospitality, retail, healthcare and hotels. Rotas are built from employee availability and working-time rules, with auto-scheduling on the top plan. Staff clock in and out from the Planday app or a shared clock-in station, geolocation means they can only do so at places the manager has approved, and a live view shows who is working, running late or has clocked out early. Approved hours leave through payroll, point-of-sale and HR connectors and a public API.
Our take
Planday is the European answer in this corner of the category, and the payroll side is where that shows: the connector list leans towards Xero, Sage and a local payroll export format rather than the American payroll bureaus, so it lands more easily on a business already keeping its books that way. The punch clock is the strongest part of the product, because geolocation, rounding rules and one-tap approval settle in advance the arguments that usually make timesheets slow. Budgeting is the awkward part. Only the entry plan carries a published rate, and integrations and the API sit one tier above it on a plan whose price has to be asked for, so a business that needs the rota to reach payroll automatically cannot work out what it will pay from the website alone.
Key Facts
| Category | |
|---|---|
| Starting price | From £2.99 / user / month Starter, with a minimum of five users; the vendor's pricing page quotes the rate in pounds. The Plus plan is priced on request and Pro is custom. |
| Free trial | 30 days free, no credit card required |
| API | Yes, a public API, available from the Plus plan |
| Team size | Priced per user per month, minimum five users on Starter |
| Users | Shift-based teams in hospitality, retail, healthcare and care homes, hotels, entertainment and leisure, and fitness and wellbeing |
| Hosting | Cloud (SaaS), with iOS and Android apps and a tablet or browser clock-in station |
Screenshots
Placeholders. They are replaced as soon as the vendor sends material, and both open the same short form.
Features
- Time tracking
- Punch clock in the Planday app or from a clock-in station on an iPad, Android tablet or browser, with geolocation limiting where staff may clock in and out, configurable rounding of clock-ins and clock-outs, one-tap approval of worked shifts, a live view of who is working or running late across locations, and leave, absence and TOIL management
- Invoicing
- No. The published feature set runs from approved hours into payroll reporting and payroll integrations such as Xero, Sage 50, QuickBooks Online and ADP; client invoicing happens in those systems
- Reporting and controlling
- Basic payroll reporting on Starter; Plus adds accurate payroll reporting plus revenue integration and reporting, and Pro adds custom planning metrics
- Integrations and API
- A public API and the integration catalogue from the Plus plan: payroll connectors (Xero, Sage 50, QuickBooks Online, ADP, Paychex, TriNet, Wagestream, Microsoft Dynamics, PAXml), point of sale (Square, Clover, Lightspeed, Mews, Zettle by PayPal, Lavu, Favrit, Superb, GoodTill by SumUp) and Personio for HR
Integrations
- Xero
- Sage 50
- QuickBooks Online
- ADP
- Paychex
- TriNet
- Wagestream
- Microsoft Dynamics
- Heartland Plus One
- Level
- Personio
- Square
- Clover
- Lightspeed
- Mews
- Zettle by PayPal
- Lavu
- Favrit
- Superb
- GoodTill by SumUp
Deployment and Support
- Deployment
-
- Cloud (SaaS)
- Browser-based
- Support
-
- Chat
- Phone
- Onboarding
-
- Documentation and knowledge base
- Video tutorials
- Company size
-
- Small and mid-sized
- Enterprise
Pros and Cons
Strengths
- Geolocation, rounding rules and one-tap approval make the punch clock the centre of the product
- Clocking in works from a shared station on a tablet or browser as well as from personal phones
- Payroll connectors cover Xero, Sage 50, QuickBooks Online, ADP and the PAXml export format
- 30-day free trial without a credit card
Limitations
- Only the Starter plan has a published price; Plus is quoted on request and Pro is custom
- Integrations and the public API require the Plus plan
- Starter carries a five-user minimum and basic payroll reporting only
- No client invoicing: hours are built for payroll rather than for billing work
Pricing
-
Starter
£2.99
Per user per month, minimum five users. Scheduling, simple time tracking, working time rules, basic payroll reporting, team communication, and help centre and live chat support.
-
Plus
Not stated
Priced on request, per user per month. Everything in Starter plus advanced scheduling, leave and absence management, accurate payroll reporting and payroll integrations, revenue integration and reporting, access to the integration catalogue and the API, and employee information and document management.
-
Pro
Not stated
Custom pricing. Everything in Plus plus custom planning metrics, auto-scheduling, a configurable organisational structure, custom permissions and user roles, dedicated phone support by call back, and custom account setup.
Alternatives and Comparisons
FAQ
- How do employees clock in with Planday?
- Either from the Planday app on their own phone, or from a shared clock-in station running on an iPad, an Android tablet or a browser. Geolocation can restrict clocking in and out to the places a manager has approved.
- What does Planday cost?
- The Starter plan is published at £2.99 per user per month with a minimum of five users. Plus is priced on request and Pro is custom, so the tiers that carry integrations and the API do not have a published rate.
- Which plan includes the Planday API?
- The Plus plan. It lists access to the integration catalogue and the public API, alongside payroll integrations and revenue reporting. Starter covers scheduling, simple time tracking and basic payroll reporting.
What users say
Reviews
-
0 reviews
- Ease of use
- Not rated yet
- User interface
- Not rated yet
- Onboarding
- Not rated yet
- Support and service
- Not rated yet
- Value for money
- Not rated yet
- Features
- Not rated yet
No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.
How we check reviews
Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.
Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.
What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.
A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.
Share your experience
Write a Review
Last verified:
Ready to take a closer look at Planday
The link goes straight to the vendor. Some links on this site are affiliate links.
Visit Planday