CataleoSoftware Get Your Software Listed Get Listed

Time Tracking Comparison

ClickTime vs. Float

At a glance

At a glance

ClickTime

Best for

Best for professional services and finance teams that need hours tied to labour cost, budgets and audit-ready approvals.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Float

Best for

Best for agencies and teams whose main need is clear capacity planning and utilization.

  • Small and mid-sized
  • Enterprise

Cataleo does not name a winner. Both statements come from the vendors themselves.

Full Comparison

Criterion ClickTime Float
Starting price From $12 / user / month Starter billed annually; $15 per user / month billed monthly, capped at 25 users. Team $15 annually or $19 monthly and Premier $27 annually or $31 monthly, both capped at 200 users. Enterprise on request. Expense tracking is a $4 per person / month add-on. lower value From $7 / scheduled person / month Starter, billed annually. Pro $12 per scheduled person and month, Enterprise on request. Monthly billing is also offered.
Free trial Not stated 30-day free trial of the Pro plan, no credit card required
API Yes Not stated
Made in Not stated Australia
Time tracking Yes, manual and mobile timesheets, calendar sync with Google Calendar and Outlook, and automatic capture from Jira and GitHub Yes, on the Pro plan and above, with pre-filled timesheets
Invoicing No native invoicing; billing rates set by person, project or task feed a Client Invoice Report, and time and expenses sync to QuickBooks for the invoice itself No native invoicing
Reporting and controlling Yes, more than 70 reports with approval workflows and change history, plus labour cost allocation, CapEx vs OpEx and project budgeting on higher tiers Yes, utilization and project budgets with margin tracking
Integrations and API Yes, a public API plus around 100 integrations (Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, Rippling, Asana, Jira, Slack) Yes, a public API, native and Zapier integrations, and a read-only MCP server in beta
AI features stated Yes No
MCP-ready No stated Yes
Deployment Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based Cloud (SaaS), Browser-based
Support more entries Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Chat
Onboarding Documentation and knowledge base, Guided onboarding more entries Documentation and knowledge base, Video tutorials, Guided onboarding
Company size Small and mid-sized, Enterprise Small and mid-sized, Enterprise
Integrations Salesforce, Sage Intacct, QuickBooks, ADP Workforce Now, BambooHR, HiBob, Rippling, Asana, Jira, GitHub, Google Calendar, Outlook, Slack Aprimo, Asana, Basecamp, ClickUp, Google Calendar, Outlook Calendar, HubSpot, Jira, Karbon, Slack, Zapier, Claude, ChatGPT

Compare more tools

Row where the values differ The small markers point at the lower number, the longer list or the stated feature. They describe the data, they are not a verdict.

The short version

Key Differences

  • Starting price ClickTime From $12 / user / month Float From $7 / scheduled person / month
  • Support ClickTime Email helpdesk, Phone, Chat Float Chat
  • AI features ClickTime Yes Float No
  • MCP-ready ClickTime No Float Yes
  • Time tracking ClickTime Yes, manual and mobile timesheets, calendar sync with Google Calendar and Outlook, and automatic capture from Jira and GitHub Float Yes, on the Pro plan and above, with pre-filled timesheets

Every line is one datapoint from the table above, picked automatically. Nothing here is written text.

The trade-offs

Strengths and Limitations

ClickTime

Strengths

  • Labour cost allocation with CapEx and OpEx split for capitalisation and R&D tax credits
  • Expenses, mileage and reimbursements alongside the hours
  • Public API and around a hundred integrations

Limitations

  • Starts well above the entry price of most time trackers
  • Starter caps at 25 users and Team and Premier at 200
  • Expense tracking costs extra per person

Float

Strengths

  • Drag-and-drop scheduling
  • Capacity forecasting and utilization
  • Built-in time tracking and budgets

Limitations

  • Scheduling-first, lighter financials than a full PSA
  • No native invoicing

Plans

Pricing

ClickTime

  • Starter $12 Per user / month billed annually, $15 monthly. Up to 25 users. Time tracking, 70+ reports and email reminders.
  • Team $15 Per user / month billed annually, $19 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds ClickTime AI, approval workflows, advanced billing rates and time off management.
  • Premier $27 Per user / month billed annually, $31 monthly. Up to 200 users. Adds project budgeting, resource management and Report Studio.
  • Enterprise Custom On request. Custom integrations, advanced security, dedicated support and all AI features.
Visit site

Float

  • Starter $7 Per scheduled person and month, billed annually.
  • Pro $12 Per scheduled person and month, billed annually. Adds time tracking.
  • Enterprise Custom On request, for teams of 100 seats or more.
Visit site

What users say

Review Scores · opens after launch

ClickTime

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

Float

Ease of use
Not rated yet
User interface
Not rated yet
Onboarding
Not rated yet
Support and service
Not rated yet
Value for money
Not rated yet
Features
Not rated yet

No reviews yet. Nothing has been published here yet, and no score is shown. How a review is checked before it appears is described below.

How we check reviews

Reviews are not published yet. The form on a tool's page works and reaches us, but nothing from it appears on this site, so no score here is based on a review. The rules below are the ones that will apply once reviews go live.

Every review is read by a person before it appears. We require a working email address and use it to come back to the author, so a review has a reachable sender rather than being anonymous. We publish positive and negative reviews alike, we pay nothing and offer nothing for a review, and we accept none that was bought or incentivised.

What we cannot do is verify a purchase. There is no shop here and no account, so whether the author really used the tool rests on what they tell us, plus the plausibility of what they write. We say so rather than implying a check that does not exist.

A vendor cannot have a review removed, cannot buy one, and cannot have one changed. Paid placement and a paid listing have no effect on which reviews appear or on any score.

Where this comes from

Where this comes from

ClickTime https://www.clicktime.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-04

Float https://www.float.com · checked against the official source on 2026-09-30

This table lists factual criteria taken from information the vendors publish themselves. For how we put it together, see the methodology.